We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A bit shabby with good points” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dessole Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dessole Coral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“A bit shabby with good points”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed the week commencing 20th September on an A/I basis. We had emailed ahead and asked for a sea view room which we did get, it was very small and dim on the 1st floor overlooking the road. Would have liked a high floor as requested but accept that the hotel appeared to be very busy. The hotel was very clean and our room was cleaned daily with clean sheets and towels daily. I thought the food was very good with good choices although we ate out alternate nights because the town of Agios Nilolaos has just too many options to be stuck in a hotel. We never used the bar (canteen/community hall) as it was just not comfortable for a drink and the one time we went it felt like we were asking for something for nothing. We preferred to go out to the nice bars and had budgeted for that ahead of our trip. If we hadn't I would have been very dissapointed if I had to drink in the bar every night. The pool area is in need of a total refurb although it has a lovely view and the pool bar lady was very pleasant and friendly. Not enough loungers as previously mentioned. The staff here were nice and we had no problems with any of them. The hotel is in a good location but I would choose a different option when returning to Ag Nik (which we may not do due to the terrible Heraklion airport). All in all a nice holiday using the hotel as a base.

Room Tip: Budget to go out of the hotel for drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    170
    69
    21
    14
See reviews for
53
236
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

The Coral Hotel is a Greek three star hotel. You should take that into account when you book and evaluate this hotel... you get what you pay for. If you are looking for an all inclusive holiday in luxury and are not willing to spend a euro outside of the hotel: go somewhere else. If you like an occasional lunch outside and and evening stroll in town with a beer in a pub, then this is a nice hotel.

The rooms are reasonably sized (we were staying on the 7th floor), with enough closetspace and a good sized balcony. However, it definitely needs renovation. The carpet is stained and worn, the bathroom a little outdated but functional and clean. The view from the balcony is stunning and lets you forget everything else. Seaview is definitely worth paying for, the other rooms all have views on other hotelrooms or other buildings. The TV offers a lot of different foreign channels (also BVN, Euronews, several German and French channels) but reception is poor. The hotel offers wifi which is nice, but reception depends on where in the hotel you are staying and you have to login again and again. (sometimes the reception of sisterhotel Hermes wifi is better; login codes have the same system as the codes of Coral...) The cleaning service has a lot to be desired. Sure they come everyday with clean towels and every couple of days clean sheets, and they sweep the bathroom floor. But we were staying for two weeks and not once the carpet was vacumed, I wonder if they even own a vacuum cleaner. And we had to use the same soap bar for 2 weeks... (impossible) Leaving a tip for the maid did not have notable influence.

The fresh food they offer is good. Daily you can choose from 2-3 meatdishes, 1-2 fishdishes, a vegetarian dish and several vegetables of good quality.There is also a good salad bar. Lunch and diner had different dishes and in two weeks ofcourse you see the same dishes again but never in the same combination and for example meat balls we only had twice in two weeks. There is a wide choice of pastries for desert. But, for this price, there is a downside. They rarely serve french fries and there is no icecream at the buffet (you can ask the manager but that is sort of an extra favor). And the basic, non fresh food is poor: jelly tastes chemical, pepsi coke has just a little to much water added and what they call orange juice is almost a criminal offence (for the Dutch readers: daar werden wij niet vrolijk van). And do not try cappucino: you pay extra and it tastes horrible (nescafe with too much water and some milk)

I read a lot of comments about the staff but all but one are really friendly. Try smiling yourself and see what happens... :) The lady at the pool can come across a little angry but she is simply working very efficiently and will answer friendly if you are too. One big warning though: they re-use the paper cups for soda's at the pool (yes: ieuw!). Simply take a plastic watercup and ask her to put your drinks in that.

Agios Nikolaos is a nice town with lots of bars and restaurants. We were there last two weeks of september, only the last week it became more quiet. If you like cocktails and want to try something new then definitely try Puerto Spirit and Puerto Mojito at Puerto bar (at the harbor). If you want to dine in luxury: the food at Gold Lounge Bar (main shopping street) is excellent, but it is fairly expensive (18-22 euro for a main course). The first days we went around the Dutch bars in town (why travel 2000 miles only to meet fellow countrymen?) but we have to admit: the coffee at Toedeledokie is the best in town (we tried all :)), their baguettes delicious and the homemade burgers at Obelix (opposite Ammoudi Beach) are worth the detour. Also nice to know: Agios Nikolaos is free wifi heaven; there are free accounts for 20 minutes which you can use twice a day and a lot of bars offer free wifi as well.

If you decide to go to Heraklion by car: follow the signs for Port and park there, driving and parking in the town center is horrible. And when leaving, don't count on a decent meal on the airport; it is small, crowded, hot and only has two takeaway bars with cold pizza and lukewarm fetasandwiches.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mirjam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in Agios Nikolaos. We tried for the first time an all inclusive package with Thomas Cook.

We stayed at the Coral, beware before choosing this Hotel there are problems!

We had countless "drop offs " and the journey from the airport took 3 hours,after a over 4 hour fligjht we were losing the will to live.

By the time we reached the Hotel at 11.10pm we were the only ones left on the coach, the driver's mobile phone had constantly rung and he talked endlessly on it,the radio was loadly playing a football match, some greek music would have been nice, we had paid for an holiday and this driver was totally disinterested in his job.

to add insult to injury the bar had just closed and we couldn't get a coffee or a gin and tonic ! Also we had missed dinner they had left a disgusting sandwich in our room (which we didn't eat) and only water to drink.

The worse was our room was at the side of the Hotel opposite an abandoned building so close you could practically touch it (see attached photographs) if this bilding ever gets finished it will be awful as the rooms will look straight into the Coral rooms ,there will be no privacy.
The balcony was so narrow that if you were larger than average you would not get out there and half the space is taken up with the air-conditioning.
We did ask to change rooms but the surly staff were not interested in helping us, l hate bad customer service !

All the doors had open vents at the bottom ( see attached photograph) this let in any late night noise and the corridoor lights so the room was never dark.


Towards the back of the Hotel,between the Coral and the building site a family seem to be living, not really a problem except thier table,chairs and plants etc were out on the pavement / steps and they were out there sweeping, watering,talking etc as early as 6.00am, they woke us every morning(see attached photograph)

This Hotel must have been at sometime really lovely but now is very shabby and worn, however the room was clean,lots of changes of towels and sheets, food was good.

The bar and bar staff are complerely unwelcoming with no music or entertainament, and closing at 11pm did nothing to increase it charm. But because the Hotel is ideally located very near to the town we abandoned every evening and walked into the Agious Nikolaos and enjoyed a cocktail or two in this delightful town.

Saying all this we had a great hoilday, we did two excursions with the Thomas Cook and the guide Maria was excellent.

We will return to Agios Nikolaos its lovely but we wouldn't stay at the Coral unless we had a sea facing room.

Room Tip: Only consider a room at the front with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Although the staff isn't very ''warm'', we had a nice time in Coral. Food was good, the beach is perfect for snorkling and safe for kids, although the ''umbrella'' woman is terrible! The hotel has a nice view and the city is lovely, especially compared to other places at the North-East side of Crete.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceHendriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We returned from the coral hotel 28/08/2011 the hotel is situated in the heart of the resort which was very good.The hotel itself requires updatting as it looks like nothing as been done there for quite a while.The views from the pool bar were exceptional and the service from there was the same.The room we stayed in was 703 at the back of the hotel which over looked nothing except overgrown waste land. The food was very good and different every night.Now for the worst part the bar manager(what a night mare) only two drinks per person at a time no ordering for the group if your in one, take your glass back to the bar then he will refill it, entertainment two nights only we were sure this was to keep AL out of the bar at night, bar closed at 11.00 promt but if you wanted to buy one you could there were signs around the place saying your FREE DRINKS finish at 10.55 i thought we had already paid? silly me, would we go back to the hotel no

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Just returned from the Coral and all i can say is that its in a great location, first impression was ``what the hell have we done`` but as we got used to the hotel it was`nt that bad at all.we were allinclusive.. The roof top pool has stunning views, but if you want a sunbed be prepared to get up early!! the food is very nice no complaints there at all. rooms ok, small but adiquate. Be prepared for the barman oh my god he`s dreadful... watching how many drinks your having, telling you to drink the drink you have before having another, we were a party of 4= 2 couples and wanted to get a round of drinks for 4 but if 1 had some drink left in their glass... well BEWARNED!!!! YOU WILL NOT GET ANOTHER until EVERYONE had finished thier drink .... there is also a sign saying that ``allinclusive guest your FREE drinks end at 11``... FREE.. we have already paid!!! A trip to Spinalonga is a must its well worth 10 euro, a great day out. just down the road is the centre and harbour which is amazing, if you go there go to` ALEXENDRAS` roof top bar, we had a fantastic night there, 70s,80s,90s, 00s. music fab.. A nip in `CINDYS BAR` overall we would go back but not to THE CORAL HOTEL!!! maybe the HERMES which is next door and is the sister hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsonsmadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

What a great hoilday we had, the hotel was nice and really enjoyed the food. Our room was rather small and we only had partial sea views but who cares about that when the location was so fab. We had clean sheets and towells everyday and the hotel was very hygeinc which is extremly important to us. Where you ate was amazing looking out to sea, the staff were a bit to efficent for us as soon as you put your fork down the plate was gone, it felt sometimes that they just wanted to get you out of the door. The pool area was ok, but not enough sunbeds, but we went beach everyday as the sea was so pleasent. The pool bar shut at 5pm which was a real shame as that was where the views are not the bar on the first level which opened at 5pm and shut at 11pm. I do agree with prevouis comments about the hotel not being new, however it is fairly modern and just needs touch up's in places, nothing to worry about, remember it is only 3*. Unfortunately i found some of the staff miserable especially the one on reception and for us the alcohol was not so good. Wine was fine, however if you ask for a gin and tonic expect it to be gin and water. The cocktails were also a let down you could only have two they were vodka based with either a luminous red or blue mixer-yuck. We had a lot of drinks out because the location was fab lots of great atmosphere, bars and restaurants. Not too lively but enough if you do want a late one. Theres a great harbour surrounding Agios very pictuase and the evening were up at 30 so no need for a jumper. We also did some boats trips the one to Spinalonga that was interesting and only cost 10 euro each and we were gone for 4 hours not bad value at all. We also got pulled around on a rubber ring which was great fun, the beach was ok although you may want to iinvest in some jelly shoes as as the stones kill your feet, but if you walk ten min up the road there is a lovely sandy beach. We did find it expensive cocktails are between 6-8 euros same as home, food prices also the same as home, petrol is more expensive so don't expect it to be dead cheap. All in all we had a wonderful time and would fully recommend the hotel and the beautiful island, one day we would like to return. I would have given 5 out of 5 but alcohol wasn't for us and reception lady really needed to smile!!!!! We even got engaged on holiday so it is definately one we will never forget!!!! Thanks Coral and all the best to you!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.1 km away
Dessole Hermes
Dessole Hermes
#7 of 101 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.6 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 101 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.8 km away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#11 of 101 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Lato Hotel
Lato Hotel
#9 of 101 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.9 km away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 101 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.1 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 101 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dessole Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Coral Hotel

Property: Dessole Coral Hotel
Address: Akti Koundourou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dessole Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Dessole Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Coral Hotel Aghios Nikolaos
Dessole Coral Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing