We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel good location”
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average hotel good location”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We returned from the coral hotel 28/08/2011 the hotel is situated in the heart of the resort which was very good.The hotel itself requires updatting as it looks like nothing as been done there for quite a while.The views from the pool bar were exceptional and the service from there was the same.The room we stayed in was 703 at the back of the hotel which over looked nothing except overgrown waste land. The food was very good and different every night.Now for the worst part the bar manager(what a night mare) only two drinks per person at a time no ordering for the group if your in one, take your glass back to the bar then he will refill it, entertainment two nights only we were sure this was to keep AL out of the bar at night, bar closed at 11.00 promt but if you wanted to buy one you could there were signs around the place saying your FREE DRINKS finish at 10.55 i thought we had already paid? silly me, would we go back to the hotel no

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    175
    70
    21
    14
See reviews for
54
245
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Just returned from the Coral and all i can say is that its in a great location, first impression was ``what the hell have we done`` but as we got used to the hotel it was`nt that bad at all.we were allinclusive.. The roof top pool has stunning views, but if you want a sunbed be prepared to get up early!! the food is very nice no complaints there at all. rooms ok, small but adiquate. Be prepared for the barman oh my god he`s dreadful... watching how many drinks your having, telling you to drink the drink you have before having another, we were a party of 4= 2 couples and wanted to get a round of drinks for 4 but if 1 had some drink left in their glass... well BEWARNED!!!! YOU WILL NOT GET ANOTHER until EVERYONE had finished thier drink .... there is also a sign saying that ``allinclusive guest your FREE drinks end at 11``... FREE.. we have already paid!!! A trip to Spinalonga is a must its well worth 10 euro, a great day out. just down the road is the centre and harbour which is amazing, if you go there go to` ALEXENDRAS` roof top bar, we had a fantastic night there, 70s,80s,90s, 00s. music fab.. A nip in `CINDYS BAR` overall we would go back but not to THE CORAL HOTEL!!! maybe the HERMES which is next door and is the sister hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsonsmadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

What a great hoilday we had, the hotel was nice and really enjoyed the food. Our room was rather small and we only had partial sea views but who cares about that when the location was so fab. We had clean sheets and towells everyday and the hotel was very hygeinc which is extremly important to us. Where you ate was amazing looking out to sea, the staff were a bit to efficent for us as soon as you put your fork down the plate was gone, it felt sometimes that they just wanted to get you out of the door. The pool area was ok, but not enough sunbeds, but we went beach everyday as the sea was so pleasent. The pool bar shut at 5pm which was a real shame as that was where the views are not the bar on the first level which opened at 5pm and shut at 11pm. I do agree with prevouis comments about the hotel not being new, however it is fairly modern and just needs touch up's in places, nothing to worry about, remember it is only 3*. Unfortunately i found some of the staff miserable especially the one on reception and for us the alcohol was not so good. Wine was fine, however if you ask for a gin and tonic expect it to be gin and water. The cocktails were also a let down you could only have two they were vodka based with either a luminous red or blue mixer-yuck. We had a lot of drinks out because the location was fab lots of great atmosphere, bars and restaurants. Not too lively but enough if you do want a late one. Theres a great harbour surrounding Agios very pictuase and the evening were up at 30 so no need for a jumper. We also did some boats trips the one to Spinalonga that was interesting and only cost 10 euro each and we were gone for 4 hours not bad value at all. We also got pulled around on a rubber ring which was great fun, the beach was ok although you may want to iinvest in some jelly shoes as as the stones kill your feet, but if you walk ten min up the road there is a lovely sandy beach. We did find it expensive cocktails are between 6-8 euros same as home, food prices also the same as home, petrol is more expensive so don't expect it to be dead cheap. All in all we had a wonderful time and would fully recommend the hotel and the beautiful island, one day we would like to return. I would have given 5 out of 5 but alcohol wasn't for us and reception lady really needed to smile!!!!! We even got engaged on holiday so it is definately one we will never forget!!!! Thanks Coral and all the best to you!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Arrived and given a view of a building site next door so ask for a sea view , wasnt a problem for us but our family in the other room had a fantastic view and larger balcony. The hotel is very good if you want to relax. pool area not the best snack bar was good , food at the hotel is the best we have had in any hotel we have stayed at in 20 years ,we found all staff very helpful , the restaurant waiter was very good , an improvement is needed in the main bar , its not welcoming and entertainment is required more than 1 night a week the last drinks at 10-55 pm is a strange one, go out on a night and you will find it very expensive too . The area is great and the views fantastic , would recommend this hotel if going to crete

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crete rethymnon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel during th last weekend of july.They gave us a descent room on the 6th floor with a fantastic view that made us forget everything mediocre(and there is a lot) there was about the room...I would say that the room was rather clean, fine beds although the hotel is not new. The breakfast was fine for a 3 stars hotel, aviod the swimming pool, because the beach in front of the hotel is marvellous...So for 70 euros per night late july , i think this hotel is an excellent choice...Offers free wifi internet too...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We booked a last minute holiday and didn't have much to select from and so was a little nervous as to what to expect from the hotel and resort. After reading some of the reviews I was starting to regret booking the Coral but decided eveybody enjoys different things from a holiday. The night flight with Thomas Cook was annoying with all the 18-30's crowds heading to the party town of Malia however when we got to the airport they were scooped off onto different coaches. On arriving at the hotel I was amazed with the views and was very happy with the location of the hotel. Our room was on the 7th floor with a sea view which we pay extra for - well worth it! Although to get to the 7th floor it was quite a trek or a two lift journey.

Theavailability of the beds around the hotel pool wasn't really an issue, some days we strolled down at 11am and always found two free beds. The pool snack bar was brilliant serving soft drinks and local alcohol from 10-5pm. The lady who worked the bar was lovely, after some of the reviews on here we made friends with her quickly and gave her a tip. I think she would have been just as nice without the tip and she worked really hard all day long and then went off to the sister hotel to work the evening bar.

The food in the hotel was good and all the staff were friendly. We ate out two nights but had bad experiences both times so dicided to eat in the hotel for the rest of the time. The restaurants around the lake have a nice view but that's it, the food is rubbish. Each night we had one drink in the hotel bar but didn't stay there as it reminded me of the TV programme Bennidorm, however there was an outdoor seating area behind the reception which I really liked. We had a walk into ag nik and enjoyed people watching - there was lots of traffic in the town so may not be a good place for small children. There are lots of shops to have a look around. The Alexandros bar you can hear for miles and looks cheesy but is actual quite nice and has nice views over the town, we also enjoyed Cindy's bar which is above the shops on the right hand side walking into ag nic - it has cheap bear :)

The beds in the hotels are hard and the pillows are not the best but we asked the maids for more pillows and they happily gave us some. The room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and we were never woken by the maids.

The beach infront of the hotel was a pebble beach but we enjoyed it... snorkling and sunbathing on the rocks.

Overall we just wanted a nice relaxing holiday with excellent views which is exactly what we got. I wouldn't go back because I like to try different places but I would recommend as a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Morrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked this hotel as a last minute holiday, and were really undecided about whether to book it or not, I'm so glad that we did.

We stayed in Room 501. Not the greatest view, but we didn't book the room for the view. If I was to go there again I would definetly pay the extra for the rooms with a sea view as the views are spectacular.

Pool is salt water on the roof which is alright, but there are not enough sun beds for the number of clients at the hotel. We would go out in the morning and return back about 14.00/15.00 and more often than not there would be beds available. The beach opposite the hotel is pebble which wasn't really to my liking, but if you turn left outside of the hotel and walk for about 5 minutes you will come to a gorgous sandy beach. You can rent 2 sunbeds and an umbrella for 7 Euros.

Food was lovley, a wide variety every day! The restaurant has an envious location overlooking the sea every evening for our meal watching the sun go down was lovely. Drinks were good also. Try the red cocktail! Drinks stop beng served at 22.55pm which is a little early.

Staff- All staff at the hotel were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you, had a good laugh and joke with some.

There was only entertainment on 2 evenings, but we went to the sister hotel Hermes and also into the town. There is plenty to do.

If you have early hours flight like we did don't bother with a late check out as the hotel lets you use their courtesy room, which was great as we could really make the most of our last day.

A really good value quality hotel and would return to. One thing I would mention is we arrived home today (01/08/11) and the hotel was really starting to pick up and get very busy, especially at meal times.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSW425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.1 km away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#6 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
742 reviews
1.6 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
804 reviews
0.7 km away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#12 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Lato Hotel
Lato Hotel
#9 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
448 reviews
2.5 km away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#7 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
559 reviews
0.1 km away
Mistral Bay Hotel
Mistral Bay Hotel
#64 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Property: Coral Hotel
Address: Akti Koundourou 20, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Coral Hotel)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Coral Hotel Aghios Nikolaos
Coral Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing