We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh!”
Review of Hotel Myrto Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Myrto Athens
Ranked #41 of 54 Athens B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2011

What this hotel has going for it is location very close to the Plaka and a congenial staff ... and that's about it. It's possible that we got the worst room in the hotel. I can certainly believe it. Both the door frame and the door were rotting and crooked so that anyone could have just leaned on the door and pushed through, thus making the lock pointless. The bathroom was hideous. It smelled badly of obvious mildew. The shower wall was peeling away in a dozen places and tiles were crumbling - not just cracking but crumbling - all over. After taking a shower, I felt like I needed another shower somewhere clean. You expect to make concessions at a budget hotel, but this was too much.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Myrto Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

Loved the Myrto - doesn't claim to be 5 star, but clean, very comfortable, and quaint. Worth a visit to see the tiny but efficient lift! With a view of the Acropolis from one window, and St John's on Mt Lycabettus from the balcony on the other side, and Syntagma Square, Parliament House (and the Changing of the Guard) and the Metro just 5 minutes away, there's easy access to whatever you want to do. Breakfast is simple but adequate.
All at reception were friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back if I return to Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis if you want one.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannygrayfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Room - very dated, not very clean (carpet was dirty, parts of the bathroom also dirty) bed linen was clean so adequate for a couple of days. Breakfast - adequate, although the fried aggs were cooked at 7am and left so if you went down at say, 8, they were cold.
Staff - very nice and friendly
Location - the best thing about the hotel - literally 2 minutes from Syntagma Square. To summarise - you get what you pay for, so for 69 euros for a double room in the centre of Athens I suppose you cant complain. Athens, by the way, is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

...and what you pay for here is the superb location - a mere hundred metres or so from one of the most interesting areas in any city - Plaka, Athens.
The hotel itself is undeniably quirky and not a little shabby. Despite its rather run-down aspect it was cleaned to a very high standard - the bathroom was sanitised and the sheets spotless. The beds were comfortable too - even the fold-down ones.
The breakfasts were very adequate by Greek standards and the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful.
If you want luxury, go pay luxury prices - we paid 108 euros per night for a family of four including continental buffet breakfast.
This hotel was absolutely fine as a rather basic 'base' for our two day city break - we will probably remember it more than the rather anodyne chain hotels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypatia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in June of 2010 with our two daughters, 22 and 18. We had the family suite and it worked out great for us. Our window had a view of the Akropolis. which was breathtaking at night! It was on the small side, but we didn't spend much time in our room, so it was fine. It was clean and the bathroom was adequate. Not the same as American standards, but remember you are in an ancient city, so try to be patient. Internet was free, but not too reliable. We weren't there for that, so it was fine. The breakfast was delicious - yogurt was incredible! We loved the morning staff member -- he was so friendly and helpful. He tried (patiently) to teach me some greek, but I failed miserably. He was so kind!

We would definitely come here again. There is SO much to see and do and so much good food to eat! Don't hesitate to book, just don't expect the Ritz and you'll enjoy it too!

Room Tip: Only a couple of family rooms available
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjaindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Myrto for 2 transit nights in Athens (between airport arrival and departure for a 4-day buss tour and again between the bus tour and departure for the islands). This hotel is very well situated, 10 minutes from syntagma square so it makes it a great place if you are in a transit. You can pretty much walk everywhere from this hotel.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and there is a small market (grocery store) right on the corner. There is also wifi. Breakfast is good and offers many choices, ham and cheese, juice, coffee, fryed eggs, bread, cereals and fruits.

The rooms and bathrooms (we stayed in two different ones) are however outdated and would need renovations. Everything was clean though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megou_quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The budget Hotel Myrto is just a few blocks from the bus terminal and in easy walking distance to the Acropolis and the shops and cafes of the Plaka district. The staff, Corinna and others, were super-helpful, both before we arrived with suggestions on various ways to get from the airport (we took the bus - very cheap & easy), and while we were there. The breakfast was plentiful.

The room was small, but we weren't in Athens to spend time in the room. The bathroom was fairly decrepit, but at least it was private. It's not a luxury experience, but for sleeping off jet lag and getting organized to set off for the islands - there are lots of travel agents near by - it was just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogakeywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#122 of 282 in Athens
304 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#111 of 282 in Athens
236 reviews
Plaka
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#109 of 282 in Athens
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#94 of 282 in Athens
347 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#46 of 282 in Athens
592 reviews
Plaka
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#107 of 282 in Athens
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Myrto Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Myrto Athens

Address: 40 Nikis | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: $29 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Myrto Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Myrto is centrally located and is within walking distance of the Akropolis and Plaka as well as Syntagma Square. An affordable place to stay with friendly staff and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Myrto Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing