We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It isn’t the Ritz, but I didn’t want the Ritz, I...”
other travellers have booked this property
View from top balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from top balcony
View leaning over lower balcony railing View from lower balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
View from top balcony
View leaning over lower balcony railing
View from lower balcony
Another balcony view
4th floor
3rd floor
The apartment is on the left, the Acropolis in the distance
The apartment is on the right hand side, just across the road from this cafe
An Athens tour bus passes by
An Athens tour bus stops to pick up only 20 metres from the apartment
The motor train picks up just 20 metres from the apartment then heads for the Plaka
One of the nearby traffic-free roads
Another nearby traffic-free street
Lots of places to enjoy a quiet lunch
Thissio metro station is 2 minutes walk away
Archaeological sites begin a minute's walk away
An excellent view of the Acropolis only 2 minutes walk from the apartment
The pedestrianised road towards the ancient Keremeikos cemetary and the Gazi night club area
Monastiraki Square
The ancient agora
The famous Sunday flea market starts just across the street
Traffic free shopping streets are around the corner
One of dozens of nearby cafe bars
Another traditional cafe bar and still no cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Athens, Attica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
G6156WVge...
Monroe Center, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It isn’t the Ritz, but I didn’t want the Ritz, I wanted downtown Athens”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

From the moment you contact them about the apartment, Chris is helping you. Helping you plan your itinerary if needed and helping you get to the apartment. I have no idea how many time he responded to me answering my questions. Achilleas picked us up at the airport at midnight, was so happy that worked out so easily. Recommend this to anyone who needs a transfer.

Never having been to Athens before, driving in downtown Athens on the eve of the Independence Holiday of March 25 was a treat. Our first impression of Athens; roads closed, cops all over; everything around the apartment is covered in graffiti. It wasn’t looking too promising to me. But I have learned on past trips, give things a chance. The next day we went out and it was not as bad as it appeared at all.

It isn’t the Ritz, but I didn’t want the Ritz. I wanted downtown Athens and I got downtown Athens. 1 block from the start of the walk to Acropolis. About the same to where the tourist shops and cafés start. Get out and walk around and you will discover it isn’t bad at all and it is just how the city is.

We didn’t cook at all in the tiny kitchen. It is a nice centrally located spot. You can walk to everything in Athens that you want to see from here, from the Acropolis to the Archeological Museum and all sights in between.

Though at the end of the day – LOL. I would hand the keys to my son and would let him lead the way up the 3 flights of stairs. He would have the door open when I got there.

We never smelled any fumes, never felt threatened and had a great time here!!!!

Thank you Chris for all of your information and help and thank you Achilleas for everything else.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: the stairs after a full day of walking - lol
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thanks for your great new idea for a marketing slogan "Not-the-Athens-Ritz-but-exactly-where-you-want-to-be-and-not-bad-anyway"! We're glad that you both enjoyed your time with us. I keep everything on file and I reckon you asked for additional information around 20 times. Pleased to be of assistance and glad everything worked out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athanasio...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Once again very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We came back to this accommodation after having spent a week there last winter. Manager and owner were very helpful in making us feel comfortable and at home. Uncomplicated pick-up at the airport and communication altogether.
This stay only confirmed our first positive impression.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
The best kind of recommendation is a return visit. We hope to welcome you for a third time next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmnr120
Mexico City
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location & Great Hosts!”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The flat is superbly located and very convenient for a couple with adult children. We stayed on the upper floor with our own bathroom and terrace and our son on the main floor with his own 1/2 bathroom. We could walk to Syntagma and the Acropolis,plus we were in the upcoming Pyrris district with lots of nice tavernas. Chris and Achilleas were most helpful, very prompt in their responses and with all the tips for visiting that we needed. The folder they put together is awesome and an example for all who rent! They arranged for Manolis to pick us up from he airport and all was as arranged. The flat has double glazing and also electric shutters which block out any street noise; the terraces have a lovely view. The WiFi connection was very good! The only caveat are the solvent fumes from the silver plating shop below which are felt as you come back in the evening. We had to keep the windows open downstairs, and place a towel roll at the bottom of the main door to keep out the smell. Also, the toilet on the main floor had a small leak, which Achilleas tried to fix, but was not able to, so the floor was always a bit wet. Hopefully by now it will have been fixed. Otherwise it was a great value for an amazing stay. Thank you Chris and Achilleas!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great location, the great tips & the double glazing and electric shutters.
Liked least: The fumes from the silver plating shop on the 1st floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you Jolanta for your very positive review. We're still working on further improving our information folder and we're pleased that you found it useful. You're the first guest to mention the silver plating fumes and we're very sorry that you had that problem. We'll see if we can seal the front door to stop any fumes from entering the apartment in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The location can't be beat!”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We visited Athens mainly to tour the ancient sites and to enjoy Greek food, and we wanted a place that doesn't cost too much. This apartment's title - "Stay in the historical centre of the city" - is absolutely true. The apartment is close to the Acropolis and other sites of archeological and historical interest, uncountable very good restaurants, the Plaka, and 2 Metro stations. We read the reviews, so we were prepared for the noise at night on the weekend, as well as for the very small kitchen. The decor of the apartment is nothing special, but all is functional, and we didn't visit Athens to sit inside. Aside from kitchen, the apartment is very spacious. The living and sleeping quarters are on 2 levels, which was very nice, connected by a wide marble staircase. There is a full bath with toilet upstairs and a toilet downstairs, also a plus. There are large balconies on both levels, with a fabulous view of the beautifully preserved temple of Hephaistos, lovely when lit at night, over the nearby roofs.
We very much appreciate the help of the owner, Achilleas, and his friend and neighbor, Chris, in the booking process, and for their tips and suggestions for during our stay. Achilleas arranged for us to be picked up at the airport for a very reasonable fee, less than what a taxi driver would charge, with no worries about finding the place, and was at the apartment to hand over the keys and make suggestions. Chris suggested and booked for us the 3 Island boat tour at a deeply discounted price - we enjoyed the day visiting Hydra, Poros, and Aegina very much.
We used the Metro to visit the National Archeological Museum and to return to the airport

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noise at night on the weekend
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Thanks for you detailed and very positive review. We're pleased that you enjoyed the Three Island Mini Cruise. It's a real bonus for our guests that they pay between 30 and 45% less than everyone else for this cruise because of our local contacts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dace452
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Position perfect!”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the very start of our booking we had great communication with Chris and felt in safe hands. The apartment is in a fabulous location very close to all the major sights and restaurants with views of the Acropolis and Temple of Hephaestos , a great plus! The area can look a little daunting as there is a lot of graffiti and as other people have said the kitchen is too small to cook in. However, we had exceptional service: we were picked up from the airport, Achilleas came the next morning to check we were ok and to show us how to get to all the sights. He had tickets ready for the 3 Islands cruise and there was lots of information for us. The apartment is clean and comfortable, lots of space and 2 great balconies, we had a fabulous time there, thanks Chris and Achilleas!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, views and customer service
Liked least: Size of the kitchen
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
If only we had a way of enlarging the kitchen! Thanks, Dace, for mentioning your appreciation of some of the extra things we offer to try to make our guests' stays with us more relaxing and enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaGo
Oxford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment, fabulous location”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is an amazing property. The apartment itself is great, much more spacious than it appears from the photos, enough wardrobe space, comfy sofas and bed. The kitchen is pretty small but we mainly ate out so didn't really use it much. The view from the two balconies was simply stunning - lovely view of the Temple of Hephaistos and the Acropolis (the latter from the top balcony).

The location was also great. Just a few minutes walk takes you to some excellent restaurants and the Ancient and Roman Agora. It's also handy for the metro if you want to go further afield.

Finally, the owner Achilleas and his friend Chris couldn't have been more helpful, both before we arrived and during our stay. Before we arrived, Chris emailed us lots of information about the sites which helped us to organise our trip better. Achilleas met us at the airport (for a very reasonable price), took us to the apartment, and showed us how everything worked. The guest folder was packed with information and the wifi worked well. Chris even emailed to remind us that some sites would close early on Good Friday - little things like that make a real difference!

I would highly recommend this property - in fact, we're already plannnig a return visit as soon as we can!

Julia Goddard (we were a family of four - me, my husband, and our 11 and 14 year old children)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view - it's in a great area, with lots of restaurants and cafes, and very close to the sites
Liked least: Really, honestly can't think of anything! I would say the stairs to the apartment (it's on the 3rd and 4th floor) but without the height there wouldn't be that great view!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you Julia for your very kind words. Thanks especially for reinforcing our claims that we offer our guests far more than just a place to stay. We can't wait to welcome you and your family back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meyer-Bel...
Pontrieux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, helpful owner”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a couple in our 50s and 60's and we stayed in the apartment for 2 weeks. It was long enough to explore the neighbourhood and really live in the apartment. We agree with the previous reviewer who gave a great many details about the place.
It is very conveniently located within 5 minutes walk to the Acropolis and 10 minutes to Athinas street where the market is. We liked being able to walk to the Agora every morning. We also liked the 2 terrasses (one on each floor). We were not bothered by the noise of the restaurants below (but stayed in the middle of March).
The only downside of the apartment is the impracticality of the kitchen - no place to store food except in the fridge and a tiny surface space. But the advert was clear about this and there are so many interesting, inexpensive places to eat out that cooking was not really a priority.

Achilleas offered to pick us up at the airport and this was very helpful. We would recommend to other to accept this offer. Getting back to the airport using the metro however was very easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the helpfulness of the owner
Liked least: The kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thanks for your kind comments. We really would like to expand the kitchen but unfortunately there's no way we can do so. It's worth repeating that the kitchen in the apartment is not made for team working but it's pretty well equipped for one person to prepare a simple meal. Sorry, but gourmet chefs will need to find somewhere else to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing