We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly good”
Review of Hotel Minoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Minoa
Ranked #128 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I found this hotel after we canceled on a hotel I initally booked. The area of this hotel is not great, but I found that it was relatively safe to walk at night. The best thing about this hotel is that it is less than kilometer away from metro station 'Metaxourghio' which as others mentioned is 3 stops the from the Acropoli station, 2 from Syntagma. The hotel accomodations was decent. I paid about 170 euro for 3 nights. The hotel owner or worker tried to get me at 70 euro a night but I was able to bring him down. The room smelled like cigarrettes. This hotel is just what it should be a place to rest your head and take a shower. I was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast they had. The food was good but not great. All veggies and fruits were fresh. I do recommend this hotel, and for those reviews that say the neighborhood is bad, those ppl must be living in Pleasantville.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dwhit75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    89
    71
    14
    9
See reviews for
37
88
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed for two nights, firstly the hotel is definately in bad part of athens, my advice is to avoid any accomodation near ommonia square!! Not a very safe feeling place, definately wouldnt feel safe if travelling solo. The hotel room was clean, but absolutely smelt of cigarettes, for a non smoker it was terrible, We had requested a non smoking room, but apparently that didnt make much difference. The room was noisy, we could hear other guests talking and moving around and any time anyone used any water/toilet we could hear the pipes. The hotel did provide free wi fi and breakfast. Internet was fast and available in our room. The breakfast was basic and was in a small cramped room where there wasnt enough seats for everyone and the staff were in a rush to get you in and out, in saying this for about 35 euros a night, maybe i cant expect much more???

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louimarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We booked this hotel based on the great value, and everything after that was a more than a pleasant surprise. 200 yards or so from the Metro, 3 short stops from Symatra station, easy access to everything. Best of all- staff and owners. Incredible, went above and beyond in helping us with Athens issues we had.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cordesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

From € 51 p/night incl b'fast for 2 people you can't go wrong with this hotel - it is within walking distance to the Plaka area and Acropolis and a train station.
Highly recommend for the budget concious travellers

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExTrvlAgnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We walked into this hotel without a reservation and were able to get a room right away for 2 nights. They do not have non-smoking rooms, but our room didn't smell too bad. There was a tiny balcony onto a busy street, and even with the window closed, there was street noise. The A/C was noisy too. Breakfast was good, in a non-air-conditioned room in the adjacent coffee bar. Laundry is 1 Euro per item. The staff was friendly. Overall, the hotel was acceptable... not bad, but not exceptional. The neighborhood was so-so. There is a metro stop a few blocks away to take you to the nicer areas.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

The rooms were a bit cheaply furnished considering the prize they were asking, bathroom was quite small, the safe in the room was not functioning (battery was dead) and all the goathangers were missing. The recectionist and all the others were very friendly and doing their best but the problem is the area towards the Omonia square since the streets are crowded with drug addicts and dealers. If you choose to stay in this hotel, use the Metaxourgio subwaystation (red line) which is closer than Omonia and lies in a safer area

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

thought the night desk man was great - we arrived past 1am, and when looking for a night cap - he got us beer, and didn't charge us the rate from cafe... he was helpful the 2nd night as well when we were booking ferries to greek islands - offering us lots of information and contacts. the area isn't the best - we saw an attempted robbery thwarted. i wouldn't stay here if i were solo, or with a group of younger women... but for the price, it was good value. AC worked, the beds were clean, fridge in room, WIFI in the lobby...

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank two_canadians_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 km away
Epidavros Hotel
Epidavros Hotel
#121 of 327 in Athens
301 reviews
0.1 km away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 327 in Athens
449 reviews
0.3 km away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#83 of 327 in Athens
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#108 of 327 in Athens
363 reviews
0.3 km away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#146 of 327 in Athens
640 reviews
1.5 km away
Victory Inn
Victory Inn
#33 of 327 in Athens
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minoa

Property: Hotel Minoa
Address: 12 Karolou | Corner of Karolou & Akrominatou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minoa 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Minoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing