We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Athens Insiders
from US$501.87
More Info
from US$178.97
More Info
from US$210.47
More Info
from US$246.14
More Info
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
402
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
402
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food tour private tour cape sounion wonderful tour yannis guide nota greek greece acropolis olympia poseidon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 407 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2018

We recently took two tours with Athens Insiders with our two children (age 4 & 8) – we enjoyed both the Acropolis Tour (2 hours) and the Treasure Hunt for kids (4 hours). We are history buffs and Petros provided a lot of interesting insights on the different sights at the Acropolis. He was very thoughtful and engaging with our 8 year old son who loves Greek myths. For us it was the perfect amount of time with the young kids and also still adjusting to the time change from the US. Petros also led us to Plaka and provided a useful tip on a nice spot to have lunch.

Later on our trip we went on the longer 4 hour Treasure Hunt tour which was a lot of fun for the kids and adults alike. It was a fun, creative and engaging way to see the city and learn about the culture. Both kids really enjoyed it and each stop was interesting and unique – not just your typical tourist shops. Our son really loved solving the clues and Niki was a great guide. She was excellent with the kids and was able to quickly adjust the tour based on how the kids were doing. She was very good at reading the mood of the group. I would highly recommend both tours!

Date of experience: February 2018
4  Thank mandumonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Hello mandumonkey,

Thank you very much for this valuable information about your private experience! We hope your children have learned a little more about the famous Greek mythology!

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

I travel a lot for work, leisure and I'm also a travel writer/blogger. I would rank this tour as one of the best I have ever experienced. My blog concentrates on authentic experiences and you can't get more authentic than going on a food tour with a trained chef in his home city! My husband and I opted for a private experience and i have to say George was very personable and his knowledge of his craft was impressive. I have endorsed this tour on my blog (be-lavie.com) and would recommend and commend Athens Insiders in putting this tour together.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank Bejal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2019

Hello Bejal,

Thank you for your quality comment, we were also delighted to receive you! Keep enriching your blog, it makes you want to travel all over the world!

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018

A professional Greek chef named Yorgos and his assistant Marie took us on a fascinating tour of local markets where we were given a short history of Greek culinary traditions and bought fresh ingredients for our subsequent cooking class. Our chefs did a wonderful job of both teaching and entertaining us in a modern and cozy kitchen in the heart of Athens for a hands-on cooking experience. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello Cindy,

it was a pleasure to have you as a guest, it is also thanks to you that the work of our guides is pleasant and rewarded.
If you still love to know more about the world, we invite you to jump on the plane and have a good time with us.

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2018

I wanted to learn more about Greece's political and economic situation and its modern history. George provided great information and some very interesting sites. As a bonus, he showed me some great coffee shops and taught me how to drink Greek coffee properly. I highly recommend this opportunity to learn about modern Greece.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank jdsmith983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello jdsmith983,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your feelings about your private experience, it allows us to continue what we like to do.
You are always welcome to Athens, to discover more and more things, as unique and special as they can be.

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2018

We booked two tours with Athens Insiders and both were AMAZING!

We are a family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children, aged 10, 8 and 5).
The first tour we did was the “Acropolis Extend Tours for Kids” (29th Dec)
We absolutely loved this tour We decided to book the iPads as an addition which I highly recommend. Petro was delightful and gave our boys excellent explanations about the Acropolis, the history of different temples and lots of information about the Greek gods.
We booked the iPads (at additional cost but well worth it!) We all loved using the iPads to show us how the temples would have looked 2,500 years ago. It uses GPS so know which sites you are looking at. There were buttons you could press to look inside templates and even to get people and animals wandering around! Really super. The sun was shining down and it was wonderful. Petros was very knowledgeable and we all learnt a lot.
We then visited the museum which was really spectacular. Petros showed the boys some of the stories depicted on the Acropolis marbles. The main focus was on level 3 which is most intereting for children. Our kids did tire a little towards the end of the museum part but that wasn't unexpected. Overall a super experience. I highly recommend this trip.

Our second tour was the 4hr “Athens Treasure Hunt” (31st Dec). It was a really perfect day! Our guide Niki was absolutely superb. Such a warm, friendly, kind person. We saw SO much of Athens and the treasure hunt must have at least 20 clues to solve. It was so much fun, our boys loved it. Without wanting to spoil things for people considering going, some of the things we did…tasting ice cream, writing our names in Greek, making Greek coffee, asking shop keepers for clues, taking photos with locals. We all learnt an incredible amount. Niki made the experience so much fun. She is extremely knowledgeable and made a lovely connection with all of us. There were also lovely leaving gifts at the end of the tour and a certificate. Even after the tour ended she offered to show us some restaurants she would recommend for lunch. Can’t recommend this tour enough!

Date of experience: December 2017
4  Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2019

Hello Lorraine,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about this private experience! We are so pleased that you and your 3 adorable children have enjoyed this day, you can come back whenever you want, it will be with great pleasure!

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews