We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and wonderful staff”
Review of Pan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pan Hotel
Ranked #48 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here with our teenage daughters several times on a recent trip, and found it to be a great base for exploring Athens, walking distance to most tourist destinations and very close to travel links (metro, airport bus, etc).The Pan Hotel is a budget hotel and could definitely use some updating and a more inspired breakfast, but we would definitely stay here again. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful; we especially appreciated Christos helpfulness.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy_traveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Pan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

This 3* Hotel has excellent location next to Syntagma Square. The staff are very friendly and the room was large with A/C. The shower was nice but the bathroom was a bit worn. The breakfast was average but overall was an adequate hotel for a short stay in Athens with excellent location to get to all the sights and the staff were extremely friendly. They managed to get us a night taxi during the taxi driver strike.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisuretraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed at Pan´s Hotel for a conference in Athens (April 2011). I chose this hotel because it is located a few steps away from Syntagma Square (in my opinion the safest and most central area in Athens) and for the excellent price and reviews written by other customers. I am happy to say that they were right, this is a cute and convenient hotel. I was traveling alone, so safety was very important to me. The location is also perfect, in walking distance to almost anywhere (Akropolis, Plaka, etc) and a few steps away from the metro (underground). The area is excellent, full of shops (souvenirs, Zara, H&M, El gato shoes, etc), restaurants, patisseries, cafeterias, etc. The rooms (at least mine) have been renovated recently, with new furniture, new bathroom appliances, new curtains, and beautiful hardwood floors. My room also had a small balcony, and a huge wardrobe. The air conditioning is also new, modern, and very silent (it works great, which is a must if you visit Athens in summer). My room was beautiful although not luxurious (small for US standards but perfect for me), and the staff cleaned it beautifully everyday. The staff of the hotel is excellent, very friendly and helpful with itinerary recommendations, taxi calls, etc. Breakfast was included in the price and was quite good for European standards (croissants, toasts, ham, cheese, cereals, milk, juices, yogurts, coffee, tea, and canned fruit). I only missed having fresh fruit (for me it is a must) but you can find small street vendors outside the hotel if you want to buy it. I paid around 220 euros for 5 days (which I think is an excellent price). The only thing this hotel needs to improve is changing the TVs, which are outdated, making fridges work better (my minibar was not cold enough to make ice), and creating a small business center (a computer and a printer close to the reception desk would suffice). Other than that, this is an excellent hotel for the price. You have to pay for internet service but it is very cheap. I recommend this hotel to everyone who loves to travel and does not want to spend all of his money in a five stars hotel. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Athens.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sur149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The rooms were small and needed to be upgrated, but the hotel staff was very helpful, friendly and professional. Christos in particular is an asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was very small, but it needed a facelift.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetpea386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The location is very good, close to the Plaka, Acropolis and many restaurants.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room was fine, comfortable and clean, but the bathroom, and shower specifically, was tiny. Water went everywhere and I couldn't move without hitting the sink or tap.

Wifi costs, bit not too much.

Breakfast is simple but adequate.

All in all a decent budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgunzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

If we were to stay to the initial room which they gave us then I would definitely rate this hotel much worse (I uploaded pictures from both 8th and 2nd floor rooms, for you to see and compare yourselves). They gave us a room on the 8th floor, tiny,tiny, with a problem in the bathroom. At first we thought that we can survive with it and overlook all the rest, like the size and how old it looked and the view from the window which was the back of an old building. The reason was that it was the only floor that had double bed rooms instead of twin beds. But then we tried to open the A/C it made such a massive noise that you could hear it from the corridor outside (not kidding, we tried closing the door and went outside and could still hear it like someone was digging in there). We were very lucky and they had a triple room on the 2nd floor and they had no problem to move us there. Well, no comparison. Ask for a room on that floor only if you choose this hotel. It is far more spacious, has a nice view of the street, not noisy at all and has nice wooden floor. The mini bar has very good prices, theTV set is old CRT and small 14" and they charge you for Wi-Fi in the rooms. Not that it was expensive but I find it bad policy, since for them it costs nothing to have wi-fi all over the hotel (trust me, I'm Greek, I know how much I pay for internet at home and at work, and the cost is close to nothing for a 24MB connection). Breakfast was very basic but we didn't need more anyways. The location beats everything. Central and very good value for money if you look for this hotel in the right online booking sites. We paid 140euros for 3 nights. Everything is 5 minute walk and the Syntagma square/metro/bus to airport is 4 minutes walk. Food 24/7 just on the corner (McDonalds, Everest etc) and a very nice tavern just across the hotel. Tavern is a bit pricey for Greece but they have the best spinach salad I ever ate in my life. It's a must eat place. We loved it!

Room Tip: 201 if you are a couple and 202 for triple room.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaliaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Close to the bus stop that takes you to the airport! Clean, tasty simple breakfast. You have to pay for internet, but it is reasonable. 5 Euros for 10 hours.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
968 reviews
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#74 of 282 in Athens
873 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#70 of 282 in Athens
318 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,562 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#53 of 282 in Athens
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Hotel

Address: 11 Mitropoleos | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $91 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pan Hotel! So, what is the element that has made this 3 star city hotel of Athens operating for more than 50 years? The fact that is operated from the 3rd generation, something that effortlessly proves that tourism and hospitality run within the family, together with our friendly staff, are two of the most important aspects of our hotel that have made guests prefer us over and over again when visiting Athens. Our unique location (Syntagma Square), only adds to help you make the choice whether you are a family, a couple or a solo traveler, whether travelling for business or pleasure. The Parliament, National Garden, Panathinaic Stadium, Zappion, Plaka (old city of Athens), Monastiraki, Greek taverns, restaurants of national cuisines, Lycabetus Hill, churches of different religions, The Acropolis and Parthenon, numerous museums such as The Acropolis Museum, Archaeological Museum, The Benaki Museum, etc., central shopping areas, department stores, banks and embassies, etc. are all within walking distances from our hotel. Enjoy a walk or a swim at the beach by taking the Tram where its terminal is only 100m. from our hotel. Easily reached from the airport (El. Venizelos) or Piraeus port, as the Metro and the Airport Express Bus stop within 5 minutes walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing