We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel, Great Staff, Good Times in Athens!”
Review of Hostel Zeus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Zeus
Ranked #46 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hostel, Great Staff, Good Times in Athens!”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I paid for two people (£18 pound each) and had a double bed and room to myself. £36 a night for 5 nights in Athens - Bargain!

The hostel is perfectly located for the sites, right on the edge of the touristy streets of monistraki making it easy to walk to all of the sites.

The team who work there, specifically George and Chris are awesome and very helpful.

The roof-bar is open every night from 8pm and provides a great social scene. Whilst there is internet access, it is discouraged in favour of actually taking to people and having fun and 2euro for a 500ml bottle of local beer definately helps!

They do walking tours and organise day-trips out of Athens which are great. I did the option to go to Delphi on my last day there.

It is not the Ritz, but has everything you need and as long as you keep yourself busy during the day, the evenings are a blast!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    37
    48
    34
    24
See reviews for
4
25
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Don't expect luxury and comfort at Hostel Zeus but you get what you pay for. We found this one of the cheapest accomodation in Athens during our visit in June 2009. Rooms are basic and equipped with a wash basin (useful). The bathrooms were a little scarier and leaked water but no complaints for the price we paid.

The location is central and very near to the Monastiraki area and the Acropolis, all within walking distance. We felt safe in this area in Athens although as other reviewers said it could be dodgy at night.

There is no lift at the hostel and you will have to carry your bag up the stairs to your room. Our room was on the third floor!

There is free internet access in the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0llygreengiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I stayed for 3 nights here with my 6 children (including 3 teenagers) and we all had easily the most comfortable beds so far in our trip. The decor is bright- my kids loved it, and it was clean. Staff were friendly, and the location was excellent. We took the metro several times as the station is about 2 blocks away. There is an excellent produce market around the block, and a dairy on the corner.
On the downside, there are no kitchen facilities. a fridge would have been nice. The staff at reception let us use their electric jug any time, and we bought tea bags from next door and concocted meals in our room. One morning my youngest two ate their cornflakes at the table in the reception and the staff didn't seem to mind.
We are kiwis, and have a typically laid-back mentality, so don't expect too much and you will get on fine. e.g. the cereal bowls we used were cut off bottoms of coca-cola bottles.
The staff also were upfront about the unsavoury nightlife, but obviously we weren't out then so it didn't bother us at all.
Also, they have free luggage storage which we used for a day even after we had checked out.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZhingstons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I stayed at Hostel Zeus in May 2009 for 3 nights with my friend. We were 2 21 year old girls on our own. It was tricky for us to find out hotel, but I think it was more because the metro wasn't working between the airport and the city rather than the hotel being far. We were dropped off from the bus at Syntagma Square (i think), and chose to walk to the hostel rather than getting on the Metro from there to get to Monastiraki or Omonia. (Either stops will get you close to the hostel, its pretty much right in between. But Monastiraki is a better area of town in my opinion. Anyway, after a long hot walk dragging our suitcases, we found the hotel. Check in was easy enough, you pay upfront for your room. There are dorms and privates, and we stayed in a private. Bathrooms are shared, with toilets and showers on each floor. A sink is in your room.

Unfortunately, there are no elevators in this hotel, so you get to carry your luggage up to your room (i think we were on the 4th floor.) The colour of the walls are not very appealling, but it's not a big deal. Rooms are very basic, with a bed, dresser, mirror, and sink. The first room we had, there was a problem locking the door, so we asked to change rooms which wasn't a problem. We were not there in high season.

There are computers with internet in the lobby which are free to use. The front desk staff are friendly enough. On our last day there, we had checked out and left our luggage in the luggage room, but later found out that our ferry was delayed until midnight. The man working was extremely accommodating and allowed us to still go on the computers, and let me have a shower upstairs. I was really appreciative of this fact as being out at night was a little worrisome for us, and we were allowed to stay somewhere that we were comfortable until we had to leave.

The hotel is pretty close to a lot of attractions. Monastraki Square is about a 5 minute walk, which is a pretty area with shops all around. McDonalds is there, as well as little streets jetting out from the sides lined with shops. You can see where the Acrolpolis is from there, and although there are roads leading up there, we found our own way walking up through residential streets. I would advise on buying water- you can get very tired walking uphill for so long! There are people up at the top selling bottles of water and ice water, but it is much more expensive than you will pay at a store. (We paid about 2 euro for 6 1.5L bottles at the store).

If you need a supermarket to buy food, from the hotel, go right up to Athinas, turn left and go almost to Omonia. Across the street there is a fully stocked supermarket with anything you need. I would suggest not turning left when you leave the hotel- there are many prostitutes at night.

I'm not sure if I would stay here again. If I could afford a better hotel, I would. It is the one of the cheapest places to stay in Athens, so don't expect too much! It is good for the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kks1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

The hostel is close to everything we loved in Athens and we were used to staying in areas frequented by prostitutes and such. Across the street appears to be a small dingy hotel for prostitutes, but also across the street is a posh upper end hotel as well! This hostel looked fine, clean rooms, clean basic bathrooms. The downsides are that they have you share keys. We found ourselves locked out one night because our roomates went upstairs to the rooftop bar and took the key with them. So we climbed the 4 flights of stairs a couple times to finally get a spare key. Another downside, they ran out of top sheets! What kind of hostel runs out of sheets!!? Although we saw the cleaners cleaning out the rooms and the bathrooms. The absolutely worse part was that I was eaten alive by bed bugs. The first night I had over 100 bites and the next night invited even more. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Close to the Acropolis and underground for the perfect location to explore the city. Staff are tops, rooms relatively clean and the atmosphere is lively and friendly.

All the stuff about prositutes is true but that's athens! if you don't like it then I suggest you ditch the backpack for a suitcase on wheels and check into the nearest 5 star all-inclusive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas3Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The first thing to say is the staff were great, incredibly helpful and went out of their way to ensure we knew everything we needed to. They even let me sleep on the floor of a room when they didnt have enough beds (We turned up a day early). There is no disabled access as the building is centred around a large marble staircase with rooms on each floor and a bar at the top. The beds and rooms are rather aged and unkempt and the whole place could do with a redecorate but if your looking for a place to bunk up for the night you'll do just fine. Certainly there are hookers almost on the door step but they dont come near the hostel and you're not taking them in are you? take it as you see it, and if you want to see Athens warts and all, this is the place to base yourself - a short walk to the tube station, 2 markets and the Acropolis, as well as being surrounded by restaurants and bars that really show their colours at night.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishRayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Zorbas Hotel
#23 of 63 in Athens
129 reviews
Plaka
Small Funny World
Small Funny World
#42 of 63 in Athens
9 reviews
Chameleon Youth Hostel
#13 of 63 in Athens
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
AthenStyle Hostel
AthenStyle Hostel
#10 of 63 in Athens
422 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Athens Backpackers
Athens Backpackers
#4 of 63 in Athens
504 reviews
City Circus Athens
#1 of 63 in Athens
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Zeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Zeus

Property: Hostel Zeus
Address: 27 Sofokleous Street, Athens 10559, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Zeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Zeus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing