We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
49
118
73
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
118
73
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews syntagma square great location rooms are basic but clean family owned hotel within walking distance yogurt hadrian's library budget hotel athens hotels hot water favorite hotel street noise comfortable hotel small bathroom visit athens minute walk would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 270 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2015

Perfect location in Athens at a great price considering the area. The rooms are dated, but clean. Continental breakfast until 10 every morning. When you are out sight-seeing all day, you don't need all the extra frills, just a good location, comfortable bed, clean room and wash room. 24/7 staff, family run.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2015 via mobile

Conveniently placed , it is right near the beach and short walk to a few shops in town. It also has a bus stop for the airport only a 5 minute walk away so very handy . The only bad thing I could say about this hotel is that the shower needed a curtain or a larger screen as the water very easily split out onto the floor making a slippery exit . The staff were fabulous , spoke great English and were very willing to help! A few complaints from others about lack of food facilities but we able to easily order hotel deliveries from local restaurants with the receptionists help! Recommended !

Stayed: August 2015
2  Thank ash1991-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

When i stay at a hotel i look at quailty, cleanliness, friendliness, functionality, and style.
Style - The Hotel Nefeli has a very mid-century look on the outside however in the rooms it doesnt feel like they have bought new furniture since then. The rooms are very spartan, which would be fine for the money but the room had no flair rectangular table, two rectangular luggage holders and a square night table all set on a white background. Bathroom was standard sink, toilet, stand up shower.

Functionality - the bed was serviceable although both mattress and sheets both felt and sounded(very squeeky) old. AC worked well, tv also worked well(ask for remotes for both they do not leave them in the room). Shower was terrible, it worked well enough but it shot the water out at an outward angle, which would be fine except the shower curtains do not touch the sides of the shower so if you are not careful a lot of water will get on the floor and i do mean alot. Toilet was fine, sink also fine. All lights worked.

Cleanliness - the room was cleaned daily that being said it had not been maintained well, there is mold in the floor corners of the bathroom because of the poor functionality of the shower, also due to mold b-room door frame had ants coming out of it(told about ants did not see them again afterward, mustve sprayed but will be back unless fumigated), ants also on window balcony outside. Peeling paint on moldings. Corners being ignored when cleaning.

Friendliness - this is definitely where this hotel exceeds, 24-hour staff all of which very nice, complimentary breakfast from 6am - 10am every morning. Drinks available in a fridge all day for a price. Addressed concerns immediately.

Quality - It being a cheap hotel with only a two star rating i wasnt expecting much my key concerns were that it be clean and pest free. Unfortunately it was neither. It needs updating and it needs to be maintained, my suggestions for the hotel if it reads this is to spend a little money each month updating the rooms, also sew little magnets onto the shower curtain and glue magnets to the shower wall so less water get out. Also during the slow season fumigate or pests will continue to return. To guests if you are looking for a cheap place to stay and are not all that concerned with what i have written by all means.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank 343nicholasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NefeliHotelPlaka, Owner at Hotel Nefeli, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015

Dear Nicholas C,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your accommodation in Athens. Guests’ reviews really help us to improve our facilities and services. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the friendliness of the staff.

The style of the hotel indeed is not modern, but as I am sure you have noticed, it is exactly as it is shown on the pictures published on the internet. Despite the old fashioned style, I do hope that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel.

Thank you for bringing the functionality issues to my attention, your recommendations for the shower curtains are really helpful and we have already taken your comment into consideration for the renovation we just started and it will be finished early next year.

As far as it concerns the cleanliness, I assure you that we clean the rooms with the best possible way. The hotel is a family owned business and we are really careful with the cleanliness. Many years now the cleanliness, the safety and the location are the important points of our hotel. I am really sorry if you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room as the majority of our guests is.

Having read your recommendations about spending money for updating the rooms, I am sure that you will be happy to know that we have started a partial renovation of the hotel, as mentioned before. Very soon we will update the photos on the internet in order to reflect the recent changes we made.

So, if you happen to be in Athens again, you are welcome to visit us so as to see the changes for yourself.

Kind regards,
Tasos Kanellopoulos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2015

This was my fifth visit to Hotel Nefeli and I still quite like it.

The rooms are very basic and could do with a really good makeover - or at least a lick of paint - as they are a bit shabby, but it's perfectly fine for a stopover.

The best things about the hotel are the staff, the location and the price. Worth staying just for that really!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Travelsbytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2015

good hotel,nice and clean rooms.nice crew. Very good breakfast. It is very closedvtonthevcity center,and Chania old port. But if you have car is very difficult to find parking. My opinion is if you go around there don't move you car if you have parking.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stavros1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews