We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Athens Insiders
from US$577.06
More Info
from US$160.42
More Info
from US$235.44
More Info
from US$244.68
More Info
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
406
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
406
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 411 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2019

Not only did George guide us through the most amazing food tour with savory delicacies and local favorites of his, he also educated us on great tips on selecting olive oils, best places for food, sweets, etc. but also great cooking tips since he was a chef and came in handy since my husband loves to cook. Better than we expected and had the best guide!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank dreamvacationperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019 via mobile

We booked private 4 hour tour to get an immersive look at history and temples atop Acropolis. Our guide Zakia met us at 9 am and we spent 2 hours exploring the architecture and the temples of the Acropolis before moving onto the superb museum where the ancient artifacts are laid out really well and just fascinating. Zakia was friendly individual really passionate and knowledgeable about different periods of ancient Greek history, architecture, art, culture, gods and myths. We spent just over 4 hours all together but came away with a really tremendous view of ancient Athens and its place and role in western thought and history. Expensive but worth it particularly as our guide Zakia made it so interesting.

2  Thank RaysView
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

We are so grateful we were assigned as our tour guide Nota, a brilliant, young, engaging, friendly, extremely erudite archeologist who speaks English, French and of course Greek. Our heads are still spinning (in a positive way) from the amount of knowledge she imparted during our family’s private day tour of the Acropolis, it’s museum (could have spent a whole day there), the Agora, a walk through the Plaka and a quick but fun car ride in the city. Really, this woman knows so much about every period of Ancient Greece — it’s architecture; politics; culture; family life; gods; art, etc etc. The tour wasn’t inexpensive, but because of Nota it was well worth it.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank ngs1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

My family spent 5 hours with George and he delivered an authentic and educational tour of Athens from a chef's perspective. Trained as a biologist and from a medical family, George decided he wanted to become a chef and now he is loving life. Think of a young and handsome Greek Anthony Bourdain - he teaches you about the food through the history and culture of Athens. We were six people including a child with Celiac disease. When we did the olive oil tasting with fresh Greek bread, he brought my daughter six little spoons so she could have the whole experience with the rest of us. He is fluent in English and knows the entire history of Greece from ancient times to modern days. You won't get the romantic version, he is brutally honest and his frank honesty is refreshing in a politically correct world. One important point - he does not make a commission from the proprietors on the places he takes you. You're seeing the best of Athens. He doesn't stick to a planned tour. He will take you on detours based on what you are interested in - like for us buying high end olive oils and other Greek culinary delights. He made our local dinner reservations, wrote down wines to order at dinner, and warned us about all the tourist traps in Athens. This is a MUST DO activity for your vacation in Athens. Ask for George!

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank bobpotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019

I traveled to Greece with my parents, husband, and mother-in-law. This was scheduled for the last day prior to leaving back home and this was one of the best tours while in Greece!

Giannis (which I hope is the right spelling) picked us up at our hotel in Athens and the long drive to Mycanae, Nafplio and Corinth. The van was well appointed with rain poncho, wet wipes, snacks, maps for each person in the van. Giannis is a great conversationalist, intelligent, with a ton of information about Greece in general.

At two of the stops, Epidaurus and Mycenae we had a guide dedicated for these two locations.

My favorite (not only seeing the historic sites), but our lunch in Nafplio a gorgeous city and delicious seafood! My mother-in-law even tried octopus for the very first time and loved the taste and texture (which can be difficult with octopus!).

The total time of the tour is about 9 hours. The sites can be difficult to navigate (meaning uphills and a ton of steps). The parents all opted out of some part of the tours because of the navigation of steps and uphill.

Overall, I highly recommend this tour - all of us really enjoyed the sites and Giannis made this truly a highlighted tour of Greece!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank AKO75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews