We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“truthful review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candia Park Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candia Park Village
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“truthful review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Me and my husband and 2 children age 12 and 15 stayed here for 2 weeks in august this year. their are pros and cons to this hotel. We hired a car for 2 weeks which we thought was essential, this hotel is very isolated, their are taxis available but unless you want to pay 8 euros to aghios nikolias and 8 euros back it can get expensive ,its too far to walk. the weather reached the high 30s most days but it does get cooler around 8oclock at night. The apartments and grounds are lovely and are well kept .We thought the price for 2 weeks with the room only for 2700 was expensive,the apartments are not worth 1350 a week, the sea view rooms were 1000 more.we had a standard one bedroom with a balcony
which had 2 beds in the kitchen, dining room and 2 beds in the bedroom,there is air conditioning in the bedroom , but very old and noisy and a fan in the wall in the kitchen which is even noisier.kettle , toaster , cofee maker , hairdryer provided, no corkscrew had to buy one.television in the bedroom 8 channels german , 8 channels greek ,1 bbc world news english and 1 american cnn, which i think is like this in every country you go to. The pool are is large and well looked after ,you dont have to get up to get a sunbed there are plenty, people dont get up until 9 ish. 2 lifeguards on duty all day , plus a pool man with pool towels who is also a lifeguard.pool bar which overlooks the sea and english music is played
here all day from every era .Large beer is 390 euros which is not a pint and soft drinks are 260 which are in a small glass and a re always flat, free crisps and nuts put on your table with your drinks, they also serve cocktails,spirits, milkshakes 4 euros and bar food which consits of 2 things hotdogs 330 euros and a toastie thats it.Main dining room is outside and serves breakfast and dinner,brekfast is 10 euros for adults and 5 for kids , dinner 20 euros adults 8 for kids and 24 euros on a cretan barbecue night. breakfast usual things pancakes,eggs ,bacon cereal ,fruit cakes, coffee tea juice,dinner consists of salads not alot of choice, meat ,fish vegetarian meals chips ,potatoes, vegetables not fresh ,the only downside is the meals are cold unless your there when they replenish them, there is an alacarte restaurant but i dont think there is a lot of variety there it sells pizzas 9euros,hamburgers 950 and chips aswell as fresh fish by the kilo and lamb chops , pork etc
cant comment on the kiddie club, my kids were to old, nothing for the 12 plus kids to do except a games room which opens a 5oclock till 12 which has pool,hockey table and a couple arcades which you have to pay for it also has a bar prices same as hotel.They have a small beach which is okay not brilliant but it is nice to swim in the water , you can hire a pedalo or go out on a inflatable dinghy pulled by a speedboat for 15 euros each.There is a small shop on site but food and drink is limited and is more expensive than the supermarkets.The entertainment is okay the cretan night barbecue night is better with the dancers, there is a piano man twice a week who looks like peter stringfellow and plays an electric organ that has songs on it and he sings along to it not great and magic tony which the kids like, and a couple guys who play greek music thats it.This hotel is predominately german, with a few greeks, russian , dutch and french on a couple of brits but that didnt bother us , this is definetely not a package hotel. Aghios nikolias is very expensive, the town is a very busy port , spirits and cigarettes are double the price of spain 23 euros for a bottle bacardi,voda etc.THere are restaurants everywhere more expensive round the harbour which they harass you to come in to as you walk round which got on my nerves. Would i come back to crete, no its far too expensive, whould i stay at the candia park village, lovely place to stay but too isolated and very expensive. staff worked hard and dont no about the last review about her camera but we left money and phones cameras and ipods on the table in the rooms and had nothing taken, are maids were lovely,gave us abottle of olive oil when we left.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank willdm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    150
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
361
98
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed here for two weeks with three athletic kids (ages 6-13) and an elderly parent. A distressing incident spoiled this once-in-a-lifetime splurge (the trip was to celebrate the parent’s 80th birthday). My overall rating reflects the incident, which spoiled the overall impression of the trip for us (including by obliterating all records of it, as the last paragraph explains). I have tried to rate specific aspects of the hotel fairly.
First, to answer questions tourists may have: the apartments, public spaces and central buildings are comfortable and tastefully furnished and the service was generally very good. The breakfast and dinner buffet at the main restaurant were varied and offered something for everyone, from the "meat and potatoes" type to the vegetarian. There was a separate, lower buffet table for small children, with simpler foods. The evening entertainment consisted mostly of music, including a weekly Cretan night (live music and folk dancing). There were many families with children, and (during our stay) a preponderance of Russian and German tourists but also many from the UK, Sweden, Holland and France. There are two tennis courts and a basketball court, and tennis lessons are available. The mini-club is really for younger children--no challenging activities for those over 8 or 9. We were disappointed with the one tour we booked via the hotel--the bus spent 2 hours picking up tourists before finally heading for Knossos and the day's other destinations. (We left the hotel at 7:45 and arrived back nearly 12 hours later.) The coastal area has frequent air-conditioned public bus service and we could have taken a bus to Heraklion and then a taxi to Knossos much faster (though would have missed the second half of the tour—but we could have arranged it separately another time). There is bus service between Plaka and Agios Nikolaos (don't miss the charming seaside resort of Elounda or Spinalunga island with its fascinating past) and taxis are easily available though not always air conditioned. The hotel beach is small and crowded, with brown sand, though the water is clear. There were no organized activities for older children or adults--I was hoping to hike but didn't want to go alone--and jogging was difficult because the highway has speedy traffic and few shoulders and the resort doesn't have enough pathways for a longer run. There are nice walks around Elounda, though.
The sad incident involved the theft of my camera with many irreplaceable family photos. It happened like this: On the morning of our last day I asked the front desk when our airport transfer car would arrive. (The travel agent usually sends a fax the night before with all the transfer times, and the info is slipped under guests’ door by early morning. We had not received it.) The front desk staff said they did not know and would get back to me. I heard nothing further for 1-2 hours when suddenly the phone rang to say a bus was waiting for us. I was about to take a shower (it was not checkout time yet) and panicked and threw on some clothes, and we grabbed our things and ran out of the room. In the confusion my camera was left in the bathroom. I realized it once on the bus, about 20 minutes later, and phoned the hotel asking them to check the room. They said they would do it and get back to me. That evening I emailed them from my home town to make a formal request. I followed up with phone calls and even offered a reward for the return of the photo card (no questions asked and no camera required). I was eventually told that when my request was acted on, the camera was already gone. This means either the camera was stolen immediately after our departure by someone with access to the room (the rooms were usually cleaned right after guests left) or there was a long delay in checking for the camera, during which not only staff but new guests were in the room and anybody could have taken the camera. In addition to anger at having the photos stolen (my elderly parent, who lives on the other side of the globe, had already left so we could not even take a replacement photo in the bus), I am very upset at the fact that the incident could have been avoided if we had been notified in the usual way of our airport ride. We are experienced travelers and could have avoided the last-minute panic by being ready on time and doing our usual final check of the room before leaving.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank faangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent a week in a seafront villa at Candia Park Village. I can't say enough good things about this resort. It is perfect for families, probably not if you're on your honeymoon or a couple looking for a quiet retreat. Our villa overlooked the sea and it was only a few steps down for my early morning swim - gorgeous water! Villa has bedroom with two twins pushed together to make king size - very comfy bed and nice & clean! The living room/kitchen area doubled as bedroom at night for our two girls (10 & 12) - the sofa bed is a side-by-side version and quite comfortable. We left it this way throughout our stay and it was never in the way. Kitchenette was perfect for making breakfast & lunch (we did room only booking) and there was a small table for 4 inside and also on the spacious balcony to eat our meals. Loved sitting on the balcony and sunbathing or just looking at the beautiful view! The pools were a short walk away (you can stay closer if you don't mind the noise) and were extremely clean! As an ex-lifeguard, I'm always conscious of the condition of the pools I visit and these were immaculate and beautifully maintained. We never had a problem getting loungers and you get towels at the pool with your towel vouchers you receive at checkin. Our girls had so much fun at the pool they never even tried the Kids Club there, which I heard was amazing. We ate dinner at the restaurant there two nights - the Seafood Night was delicious and we really enjoyed the traditional entertainment at the Cretan Night. A taxi into Agios Nikolaos is only 8 euros (or you can rent a car which we did for 2 of the days to explore a bit more). Great restaurants in Agi Nik and Elounda! We have travelled quite a lot as a family (being expats on the move) and this was by far one of the best places we've visited and stayed! Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: book a seafront villa away from the pools if you want a fantastic view and less 'pool noise'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExpatinDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We booked this as a last minute thing as we really just wanted to get away for a week with our two children, 17 and 13, we have always gone to about a 3 star accomodation but this year we found a great deal, a litttle bit more than what we normally pay,with First choice/Thomson to Candia park in Crete, this was a 4 star hotel but first choice had rated it at a 4 star plus, so we were thrilled at the fact we were going to place with such a great rating compared to where we usually would go, upon arrival at Candia we were greeted with such pleasent staff at a beautiful cretan reception, we arrived early hours in the morning but that didnt effect anything the bell boy was waiting to take our suitcases to the room with a smile on his face. We were staying in a studio, normally we stay in apartments, so didnt really know what to expect, it was a nice size with a well equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom, outside terrace and decorated so greek, cleaniness is a main concern of mine when we go on holiday, so the dettol wipes came out as soon as we had settled, not a spec of dirt came onto the wipe i couldn't believe how clean it was! Each morning that maids would be in to put clean bed linen on if you wished, empty the bins, fresh towels for the bathroom, they were so friendly, when we returned to our room at night the maids would have created a different image with the childrens pyjama tops on the bed, it was lovely. We also took our own beach towels, yet upon arrival we were given a card each which entitled us to free pool towels, at the end of each day you could hand your towels in and get clean ones ready for the next day. The pool area is beautiful, and the grounds are well maintained, if there was a leaf on the floor near the pool, one of the staff would pick it up and put it in the bin. The pool bar is great, with an amazing view right out onto the mediterranean sea, it looks like an old fashioned beach shack, we loved going every day expecially at happy hour where you can get half price cocktails, 'Malones' - the pool bar man - the nicest person he is so cheerful and always smiling and said hello and asked us how we were every morning. The private beach is only small and is a pebble/ sand, but the water is so clear, with a watersport area at the side - banana boat, inflatable rings, pedalos, speed boat hire, - there is something for everyone. Further round from the pool there is a small jetty like area where you can jump right out into the sea, my husband and children dived in and swam right out every day. Food was lovely at the main restaurant, different cuisines, A la carte buffets, decorated beautfully with carved out watermelons etc. The greek taverna situated around the side from the main restaurant was nice but not as nice as the main, yet again nice food and all staff very friendly. Entertainment i think is a small downfall for Candia, it is very traditional and greek, yet could be better, expecially when it is family orientated, there are varied nights where they have different things on - piano man, magic man, greek singers, greek night is the best night! You can get up and do some greek dancing, amazing buffet on a sort of hog roast, great music and just a really good vibel! There is a great shop onsite which sells everything you need, however quite expensive, laundry service, and an internet cafe - which also has a large television screen with the latest football games on and music videos, pool and air slammers table, and a bar with both non alcoholic and alcoholic beverages, great for teenagers at night! There is also a childrens club for younger children - who showcased one of their greek dances on one evening that they had been preparing in the week.
On our last day, our flight was only at midnight so we had all day to sit by the pool but with our luggage - we went and asked at reception if there was anyway we could put our bags away somewhere and maybe get a shower before we leave, they put our luggage in the luggage room and gave us a room that was empty for two hours so we could shower, free of charge! I dont think many places would do that, this hotel is the best we have ever stayed in, such a chilled out and relaxed atmosphere in a lovely quiet area yet just 10 - 15 min taxi drive your in heart of Aghios Nikolias, with beautiful restaurants, shops and bars. I most definately recommend it to anyone of all ages! We are currently in the process of looking to book it for next year already, yet this time for two weeks as a week wasnt long enough in such a beautiful place, for that extra money we got a week in paradise, you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were only able to visit Crete for about 4 days; not too much time considering that it is Greece's largest island; We therefore chose the Agios Nikolaos region, located near Ellounda, because we read that it is one of Crete's most beautiful regions. After much research, we decided on the Candia Park Village. We were picked up at the Heraklion port, by a driver arranged before arriving in Greece. It was about an hour ride to the hotel. The roads are very modern, and the highways very organized. The Village is very much a resort; it has a very large pool area; several restaurants; theme nights; a Wi-Fi bar; a coffee shop; a pool bar; a shop; and their own private beach, complete with water sports; The beach was quite lovely; it had white sand, and water was a beautiful turquoise colour. There were plenty of chairs and shade available. We really enjoyed our stay here; you really didn't even have to venture out of the Village; When we did leave the Village to try out other beaches, and to see Ellounda and the town of Agios Nicolaos, we took taxis which were arranged by the front desk. The staff was very professional, and very pleasant. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety of items to choose from. The taverna where we had dinner a couple of nights was quite good. The grounds were very well kept; and very clean; The rooms were modern; the washrooms looked newly renovated; had a kitchenette, and was air-conditioned; The beds were also quite comfortable. You also have a pretty large balcony. Ours overlooked the sea.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask to stay on the 2nd floor; ask for a room near the lobby; so you don't have far to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Candia Park is a nice family hotel. The rooms are scattered all over a hill side so you need to be lucky or persistent to find the one which suits you best. The lower the room the easier to reach pool, beach and restaurant with a price to pay: noise from all the above attractions. The higher the room, it is more quiet but more difficult to reach. The rooms are spacious and the small kitchen fully functional but they need some kind of renovation. You cannot have an old, noisy split A/C unit for the bedroom and a small fan fitted between the bedroom and the living room trying to balance the cold air! Hotels today need to have modern appliances and not an old CRT TV and a phone unit from a 70's American film. It destroys the whole atmosphere.
OK. They kept the rooms clean and equipped and the Super Market of the complex was capable to supply almost everything you might want to.
Breakfast was nice, the "salt" part far better than the "sweet" part. Croissant and sweet pies had a feeling not even of pre-cooked. (The chef though, prepared one day a delicious cream pie!)
Buffet dinner was very good, with ample selection.
We never tried the taverna, though. I cannot really go to a taverna where everything but water is frozen, or pre-prepared...
Beach was small and a little crowded with an east orientation which means that from 15:00 onwards was on shade so everybody was on the pool and we had the whole beach for ourselves (I love the shade!!!)
Staff was friendly and helpful.
All in all it was a little "touristic" but within limits. It gave us a relaxing week with our newborn (that is why we have chosen this hotel, the small kitchen).
The hotel is not in the Elouda Bay (and therefore has not the Elouda prices!) but the sea is very calm even on a windy day. You may want to visit the area, Plaka village, Spinalonga Fortress Island, or one of the fine restaurant inside the Elouda luxure hotels

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Very nice accomodation with plenty of room and ambiance.
But they should put more variety in their breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kpermen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.7 km away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
4.0 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
36.6 km away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
5.2 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.4 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candia Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candia Park Village

Property: Candia Park Village
Address: Agios Nikolaos, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Candia Park Village 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cretan style village right on the sea between Aghios Nikolaos (3.5km) and Elounda (5km), from which a frequent bus service connects with both villages.The airport and capital City of Heraklion are 65 km away, and all the fascinating attractions of the island can be reached by full or half day excursions. The village is comprised of 222 units of different types, set among 65.000 square meters of gardens. All units enjoy the same facilities including individual air-conditioning / heating, direct dial telephone, safety deposit box, TV, fridge, facilities for light cooking, filter coffee machines, hairdryer, private bath and shower and large terrace or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Candia Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candia Park Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Crete/Agios Nikolaos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing