We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Athens Insiders
from US$577.06
More Info
from US$160.42
More Info
from US$235.44
More Info
from US$244.68
More Info
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
406
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
406
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 411 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2019

Giorgos (George) was a superb guide for a comprehensive tour of the street art scene of (the sometimes the seamier side of) Athens. He confessed to having been a street artist in his youth and his enthusiasm for the genre and knowledge of the artists and the symbolism/ reason behind the drawings, as well as the street artist's code, gave us a much deeper understanding and respect for the works. Totally recommended for a wonderfully fascinating and educating three hours for anyone with a love of walking, of exploring the less known parts of the city, and of art. Many thanks to George for making it such an enlightening morning and to Beryl from Metropolitan DMC & Event Management | Athens | Greece for putting us in touch with Athens Insiders.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank edudir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019 via mobile

Firstly it was nice of the guides to meet you at your hotel if you stay near the Plaka area

Secondly, it was a nice touch of the company to give you a small gift at the beginning of the tour as a momento

Next, tickets for the tour had already been purchased upfront for us so we need not purchase them at the gate when we arrived (as the tour doesnt include the cost of the tickets, we had to reimburse the guide at the end of the tour; but we didnt have to line up to buy the tickets)

Lastly but most importantly, Dimitris our guide, was very knowledgeable and came prepared with additional printout to supplement the information he presented to us

Overall a good private tour to consider

Thank darylosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2019

If you are considering a tour company for a visit to Greece, we highly recommend Athens Insider. They arranged five activities for us, and we enjoyed every one of them. They took excellent care of us, both in preparing for the trip and during the different excursions.

Our guide was Nota. She is an archeologist by training, and

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank G6575NGchristopherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2019

If you are considering a tour company for a visit to Greece, we highly recommend Athens Insider. They arranged five activities for us, and we enjoyed every one of them. They took excellent care of us, both in preparing for the trip and during the different excursions.

The day trip from Athens was excellent. Our driver Yannis was outstanding — we had him as our driver for three days, and we enjoyed our time with him as much as the sites themselves. He was a careful driver, very considerate of us and everyone on the road around us. He helped us to get to know Greece and appreciate the warmth and hospitality of its people. While not a licensed guide, his insights at Napflion helped us know both the medieval site and the modern town. Throughout our time with him, Yannis added a number of little touches to our trip that made it feel very personal to us.

We also strongly recommend visiting Greece in November. We were fortunate to enjoy a week with no rain, mild temperatures, and virtually no crowds. To be able to stand in the ampitheater at Epidauros, or the throne room at Mycenae, with the unspoilt scenery behind, with not a sound and barely another person to be seen, made the visit so much more rewarding.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank G6575NGchristopherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2019

If you are considering a tour company for a visit to Greece, we highly recommend Athens Insider. They arranged five activities for us, and we enjoyed every one of them. They took excellent care of us, both in preparing for the trip and during the different excursions.

The day trip from Athens to Delphi was excellent. Our driver Yannis was outstanding — we had him as our driver for three days, and we enjoyed our time with him as much as the sites themselves. He was a careful driver, very considerate of us and everyone on the road around us. He helped us to get to know Greece and appreciate the warmth and hospitality of its people. He added a number of little touches to our trip that made it feel very personal to us.

Delphi is simply amazing. Set halfway up Mt. Parnassus, with stunning views into the valley that have changed little in centuries, Delphi was to the Greeks the center of the world, and has layer upon layer of mythology, art, architecture and history. Our guide Penny helped us make sense of all of it, first taking us through the museum, then showing us the site. That helped us interpret what we were seeing. Penny knew the site intimately, and knew how to put it in context for us, connecting what we saw to history and culture, and making sense of it for us without over simplifying or just giving us a set of “greatest hits” highlights.

We also strongly recommend visiting Greece in November. We were fortunate to enjoy a week with no rain, mild temperatures, and virtually no crowds. To be able to stand in the ampitheater, looking down on the temple of Apollo and off into the distance, with not a sound and barely another person to be seen, made the visit so much more rewarding.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank G6575NGchristopherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews