We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious gyros”

Liondi Traditional Greek Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 2,836 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Thissio / Makriyanni
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a delicious Greek lunch trying out gyros. Freshly cooked and delicious. The tomatoes in Greece are so flavoursome. Service was friendly and efficient. They even gave us some delicious syrup cake to try and tempted us to return with a taste of the chefs slow cooked lamb. We would have loved to if we had more time in Athens.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,259 of 2,679 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2016

Dinner was good here. All of the restrauants have birddogs trying to sweep you into their areas.. I'm not a fan of that, but the birddogs at Liondi were not as pushy as some of the others we ran into. They also set us up with water at our table, so it's not too bad.

The chef came out and helped recommend us away from the Gyro for the chicken kofta. His recommendation was quite good.

I had the Pastitsio and it reminded me of the version my Grandma used to make. again, it's quite good.

I'd recommend this place to anyone in the area.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ryansE8553JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

Hard to distinguish all the restaurants in Plaka. But followed TA recommendation and not disappointed. Got 25 Euro special for two. Included local wine, moussaka, zukkini patties, baked feta cheese and sausage, and
Tzatziki dip and pita bread. Excellent! Fresh and hot. Plus the owners son brought another carafe of wine for free. Great value!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

Searched for this place due to the tripadvisor rating.
This is to be found on the east side if the Acropolis museum (food at the museum is cheap, fast and average) and is amongst a number of hawker type restaurant's with the usual sales pitch.... free desert and drink etc.
George was friendly and gave us his pitch along with his card not realising that I was looking for his venue.
Interesting that almost all the diners were there due to tripadvisor.
Instead of the blackboard special dinner for 2 we chose the zucchini fritters and fried cheese as a starter followed by the recommended lamb and moussaka for mains.
Service by the single female server was excellent and the owner/chef was very friendly and went above and beyond to arrange a future taxi for another diner.
Starters were good, moussaka was bland (not repeatable), the lamb soft, buttery, salty and was great.
Unfortunately we were forgotten after that, possibly as we hadn't chosen the set special... possibly due to a waiter changeover.
Thoughts of a special desert, coffee and after dinner drinks disappeared with the delay along with a better rating.
The owner is great with PR and attracts repeat custom.
It is unfortunate that these hawker type restaurant's seem to put more staff into filling tables than serving tables and this isn't isolated to Athens.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank stevehe159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

Great spot for lunch in athens. Best Greek food and very friendly people! ! The chef was awesome and took some time to sit and talk with us. Would love to come back sometime!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Brock K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liondi Traditional Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Liondi Traditional Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing