We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous jazzy relaxing experience”
Review of Kalderimi

Kalderimi
Ranked #42 of 509 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$23
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kalderimi restaurant opened in 2000 at the historical Theotokopoulou street,with purpose to serve original,traditional flavours to the customers. After many years of experience,it progressed without losing its traditional character and started offering new creative suggestions to the beloved customers. The decoration of our restaurant suits perfect with the old town's element. The combination of good food and pleasant service will make it one of your favourite spots.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

We visit Kalderimi for five years now and it is still a top favorite of ours.

A seriously cool place - good food, consistent quality, diverse, huge tasty salads, excellent local specialties, few hidden gems (chicken curry), delicious seafood. Good wines' selection.

Easy, breezy, friendly and discrete staff. Jazzy, chill out music.

Thanx guys, you are our cosy oasis in Chania:)

Thank Vassil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos M, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kalderimi, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

thank you very very much
Kalderimi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 415 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2017

This is the third year that we have visited Chania and the third time that we have chosen to eat at Kalderimi more than once during our stay. This restaurant is consistently great, away from the hubbub of the Venetian Harbour where restaurants are located cheek by jowl as are their patrons.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos M, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kalderimi, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

thank you very much
Kalderimi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

Was recommended this restaurant & wasn't disappointed with the food or atmosphere. The place was very busy & on our 2 visits we were told on 2nd visit that a table we wanted was "reserved", we accepted that & offered another table. Realising how busy it was, on our 3rd visit we decided to book a table we wanted (Thurs 21/9) We arrived at booked time, the manager in charge, I think called Nikos avoided eye contact, only to find our table taken by a couple who had not yet ordered. the previous manager tried to look after us but couldn't. My girlfriend & I were extremely disappointed & really badly let down considering that the night before it had been reserved yet wasn't kept for us, we felt all the manager was interested in was getting the money & not looking after customers wishes. We noticed people were offered a table in a "holding area" down a sloping alleyway or like us inside, until a table was free in "main area" so that they didn't lose your custom to another restaurant! Customer skills on this night severly let it down & after waiting patiently for 40mins for our "reserved" table, we decided not to eat there or return!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

After having booked a table for the evening at the nearby "Oinoa" resturant we wanted to have sip of wine and a look at the menu of Kalderimi. Sadly this came to nothing as the young female waitress said it wasn´t possible to have just a drink because "We are a restaurant". The restaurant was empty when we tried to visit.

Unexpected, to say the least :(

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janH1000EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Great service, great food, one of the few honest and excellent value restaurants in the otherwise very touristic Old Town of Chania.

Excellent food and waiters know to suggest a good wine with what you order.

Make sure to reserve a table!

Pro tip: Go for one of the tables near the jazz bar closeby ("Fagotto"), you'll catch some cool music with your dinner

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lefteris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos M, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kalderimi, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

thank you very much
Kalderimi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalderimi also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kalderimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing