We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Athens Insiders
from US$577.06
More Info
from US$160.42
More Info
from US$235.44
More Info
from US$244.68
More Info
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
406
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
406
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 411 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

We met Chef George in Plaka directly after our tour of the ruins. He introduced himself and our first stop was a little cafe for coffee and early morning desserts. We talked about American mobster movies while he taught us all about Greek coffee traditions while sampling desserts from the area. After that as we walked to the markets we talked about past and present culture of Athens. Arriving at the meat market we were able to see all the fresh meat and fish available to buy. George is a very popular Chef in the area and he knew everyone there and was allowed to give us a closer look at all the meat poultry and fish for sale there. He took us to the fruit markets and hand picked olives and fruits for us. From there we went on to sample dried meats and cheeses then on to a local pie shop for spinach and cheese pies. We ended the tour at an outdoor souvlaki restaurant where we had great local beer and wine with our late afternoon lunch. We ate so much on the tour we barely had any appetite for dinner.
Chef George was a great and we both felt comfortable with him and his choices of food for us. We totally recommend others to take his tour while in Athens.

Thank bryan1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Six ⭐️s! What a great way to see and learn about Athens. Yannis Ninos was a fantastic guide - so informative and so much fun! He brought is to the best shops, we ate and ate and ate so bring your appetites. Im hoping i learned how to make a Hreek salad to rival the original. This is a must do!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Eldfidns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

We had a wonderful day touring Athens with Panos. He was knowledgeable about the food, culture, and history of Athens. He took us to a variety of great food spots in Athens based on our interests and taste - markets, coffee shops. quick bites, and restaurants. Also, the best gelato in the city! It was one of our highlights of our trip to Greece. We highly recommend this trip with Athens Insiders.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank HappyFmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Our first full day in Greece - jet-lagged, hot, and exhausted - we opted for a private food tour in Athens. In addition to the aforementioned conditions, I should note that the only thing I like less than writing reviews (I made an account for this) is taking guided tours. Then, I met Yannis Ninos.

Yannis is a chef and food/culture enthusiast, and I'll start with the obvious. The tour itself was engaging on every level - he showed us the cultural centers, art, and markets of the city between stops on our caloric scavenger hunt. The food was perfect - everything from quiet, intimate coffee shops and fresh fruit to punch-you-in-the-palate cured meats and cheeses. You'll get the Greek classics and more - if you like to eat (a lot), you won't be disappointed in the variety or quality of the foods and establishments explored. I'd describe further, but a lot of the fun was being surprised along the way.

But, for us, Yannis made the tour. He took us through Athens in the way that someone welcomes you into their home. He was welcoming and curious, and genuinely interested in getting to know us, while also ensuring the tour aligned with our preferences. He wove in and out of conversation to point out interesting parts of the city, his favorite local graffiti, and other small points that we never would have picked up on. He is the type of person you want to get a coffee with (which luckily, we did), and his knowledge of and care for Athens and Greece will shine through regardless of the stops along the way. He is the sort of person that disarms you, makes you feel like a friend, and allows you to truly engage with and enjoy your surroundings. Honestly, he could have taken us to MacDonald's and Starbucks, and I still would have been thankful for the time we spent with him. Yannis will make your trip better.

We were sad to say goodbye, and maybe a little too aggressively got him to promise he'll take a trip of his own on the U.S. east coast and let us return the favor. We can only hope it works out.

Efcharistó, Yannis!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank mattohlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

Chef George was our personal Athens Food Tour Guide! He is an experienced Chef that is passionate about food. He took us to some fantastic restaurants and explained what makes Greek food distinct and unique. Traditional Svoulaki was a favorite for us. The Orange Pie (like a cake) was mouth-watering ~ I can’t seem to forget the orange blossom aroma and sweet citrus flavor. George is an awesome conversationalist and could talk about lots of topics (in addition to food). He does his research and he knows so much about the best places to eat in Athens. I would hire him again and again. The only bad part about this food tour was that it is over!!

Thank mmorris905
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews