We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Neos Olympos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Neos Olympos
Ranked #231 of 336 Hotels in Athens
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Me and my friend went for out Easter university holiday to Athens just a few weeks back for 10 days. And we booked this hotel it seemed like a nice price for what you get. And indeed we weren't disappointed. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast for the price we paid. They even put us in a 3 bed room from our 2 bed room booking to save us from climbing the stairs. There was free Wi-Fi even though the signal was weak it was good to have.

There was a musty smell of cigarette in the room but you soon get used to it, and in Athens smoking is everywhere. Its near a busy road so you get the traffic noise but nothing that kept us awake.The neighbourhood is a little rough especially with the financial problems, we were inform to look after our bags etc. Police station is close by. But yes we were there for 10 days and nothing bad happened.

Nice place we would go there again if we are in Athens again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacefulblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    61
    60
    33
    32
See reviews for
15
86
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I've made the reservation trough booking.com, they had my credit card details but didnt accept the credit card... Cash only. In advance, befor showing the room.
Fiive storys to climb on stip stairs, carying all loggage from car (it's a street with lots of thiefs).
No sound insulation, dirty room, noisy AC unit.
Internet dosent work in room. Need to go dwonstairs because nobody cares about this and nobody will fix it.
In the morning we couldnt take breakfast because a power breack. Manager knew this onde day before but didn't adviced us about this... But he tuck the money, of chourse.
Area very scary.

Room Tip: Just keep away! Anything else will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here in August/September of 2011. We checked in, and the room seemed nice. On the second day, we asked the desk clerk about taking a trip to one of the nearby islands. He gave us a lot of information. Just before leaving, he asked us which room we were staying in. When we returned, we found that our room had been robbed! Apparently, asking advice and letting the house staff know you will be gone all day is a free pass for them to look through your belongings and take what they want.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

A very good experience. Very friendly owners who are always prepared to help. Especially the land lady was really friendly. Clean hotel, free WIFI. Don't expect a 5* hotel, but good price quality.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janneken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

The man would not make eye contact when we checked in, we got up to our room, it was a pitiful excuse. It was extremely small, SMELLED TERRIBLE OF SMOKE, the noise is so loud you will not get a full night of sleep, that is a guarantee. It is on the main street in the area and motorcycles, a tram and cars ALL NIGHT LONG. You have to hold the shower head while you shower (there is nothing to hold it), and they towels are more like wash cloths. I would not recommend this hotel for my enemy, it is absolutely terrible!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This was the cheapest double room that we could find on any of the booking sites. At a price of 26€ including breakfast I was expecting very very little from this place.

We arrived late in the evening, and the guy in the reception was fast asleep. It was a great nuisance for him to help us with our booking, and to find a room. .

The room had 3 beds, a TV, and a sink. There was a separate toilet in the hallway. We saw cockroaches in the shower and toilet rooms, but they were fairly small though.

The room was fairly clean and the beds were OK. The television had a broken antenna(no attempts made to get a new one) ,but we could still get a few channels, including one with a great deal of immorality going on…

There was an aircon , but there was only one controller, which the guy in the reception had. He had to come up and turn on the aircon for us. I do not understand why they couldn`t just invest in a few new controllers, so all the rooms could have one. At one point during the night the aircon went off, so I had to go down to the reception, and get the guy to come up and turn it on again…which he was very annoyed about. I should be the one who is annoyed because I have paid for staying here in a room with aircon, and not even given any control over it. Over the night I almost froze to death because it was so cold, and with no chance of changing it. Another thing that was unacceptable is that the aircon was old, and the air coming from it stank of old, musty air with a strong smell of cigarettes.

The other complaint about this place is that the rooms were facing the busy street outside, without any sound isolation. We both had to sleep with plugs in our ears…but even that was not enough.

We did not get much sleep that night.

Breakfast was basic, but Ok and to be expected at this price level. I don`t think I have ever had any more diluted coffe then that before. Water with coffe taste comes to mind.

The following night we found another hotel which was exactly the same price, and fairly close to this place. I just can`t believe how much better this place was then what we had just endured.

Pros:

- Cheap

- Free wifi and computers.

Cons:

- Bad service and unfriendly staff

- Old cigarette stinking aircon, way too cold air and no controller to change the settings, or even turn it off!

- Noisy streets and non-isolated rooms

- Cockroaches

- Located in the shady part of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street, preferably high up as there is no sound isolation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and paid €12.50 each for a double private room with ensuite - so cheap! The hotel is great if you're arriving by train and is close to an amazing taverna with the best pitas for €2.50. We also had free breakfast and wifi so the stay was fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyparke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Pergamos
#158 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#155 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#178 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Semeli
#151 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Exis Boutique Hotel
#167 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Hotel Moka
#126 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neos Olympos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neos Olympos

Property: Hotel Neos Olympos
Address: 38 Diligianni Theodorou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Neos Olympos 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neos Olympos Hotel is a beautiful building in the heart of Athens, in front of central railway station and metro, free fast internet access ADSL, large Coffee Shop, 24 hours reception, free luggage storage, fully air-conditioned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Neos Olympos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neos Olympos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing