We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
73
89
67
18
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
89
67
18
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greek islands syntagma square ferry tickets aegina island cruise ship flying dolphin blue star ferry port ships ferries metro gateway terminal athens greece shipping ticketing
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

They don't get much busier that Piraeus harbour! 24/7 operations and those ferries are just like buses!

Thank Admiralg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very confusing as where your ferry is and lots of traffic going and coming bus around port also hard to us and you still have to walk a lot better now your ferry dock before hand and take taxi there

Thank bobisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This port is huge and efficient. The ferries are outstanding and efficient, making the ferries in my country seem miniscule. The downside of the port is having to tell the millionth seller/hawker of presumably stolen goods of sunglasses and gadgets, to go away.
They don't take no for an answer and keep on coming in an effort to sell stuff. The taxi drivers can also be persistent at the port. I had to tell one taxi driver to go away as he wouldn't stop pestering me, despite the fact of me telling him that I had already booked a taxi to pick me up.
There are also beggars who send their 4-6 year old children to beg for money.
It's the downside. I wish the port police would have more of a presence and remove these beggars and dodgy sellers from the port. Perhaps Piraeus should enforce strict regulations that prohibit this sort of thing.
We went in October, so the ports weren't so busy, but when they are busy (June - August), you have to be wary of pick pockets. I would recommend any traveller to be wary of pick pockets in busy areas of Greece like Piraeus and Athens.
In terms of sightseeing the actual port where the ferries are, there isn't much to see. It's not like it's Sydney Harbour or similar.

2  Thank ak2271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I used to avoid Piraeus after my first visit when I just went from the port to the train station back in the nineties. But on this last trip I found it actually a pleasant place to stay. There are a good range of hotels and the ones around the marina are actually more than just ok for a night. The port is well signposted when looking for your ferry and there are plenty of ferry offices. There is also a cheap and frequent bus service from Athens airport which has direct flights to Heathrow. This is now my favourite place to catch a ferry to the Cyclades rather than pay extra to fly in to Mykonos, Rhodes or Skiathos.

Thank MartinDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For tourists trying to purchase ferry tickets there needs to be properly signage on the main road to advise of ticketing counters. This morning we needed a bluestar ferry to Mykonos however there were a couple available each end of the port. Signage would have assisted which ferry went where to avoid confusion. This port was full of ferries. It gets quite chaotic.

Thank PriscillaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Wow wow wow I felt like I was walking down the port in Monaco. With one yacht bigger than the next. Spectacular! And the views of the ocean just gorgeous. Loads of wine bars cafes and little restaurants. We loved walking here. Pleasant people and amazing views.

Thank Lisetteki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Been to Athens many times, but never before to Piraeus. Loved it. Next time I’ll stay here. Looking around this port you’d never believe that Greece is in the doldrums.

Thank Dimos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Not easily accessible. For a port that serves millions of people per year, having to cross the road with luggage in hand is just ridiculous. The worst part is that there is a bridge for people to move from train station to the port, but it has been closed for a couple of years now.

You definitely need to take into account the traffic during high season (mostly August) if you are going there by car.

2  Thank VasileiosL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Around the inter island ferry terminals, this place does get hectic as these ferries carry both plenty of people and cars.. At the passenger ship terminal, its a lot more organised.
On the Port side of Piraeus there are a few nice restaurants and bars, and these are probably a block back from the main port road. On the other side of Piraeus where the Marina is, life is much quieter with again quality bars and restaurants closer to the water

Thank andyfrance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

The port of Piraeus is the largest Greek Port expected to become the busiest port of the Mediterranean in terms of container traffic by 2019. The Port of Piraeus is the largest passenger port in Europe and one of the largest passenger ports in the world. It has a total quay length of 2.8 km and draft of up to 11 m.Beside's passenger's arriving at the pier the entire Piraeus docks was totally deserted and devoid of any shipping labour activity with which shipping ports are associated indicating the modernized mechanization of the Port.

Thank MumbaiRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews