We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House, Great Location, Great Host”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In the shadows of Acropolis.. The front door of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
In the shadows of Acropolis..
The front door of the house
A view of the roof garden
The sitting area of the roof garden
Another view of the roof garden
The main entrance of the house
The living room
A view of the living room looking at the main entrance of the house
A view of the living room looking at the main entrance of the house
Another view of the living room
Another view of the living room
The kitchen
The first bedroom in the main floor
Another view of the first bedroom in the main floor
The second bedroom in the main floor
Another view of the second bedroom in the main floor
The main floor bathroom
Another view of the main floor bathroom
The main floor WC
The upstairs bedroom
Another view of the upstairs bedroom
Another view of the upstairs bedroom
The upstairs bathroom
The upstairs bathroom with jacuzzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Athens, Attica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dinky_don...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great House, Great Location, Great Host”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Five of us (4 adults and 1 child) stayed in the Griffin House for 8 nights over New Year. We had a fantastic time in Athens and I would thoroughly recommend staying at the Griffin House. The house is in a great location and it is situated in a quiet street, very close to the Acropolis and other major sights, as well as being near to a number of restaurants and cafes and also the metro station and tour bus stop. The old (pedestrianized) area of Plaka is very handy too. The house was lovely and, very comfortable with plenty space for all of us. The standard of accommodation and amenities would beat many 4 star hotels. There is a fantastic roof terrace which we watched the fireworks on Hogmanay from. Last but not least, Aris (the owner) is an excellent and enthusiastic host and he is keen to make sure you have a great stay. The wine and fruit basket on arrival was a lovely touch, he also took time to point out the nearest bakery (fabulous – I could live there!) , supermarket and fruit shop as well as dining with us on our first night and ordering fabulous food at very reasonable prices. He is always available to help with any detail (including airport transfers) which may make your holiday more enjoyable. Thank you Aris for a lovely holiday and making our first visit to Greece memorable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notfromge...
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful home in Athens, close to it all!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Our family stayed in this home in November 2013 for a week. We always stay in apartments now, since we have two young children (there was even a baby bed for our 9 month old son). Aris made sure we knew where all of the important local shops were (bakery-a heavenly place; super market, fruit/veggie stand, restaurants). He even took us out our first night and helped us to understand the Greek ways a bit more. He was very helpful with any questions we ever had and was a wonderful host. The house is perfect with 3 rooms, 3 bathrooms, a kitchen, and beautiful patio. It is close to all of the important sites (Acropolis, Acropolis Metro stop, New Acropolis Museum, shopping). Simply by wandering around the area we found all kinds of hidden treasures of Athens. The proximity of the home to the Metro also helped get us to some of those farther out must see stops. If we ever have the chance to stay in Athens again, I know we will stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelina
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beyond perfection!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from spending 2 wonderful weeks in March in Greece. We spent our first 4 nights in Athens in this spectacular home. It is beyond perfection. The owner has restored this home to such a high standard. It has 10foot ceilings, hardwood floors, beautiful artwork, modern bathrooms with designer fixtures and a fully equipped kitchen. It is so spacious, 3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms, a large living area and a huge rooftop terrace with a BBQ grill and new outdoor furniture. TV is great with many English channels and there is also a large movie library. Wifi is easy and fast. The location is also choice being a 5min. walk from the Acropolis metro station. Easy access from the airport.

The owner, Aris, speaks perfect English and is very eager to make your stay perfect. He always responded immediately to my emails and was waiting for us when we arrived even giving us a tour of the neighborhood. You could not ask for a nicer, more personable man.

I also highly recommend Greece in March. We had 2 weeks of temperatures between 50-70 degrees with only 1day of rain. We travelled to Rhodes, Crete and Santorini and we saw very few tourists. The only negative was that some of the sights had shortened hours or were not yet open for the season. The Greek people were amazing, so friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend this home in Athens and would personally love to stay there again. An extraordinary home at a bargain price!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IdahoKid
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Place, Wonderful Location, Fantastic Host”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Aris is the owner of this home and a wonderful host. A welcome bottle of wine and bowl of fruit awaited us, as did Aris, when we arrived from the airport. He was terrific in showing us everything in the house, and then giving a tour of the neighborhood as well. The house is truly beautiful and very comfortable. We found it lacking in nothing, and the location can't be beat. It's a very quiet street, yet but a few minutes walk to the Acropolis area, to the main tourist shopping zones, and to a number of wonderful restaurants. Be sure to check out the bakery that Aris will show you nearby. Great place for breakfast pasteries. We truly enjoyed the house. It made our visit to Athens very special. Thanks, Aris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, well done house and a great host.
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Lari...
Agana Heights, Guam
1 review
“Clean, comfortable, afordable, convenient!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The Griffin house was the perfect house for our vaction. The location, amenities, price, comfort, and Aris all made our stay in Greece complete.
Aris, the owner, is the most thoughtful and caring peron you could ever meet. After changing our trip plans a few times he was still very accommodating. He took the time out to show us the near by market, bakery, atm, and other conveniences around the block.
Thank goodness for the amenities in the house because our baggae was lost for a day. There were towels, soap, shampoo, and much more for incidents likes this.
The apartment was exactlly perfect for our family of 5. The beds comfortable, the linen clean, the ambiance beautiful, and the kitchen well stocked.
The location of this apartment couldn't be any better! Acropolis museum just up the hill. MANY eating places 2 minutes walk away. Delicious bakery 1 minute walk away. ATM and 24 hour market just 2 minute walk away. Acropolis, Arch of Hadrian, and Temple of Zeus 15 minute walk. Not to mention the tour bus stop right up the street.
The price was perfect. Usually as a family of 5 we are charged for 2 separate hotel rooms at 100euro + per room per night. The beauty, comfort and location of this apartment beats any hotel! I
This apartment will meet all your needs for your trip to Greece!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was perfect, house was perfectly cleaned
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_R_S...
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“A BEAUTIFUL GEM IN THE HEART OF ATHENS”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I did have some doubts about renting this house, as there were no previous reviews. But we liked the photos and where it was located – and we were convinced after a very friendly and helpful telephone conversation with the owner, who explained that it was a new property with Holiday Lettings and that he had many previous lettings with other companies.

I travelled with my wife and four adult children, for a short 4-day vacation from London, in order to visit the Acropolis and the other major tourist attractions of Athens. Firstly, the house was in a perfect location, just 5 min from the metro station, that comes directly from Athens airport. It was an easy journey, with no problems. On arrival, Aris (the owner) was waiting for us, with the keys, and he provided us not only all the necessary information for our stay, but also lots of advice on where to go to eat and how to get around Athens. The house was very impressive with all the necessary facilities. It was clean and comfortable and very soon felt like a home away from home. The location was amazing – the Acropolis and the new museum are just short walks away. You are close to lots of local ameneties and some great places to eat and drink (a bit overpriced, but you are in the centre). Even with this very central location in Athens it is quiet, and allowed you an uninterrupted night’s sleep. It is fully air- contioned in all rooms, so we had no problem with the Greek hot weather.

The house has two main bedrooms downstairs, where the children stayed, and a main bedroom upstairs with a Jacuzzi. It has all the necessary facilities like extra clean towels and linens, free wi-fi, a great book and DVD collection for your free time (even though we didn’t use them much, as there so many things to do in the area). There is also a beautiful garden and a roof garden where we could relax and enjoy drinks in a private and cosmopolitan atmosphere. You could even sunbathe under that glorious Greek sunshine.
The owner, a friendly Greek man, was always happy to assist us in any enquiries and helped to make our stay very pleasant. Extra tip: Follow Aris’ advice and take a day trip to Cape Sounio, to visit the temple and enjoy the sea.

We had a great time and we highly recommend the house. We have already told many of our friends about this gem waiting to be discovered. It was reasonably priced for a family. Just lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location!!
Liked least: Should have stayed for longer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabouli10...
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Acropolis Griffin House is a fantastic and affordable 3 bedroom luxury property in the most perfect location. The owner, Aris, is a wonderful host and will show you all around the local area. The house had absolutely every thing we needed and was extremely comfortable and the air conditioning worked brilliantly. I would recommend this property to all my friends and family and would definitely go back there myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: large and comfortable
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing