We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent place with Extraordinary Staffs”
Review of Hotel Fivos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fivos
Ranked #45 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excelent place with Extraordinary Staffs”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Then, i just have to thanks this Hotel and these Staffs so much! Manly the manager to help me when most I needed.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the atmosphere is fantastic and they always help us... I was in a bad situation and lost in the city in the end of my trip, cause Athens sometimes can be a not so safe city as other big cities, but the manager of the hostel did everything he could do to help me... its just like a Family, i felt myself in Brazil with my family in this Hotel...
If u have any doubt, trust in me, stay here, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: I stayed twice in this hotel, first and fifth floor are amazing, i think all are the same :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iquesouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    49
    65
    37
    73
See reviews for
13
73
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
athens
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Fivos hostel is easy to find, rght next to the Monastiraki train station. The staff were super friendly an everyonespoke english (spanish and greek are also spoken here fluently by the looks of things). I didn't mind the stairs too much - I was on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was pretty simple but good enough for such a cheap rate. Free internet for all guests was a welcome plus. And I must say that having spent a few years staying in hostels, it's cleaner than most.
john is typing…

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annakef1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is actually more like a hostel than a hotel. The two best things are the location - the absolute best place to be in Athens. Right near the Monastaraki Square - which is in my opinion the best place to be in Athens. Within walking distances to all the sights and a minute from the metro. The Acropolis area does not have as many restaurants and cool places as this area. For 10 Euros you can not expect more than this place has to offer. Clean sheets, a bed and toast and jam for breakfast (if you dont come late, you can even have an apple). I booked a room for 2 nights and ended up staying 7 nights. The first night in a dorm, with bunk beds. It was very loud, since it was near the lounge area. I had to buy ear plugs. But the next nights were not so loud. But this is winter time, so I am sure when the place is full it will be very loud if you have a room near the lounge. Also, it is on Athena Street, which is a very busy street, so if your room in on the st The wooded steps are old and of course you will hear people going up and down and a lot of the doors creek. The shared room had a bathroom, with a shower. As I let the owner know, it would be great if there were a shower curtain, so the whole little bathroom does not get flooded. Plus hooks to hang clothes or a towel up on, since there is no place to hang anything. As in all Greek toilets, one has to get used to not throwing toilet paper in the toilet. My bed was not so comfortable and ended up breaking, so since the hotel was not full, I actually lucked out and was offered a single shoe box size of a room on the 5th floor. Shared bathroom down the hall. But this was more than fair, so I really respect this. The heating and hot water only are on for certain hours, so make sure you check which hours these are, or you will be taking a cold shower like I did the first night. The place is kept clean, by the most friendliest staff member, Sanda, from Romania. She was always very pleasant and made my stay all the better. The staff is multi-national and very friendly and helpful - absolutely no complaints here, they made me feel very comfortable- I am traveling on my own. So if you want a cheap room in the best area of town - do stay here. If you are picky, there will be enough things you will not like, so you would be better off paying more for some where else.

Room Tip: The higher up and side away from the street - the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank makana22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

best stuff Jolia & billi specially Jolia because she speaks Good English, & the Owner was very nice person, i stayed there tow time the first it was one night 1n 25 October 2011 & then from 8 to 11 of November 2011. the stuff are very helpful, they have tow kind of rooms big & small. the hotel near to the metro station, to Plaka to Acropolis , 200 meter from Santagma square, any way you pay a little you get moor then what you expect. to unfortunately there is no elevator.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kosta1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We came for the Athens Marathon and spent few days in the hotel. Of course the hotel itself is quite poor, but so is the price for it. That was what we wanted, something on a low budget. On the other hand it is close to city centre, it is very accessible to the airport. Most of all, the stuff is great, helpful and kind. After the marathon they surprised us with the welcome party.

There is no lift? Who cares...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Is a very centric hotel with all the facilities you can find you have monastiraki subway station at 1 min walking and the markets of monastiraki and plaka. The staff is amazingly friendly and kind, they are always at your service.
The hotel is really clean, they provide you with sheets and towels, free wifi and they have a travel agency inside the hotel that offers you tours and day tours to the islands and in the city.
Is a quiet hostel and outside of the hotel theres a lot of movement and stores, seems a little bit crowded but its nice. I would totally come back. Really cheap and it offers a lot!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiedam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

No Greek hospitality at all!
If you don’t want to feel in Greece at all, then book this hotel!
The rooms where very bad, small, duffy smell, no lift…
The owner was very unfriendly and the employers had all different nationality except Greek. So if you are used to the Greek overwhelming friendly hospitality then don’t book this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griekenlandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#132 of 325 in Athens
363 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#145 of 325 in Athens
342 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Pella-Inn Hotel
Pella-Inn Hotel
#15 of 75 in Athens
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
AthenStyle Hostel
AthenStyle Hostel
#10 of 63 in Athens
421 reviews
Monastiraki
Athens Luxury Suites
Athens Luxury Suites
#36 of 75 in Athens
12 reviews
Plaka
Small Funny World
Small Funny World
#42 of 63 in Athens
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fivos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fivos

Property: Hotel Fivos
Address: 23 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Monastiraki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Fivos 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Fivos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing