We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
18
18
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
18
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice pool sandy beach platanias beds sea beaches crete
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 53 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at hotel Haris, I had a room downstairs which made it easy for my friend who suffers from arthritis to get about. The pool was just a few yards away although it is not big it was sufficient, it could do with having a handrail. the bar staff were lays helpful and pleasant, I now just love Cretan honeyed raki! We also enjoyed a great Cretan evening which was fab!
The hotel is by the beach, the views of the island are majestic, you do get charged for the sun beds but then you get free drinks at the pool bar if you buy lunch. There are too many massage people around the beach, but heh, they leave you alone after a few firm no!
My gripe, which is about the resort of aghia marina, is that it is catered for polish, Czech and Nordic countries, I felt quite isolated by the lack of English and yet I love other languages, sadly the Czech and polish people were not at interested in conversing with us English.
My other gripe were the poor desperately ill cats that were roaming around the hotel.
The food was adequate, but you have to buy the drinks? Shame I idid not find many or any Greek food apart from salad.
The receptionists were great, I got very good information to go visiting amazing beaches by local buses.

Room Tip: Choose a downstairs room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mimig1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Perfect hotel, friendly people. The location is very good, between Chania and Nikosis. We travel all around the countryside only with a map and a scooter: everything is cheaper if you choose destinations, taverns, and services well, I mean, less turistics as it's possible. Cretan people are kind and try to help you everywhere: they can suggest you the best things to see.
We are Italian, but we tried greek food, beers, and so on: food is really tasty, we don't suggest fish, but beef, lamb, pork, meat in general is really good. Beers are good, cheap, fresh, different from the northeuropeans one, but perfect with the hot temperatures.
In the hotel there is a fantastic pool bar which serve also tasty meals, a quite big pool, and the beach is next to the hotel, with direct access. Our room was big, with two balconies, even if the most has only one; bathroom is ok, not too big, always with a little window.

Thak you very much for the precious time we spent here to Tina and her husband, Leonidas, and of course all the staff .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SaraVezzoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2012

1st Super Friendly Staff.
2nd Great views of the sea from room.

Close to main highway so you may travel easily in crete to other destinations.
Drawback some window and door panel offer little privacy at night when the lights are on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steez54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2010

we stayed here 25/5/10 for a week ,weather was great, hot but nice breeze,resort was very quiet,hardly any english to be seen or heard of,mainly scandinavians,germans,eastern europeans!!!
hotel was very clean,maid cleaned daily .breakfast was good, choice of typical european food-mostly cold but good variety
.pool area was clean and tidy and opened out right onto the beach,beach bar available .
many many many -too many lol- bars and tavernas to choose from,food was great in all we ate in ,not too expensive-8-14 euros for main course each though drinks expensive-2.50 euros ave.small beer,6 euros for a short ,10 euros bottle wine.
tip-buy lunch at local supermarket -bakery quite reasonable and pasties and pizza delicious -large bottle of greek wine 1.5 L 4.50 euros-it was ok too!
take a trip on the land train -it goes into the mountains and you get to see real crete,15 euros for 3 hr trip with stops at local villages were you can buy local produce.
take a walk into platanias look for the sign for temple,its really a church up a steep hill but worth the walk,caves under the church were the locals hid during the war.nice bar/restaurant a the top ,Astrea,amazing views and staff very friendly.
chania town centre is busy in the week-visit on a sunday much less manic-the harbour is beautiful with fantastic views
agia apostoli worth a visit,great beach with rocky pools and warm water
overall nice area to holiday ,very relaxing and quiet,looks a bit commercial when you first get there, dont be put off ,its a lovely place,we didnt want to come home!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank allipalli66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews