We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous apartment, fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property
View from top balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from top balcony
View leaning over lower balcony railing View from lower balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
View from top balcony
View leaning over lower balcony railing
View from lower balcony
Another balcony view
4th floor
3rd floor
The apartment is on the left, the Acropolis in the distance
The apartment is on the right hand side, just across the road from this cafe
An Athens tour bus passes by
An Athens tour bus stops to pick up only 20 metres from the apartment
The motor train picks up just 20 metres from the apartment then heads for the Plaka
One of the nearby traffic-free roads
Another nearby traffic-free street
Lots of places to enjoy a quiet lunch
Thissio metro station is 2 minutes walk away
Archaeological sites begin a minute's walk away
An excellent view of the Acropolis only 2 minutes walk from the apartment
The pedestrianised road towards the ancient Keremeikos cemetary and the Gazi night club area
Monastiraki Square
The ancient agora
The famous Sunday flea market starts just across the street
Traffic free shopping streets are around the corner
One of dozens of nearby cafe bars
Another traditional cafe bar and still no cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Athens, Attica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JuliaGo
Oxford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment, fabulous location”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is an amazing property. The apartment itself is great, much more spacious than it appears from the photos, enough wardrobe space, comfy sofas and bed. The kitchen is pretty small but we mainly ate out so didn't really use it much. The view from the two balconies was simply stunning - lovely view of the Temple of Hephaistos and the Acropolis (the latter from the top balcony).

The location was also great. Just a few minutes walk takes you to some excellent restaurants and the Ancient and Roman Agora. It's also handy for the metro if you want to go further afield.

Finally, the owner Achilleas and his friend Chris couldn't have been more helpful, both before we arrived and during our stay. Before we arrived, Chris emailed us lots of information about the sites which helped us to organise our trip better. Achilleas met us at the airport (for a very reasonable price), took us to the apartment, and showed us how everything worked. The guest folder was packed with information and the wifi worked well. Chris even emailed to remind us that some sites would close early on Good Friday - little things like that make a real difference!

I would highly recommend this property - in fact, we're already plannnig a return visit as soon as we can!

Julia Goddard (we were a family of four - me, my husband, and our 11 and 14 year old children)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view - it's in a great area, with lots of restaurants and cafes, and very close to the sites
Liked least: Really, honestly can't think of anything! I would say the stairs to the apartment (it's on the 3rd and 4th floor) but without the height there wouldn't be that great view!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you Julia for your very kind words. Thanks especially for reinforcing our claims that we offer our guests far more than just a place to stay. We can't wait to welcome you and your family back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meyer-Bel...
Pontrieux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, helpful owner”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a couple in our 50s and 60's and we stayed in the apartment for 2 weeks. It was long enough to explore the neighbourhood and really live in the apartment. We agree with the previous reviewer who gave a great many details about the place.
It is very conveniently located within 5 minutes walk to the Acropolis and 10 minutes to Athinas street where the market is. We liked being able to walk to the Agora every morning. We also liked the 2 terrasses (one on each floor). We were not bothered by the noise of the restaurants below (but stayed in the middle of March).
The only downside of the apartment is the impracticality of the kitchen - no place to store food except in the fridge and a tiny surface space. But the advert was clear about this and there are so many interesting, inexpensive places to eat out that cooking was not really a priority.

Achilleas offered to pick us up at the airport and this was very helpful. We would recommend to other to accept this offer. Getting back to the airport using the metro however was very easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the helpfulness of the owner
Liked least: The kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thanks for your kind comments. We really would like to expand the kitchen but unfortunately there's no way we can do so. It's worth repeating that the kitchen in the apartment is not made for team working but it's pretty well equipped for one person to prepare a simple meal. Sorry, but gourmet chefs will need to find somewhere else to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athanasio...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely recommended.”
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We really enjoyed our stay in this accommodation in Athens. Everything was according to description and pics. Very helpful owner and manager. They gave us plenty of tips to make our stay even more comfortable. I should here mention that the heater may not always be adequate particularly as it can get wet and windy and rather cold in Athens in the winter months.
Otherwise we greatly enjoyed our stay and due to the ideally central location we were able to take advantage of the many opportunities central Athens has to offer. All in all very practical location combined with gorgeous views. We would happily return.

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thanks Athanasio for taking the time to post your comments. We're just sorry that the heating wasn't always good enough. We thought we had solved that problem but we'll keep working on it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mellison1...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Central Athens apartment with great views”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

If I could have rated the apartment 4½ I would have but Rating above does not allow you to fine tune it.

Achilleas and Chris were very attentive re giving advice and answering queries with Achilles picking up us at the airport for a reasonable charge. If you are booking this apartment, I'd advise that you make use of Achilleas' service.

First impressions of Leokoriou and the Psyrri quarter is that it is quite run down. Lots of graffiti [we were to discover much of central Athens is defaced with warts 'n' all graffiti] and junk shops [the grinding wheels of austerity/poverty though we came to admire the thrift and recycling spirit!] but there was nothing to worry about as everyone we met was kindness itself.

The apartment on Leokoriou had many plus points. There were clear views of the Temple of Hephaestus [stunning when lit up at night] and a good view of the Acropolis and Areopagus Hill [a must place to go for stunning views of the Acropolis and large parts of Athens].

The living room and bedroom were superb - spacious and comfortable. There were balconies at both rooms and if the weather was better it would have been sheer bliss relaxing in evenings over a few glasses of wine.

To have such excellent views comes at a price - there are 3 lights of stairs to climb. Fine if you are in good nick, but if you have any health concerns you would to factor this in your decision-making.

The security for the apartment was also excellent. We always felt safe. We did experience difficulty with the key to open the communal door to the street. It didn't work until after several minutes of rising concern I jiggled the key leaving a small gap between its hilt and shaft. The door opened to great relief and I've since been told this is a fairly common condition of cut copied keys.

The upstairs bathroom was fine. The downstairs toilet was a godsend to us!

The kitchen is a cramped L-shape. There was a new fridge/freezer and a microwave. Plenty of utensils and cutlery & crockery. Though the kitchen was functional, the main trouble we experienced was with the cooker. It is a fairly old electric cooker and all the markings for the hot plates, etc, had worn away. Through trial and error we found that to turn the hot plate knobs to 3 o clock position was the only way to cook [say, bring water to boil for pasta].

The cooker is very bulky and occupies the corner of the L-shape. Frankly a Baby Belling or table top cooker would be much more suitable.

The day we arrived in Athens it was very cold and attempting to snow. That night in the living room apartment we found it difficult to heat. Reason being is the living room is open-plan to an enormous stairwell that leads to the bedroom. The stairwell is about a third of the floorspace of the apartment! That was were all the heat was going.

I can understand open plan living room when the weather is good, but when it is cold there needs to be drapes that can be pulled to keep the heat were you want it.

Talking of heat, the heater/air conditioner takes a few minutes to kick in..so be patient.

Some other tips:
*use a Clarity credit card [it offers by far the best exchange rate] to get money out of the banks and only get Euros [otherwise the Greek banks will charge for the conversion]
*Most restaurants, etc, only accept cash [no point speculating why]
*Shopping for provisions in central Athens is like finding the proverbial needle. We went to Kallithea on Green Line 3 were there is a great Lidl directly beside the station
*take the funicular railway to top of Lykavittos Hill for outstanding views of Athens [and a lovely small Greek Orthodox chapel]
*buy a one day ticket and take tram [from side of Parliament] and see the flea and street markets and, further on, beaches [don't forget the de rigueur sunglasses!]
*eat in family-run restaurants outside and see the world pass by

We really enjoyed Athens and a big thanks to Achilleas and Chris for smoothing our way. It was a city of huge contrasts
- flash prosperity [around Kolonaki] and wretched poverty [around Monastiraki]
- full of ancient wonders [Parthenon/Odeon of Atticus/Stoa of Attalos and modern architectural dreariness [low-rise white apartment buildings as far as the eye can see]
- the outstanding fish market [and not forgetting the glorious salami/feta cheese/nut shops close by against majority of shops closed on Sundays
- the craft stall glories on Sundays at Grand Promenade, Thissio, against the relentless tacky trash along Adrianou
- the kite flying and comical costumes 'clean' weekend before the Greek Orthodox Easter
- pavement cafes' people watching against the absurd price of coffee

We returned home with lots of great memories.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Thanks Michael for taking the time to post such a detailed review. We thought we had solved the heating problem following an earlier review but it seems not. We'll definitely work on that and we'll look closely at your suggestion for improving the cooker.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yinney11
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location location location”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a bit skeptical when we booked this apartment as we had to pay upfront and relied on few reviews. We decided to book this place as the apartment described was close to all the major sightseeing spots. After we booked and paid, we communicated via email with Chris who coordinated all the pre travel arrangements prior to arrival. And Chris was very very helpful in the lead up to our stay. Upon arrival in Athens after a painful flight from Australia we were greeted by Achilleas (owner) at the airport for 20 euros. We were traveling with our 13 month old baby and he even had a car seat for us. When we arrived at the apartment, there was a generous flight of stairs so as you can imagine it was hard carrying all of our luggage but Achilleas was very helpful with our bags. Once inside, we found the apartment very spacious and clean. The apartment was exactly as described on tripadvisor. It is two levels with two balconies on each level overlooking the magnificent ancient agora. There was a tiny kitchen with basic utensils, however the kettle did not work. We loved having a kitchen as we were able to prepare simple breakfasts and cook food for our baby. Achilleas also left a loaf of bread, biscuits and some spreads for us.
As we had a baby, a portacot and a brand new high chair was provided for us at no additional cost.
Upstairs is the bedroom with an ensuite. Both levels had excellent Air con and wifi.
One major advantage of the apartment was the location to everything! We couldn't believe how close everything was, literally a 5-20min walk to ancient agora, acropolis, etc. This was great as we could pop back to the apartment quite easily if we wanted to. The neighbourhood also felt very safe.
We stayed from Wednesday to Tuesday and must warn you that there was very loud music coming from downstairs in the bar from Thursday-Sunday night. The music usually starts around 9pm and could finish until 6am!! Those Greeks know hot to party. But I'm a person who could sleep through anything so if you're a light sleeper then I would suggest bringing ear plugs.
There is a hotel across the apartment called the O&B boutique hotel and they were fantastic in helping us arrange a private tour to the acropolis and a taxi on our last day. They were kind enough to help out even though they know we were not guests at the hotel.
If you have time I highly recommend going to the Hammam which is just a 5 min walk from the apartment. It is a great experience after a day of sightseeing http://hammam.gr/en/
Overall we had a fantastic time in Athens and staying at the apartment made or experience even more special, it was like staying in someone's home. If we are ever back in Athens we would gladly stay here again. Highly recommend it! Thank you Achilleas and Chris for being so welcoming and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: the noise at night
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2015
We would like to apologise to Yee and her family on two counts. The kettle is new - it should have worked - we'll get another new one straight away. The weekend music is also new. One previous guest told us about some late night music but we thought that it had been a one-off private party in a nearby apartment. We're very glad to hear that it didn't spoil your stay. If we can't get it stopped we'll give it a mention on our listing just in case someone staying in the historical centre wants to find peace and quiet. Thank you Yee for taking the time to let us have such detailed comments. We haven't been renting the apartment for very long and, as you rightly point out, we do need a few more reviews like yours to reassure other travellers that we will look after them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sefi540
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Great Place!”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2014

Just as all the reviewers below have written it's a wonderful apartment with a large downstairs lounge with dining table, two balconies with a view of the acropolis and upstairs bedroom and bathroom with a very fine shower (I don't think anyone's mentioned that yet). Kitchen was fine for making breakfast (although t wouldn't recommend trying to cook a dinner). Genuine walking distance to the all the tourist spots in Athens especially the Acropolis/Agora area.
The owner was waiting for us in the apartment so we didn't have to go on any treasure hunts for the key and gave us a full briefing on the apartment, Athens and where to go for a local SIM card. Not to mention his friend, Chris who worked hard providing us detailed information for our every whim as to what we might like to do outside of Athens. In short an apartment and owner (and friend) that overcomes every disinclination to trouble writing a review.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Thanks, Sefi, for your endorsement of what has already been written and for your other observations. We would just like to comment that the kitchen in indeed tiny so teamwork in that area is impossible! However, other guests have told us they successfully produced full meals during their stays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodnsoni
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Perfect for our need. Owner went out of his way to please us.”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Perfect for our need. Owner went out of his way to please us

The 2 level apartment with 2 balconies was perfect for us. We loved sitting on the balcony and viewing the lighted Acropolis. Unit was very clean, WIFI worked very well and air conditioning very cool. The location couldn't have been better - convenient with character and walking distance to all. We'd go there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer Service
Liked least: no issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Saundra and company were a new challenge for us - very short stay, long distance transfers, severely delayed incoming flight, just to mention a few. We take it as a huge compliment that they were happy with the way we responded to their needs and that they would be happy to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing