We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Vasia Ormos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vasia Ormos Hotel
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This is a lovely friendly hotel in the beautiful Mirabella Bay in Agios Nikolaos. We had a superior room at the front of the hotel which was extremely clean, spacious, well appointed and overlooked the bay. Doesn't feature in the British packages but found it through Bookings.com and Expedia. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff were very happy and friendly. There are nice gardens, 2 small pools and plenty of sunbeds if you want to laze around. We enjoyed swimming in the nearby bay. Food was also good; breakfasts especially with a great selection of fresh fruits, salad, cheese, hot and cold meats, eggs and fresh breads.
It is a 3* Hotel but seemed much better than this. We have stopped several times in the 5* Mirabella just up the road and it was far nicer than this.
We chose it due to the proximity to Pelagos Diving Centre. This is run by Stef and his team and is the best place for diving and other water sports we have been to. Also recommend the Stavros Taverna 100 yards up the road where you will get very reasonably priced snacks and meals and excellent service from the lovely Mrs Stavros whose catch phrases are 'no problem' and 'lovely jubbly'.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are spacious with a king size bed and settee. We were told by guests that other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vasia Ormos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you so much for all your kind comments!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back to Vasia Ormos!

Greetings from Crete

Dimitris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

Stayed here for 10 nights half board with my wife for our first holiday to Crete! We were very pleased with the size of our room and the hotels facilities. There was never any problem getting a sun bed around the pool. All of the staff were friendly and work extremely hard. Only down points of the hotel would be that a little more variety at breakfast and dinner would be good as we ended up eating out in town a few nights. Also the prices of soft drinks could be a little cheaper for half board guests, although there is a very nice supermarket about 5 Minutes walk from hotel with reasonably priced water and soft drinks which we did use.
Found a lovely little bar 5 minutes towards Agios Nikoloas called Gallery Bar which we would recommend. Would also recommend the Spinolonga boat trip and Almyros beach for things to do nearby.
Would definitely return this area and this hotel. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vasia Ormos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for all your kind comments!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back to Vasia Ormos!

Greetings from Crete

Dimitris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Ok, so staff was the thing that made my stay really great! (Maria you are a little gem!)
Food was above average for me, always something to eat. And their icecream was so nice! Lot to choose from and if you only want a sallad there where plenty to choose from.
BBQ night was good, but would have been great if meat was not cooked so hard.

So, i had room 423 in the annex (closest to the pool, second floor). I was actually feeling very cramped. I would not like to be two persons in a room that small (bathroom OK!). I actually asked if i could pay for a bigger room but ended up using the second bed as a place to have my suitcase and other stuff on. If going back i would opt for the rooms that are 35sm.
Internet was 50euro for 14 days wich surprised me a tad as the last time i had to pay for that was in Turkey 8-isch years ago :-)

I must add that the beds are semi hard, and one REALLY has to get used to the noise from the AC even at the slowest speed.

Nice new sunbeds at the pool and always a lot free. Pool is only 120cm-70cm so just for cooling off really. I was at the small beach once but did not like the stones and water was kinda murky.

There are some training equipment in the basement, multistation 60kg, treadmill (take it easy the band is worn) a crunch bench and flat/incline with small bar around 40kg also two dumbell grips.

Car rental just other side of street, further up the expensive supermarket, i did buy some water but drank the water in the room because it was tasty enough!

All in all i had a great and very relaxed stay for 2 weeks, only adults and no walking in corridors after 23:00. Almost everyone did not obey the dresscode at dinner though. (males)
Conclusion: Very good, could have been a tad better :-)

Room Tip: Go for the largest they got!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KillerwhaleTRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vasia Ormos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

I would like to thank you for your kind review!
Your comments were forwarded and received with great pleasure from all the people at Vasia Hotels!
We are glad you enjoyed your vacation at our hotel!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Greetings from Crete

Dimitris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

+ very nice and friendly staff
+ food decent but a little repetitious (although I really liked the lamb and beef for dinner)
+ good location - nice view and quiet but close to town
- gym facilities weak if someone intends to work out intensely
- weak wifi coverage in the second building

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jakub P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vasia Ormos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Jackub,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and also thank you for your nice comments about food , staff and location.
Regarding wifi & gym we will try our best to provide better services in the future

Greetings from Crete

Dimitris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Vasia Ormos has a 16 yrs age limit and is situated a little bit outside Agios Nikolaus. It takes apx. 25-30 minutes to walk in to town. (Agios Nikolaos is very charming, so a visit is absolutely recommended) The hotel itself is nice, and all the staff very friendly. We stayed with HB (breakfast and dinner) and the food was good even if you sometimes can get a little bored whith buffe every evening. The on site a la carte restaurant was unfortenatly closed during our visit. There are a couple of restaurantes nearby for lunch (or an alternativ dinner) if you do not want to walk in to Agios Nicolaos. Nice mix of guests from different parts of the world

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smalgangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Just returned from this lovely hotel. Can't believe we managed to find this little gem! Every single member of staff including the Manager are friendly and very helpful. The bedrooms are spotless and modern and the beds very comfortable. We had a spectacular sea view overlooking the town of Agios Nikolaos which is a 20 minute walk to get too or you can catch a bus across the road from the hotel. The food was excellent - always a good choice and always hot. This was our first visit to Crete and this hotel but hopefully it won't be our last

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank sally590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vasia Ormos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you so much for all your kind comments!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back to Vasia Ormos!

Greetings from Crete

Dimitris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Myself and my friend have just returned from a week at Vasia Ormos. The hotel is fantastic - really modern and spotlessly clean. There are 2 pools so even though the hotel was quite full we never felt overcrowded and always had space around the pool. The staff are all really friendly and accommodating - I like sangria, which they don't have on the menu but they were more than happy to make me one everyday. We arrived late (midnight) and had a very warm welcome with a meal prepared for us. The food was all well-cooked with different options every night. Bart, who did the evening entertainment, was great & accommodated for the different types of guests - we were some of the only English there, with lots of Dutch & Belgians who were all really friendly!
The local area is great - we took a taxi into the town a few times (€5-6) and did a day trip to Spinalonga (booked at the place opposite the hotel).
Would definitely recommend for friends & couples who want a relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Harriet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasia306, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vasia Ormos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

I would like to thank you for your kind review!
Your comments were forwarded and received with great pleasure from all the people at Vasia Hotels!
We are glad you enjoyed your vacation at our hotel!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Greetings from Crete

Dimitris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.4 km away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
1.3 km away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
892 reviews
2.8 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lato Hotel
Lato Hotel
#12 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
478 reviews
1.3 km away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
675 reviews
0.2 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasia Ormos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasia Ormos Hotel

Address: 25th Vincezou Kornarou Square, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Ormos Hotel)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $92 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasia Ormos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vasia Ormos offers stylish accommodation in Superior Double Rooms & One Bedroom Suites, comforting amenities and facilities, friendly service and Crete's warm hospitality. Its prime location, in front of a beautiful physical bay, offers the perfect setting for your holidays! An ideal place for those seeking a tranquil vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vasia Ormos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormos Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Vasia Ormos Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing