We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Theofilos City Hotel
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Very friendly front desk staff. They went out of their way to help us and guide us to the must see city sightseeing. Clean room with a nice bathroom , good day service .
The only negative thing is the location which is far from the old harbor where all the fun and activities are.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RITSA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Good clean Hotel with a helpful personnel. Only location 2 km from the City center and not big choice at breakfast.. But it's hard to find something similar in this price and amenities. Rooms are quite big, new and clean, some with a sea view, even has a small kitchen in the anneks.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Włodzimierz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights during our stay at Chania.
The room was clean and it was cleaned daily. Some basic amentities were missing like water glasses and the room was relatively small for a family with a baby. The breakfast is modest and for 5€ per person I think it is ok.
The woman owning the place and the young girl who helps in the morning are very polite and helpful. However the man who is there in the evening and the old lady who is there infrequently are amazingly strange and sometimes rude...
I would stay there again if the price remains at 40-50€ but not more than that

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michalis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 July 2017

Dear valuable guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments letting us know about your stay. The feedback we receive from our guests is very important for us as it helps us target problem areas and take necessary actions. We apologize for any inconvenience we caused regarding our representatives of the hotel.
Hope to see you in future trips.
Best regards,
Georgia Papakonstantinou
Reservations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel was Great for us! We even decided to stay two additional nights. The staff was friendly and very helpful, they even printed out my boarding passes for me. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was great. It was a perfect 10min walk to the Old Town where so much beauty lies within Chania. We loved it and plan to return! Thank you for our stay! Tina & Lou from Canada

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 April 2017

Dear Tina and Lou,
we would like to thank you for your warm comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We were delighted to learn that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay.Your positive comments will serve as a great motivation for our team striving to provide a superior service experience to all our guests. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next stays with us on future occasions.
Best regards,
Georgia Papakonstantinou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Very comfortable, elevator, very clean, hot water, a/c, strong wi fi, tv and small kitchen.
Nice lounge room and very friendly staff.
What to ask more ?
10 minutes walk from court square and another 10 to east side of Chania port.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dimitris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 April 2017

Dear valuable guest,
thank you for your comments regarding your overnight stay in our hotel. With great pleasure we learned that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the advice and your opinion and look forward particularly to welcoming you back to Theofilos Hotel.

Sincerely,
Georgia Papakonstantinou
Reservations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I think that this is just another place you should not have any expectation off. Check in, check out the next day. The hotel is really just for passing thru if you get a good deal. The A/C is either on and it blows your head away and you catch a cold or it's off and your are better off in a sauna. Breakfast? Ask yourself: what breakfast? It's off the grid from the city.

The two things that was good about the place was the price, after discounts, and the staff - very nice and familiar.

What I particularly didn't like was that they tried to add another 2,5% for a credit card charge, nothing about that on the booking and against all EU regulations.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We stayed here at the end of September. It's well placed for the airport. There is a bus stop across the road. The walk into Chania is about 30 minutes but you pass the Botanical Gardens on the way. The room was spacious and very clean with a nice balcony. There was lots of hot water, a spotless bathroom and the sheets were changed frequently. There was a generous continental breakfast. The family were helpful and friendly but quite shy. There is a lovely square with several cafes 5 minutes down the road. The route to Chania town is quite straight forward, it's a very safe area and my sister and I walked back to the hotel most nights.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
15.2 km away
Stratos Villas
Stratos Villas
#1 of 1 in Melidoni
23 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Filoxenia
Hotel Filoxenia
#71 of 111 in Chania Town
81 reviews
1.3 km away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Arkadi Hotel
Arkadi Hotel
#34 of 111 in Chania Town
322 reviews
2.5 km away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#82 of 111 in Chania Town
161 reviews
3.9 km away
Sissy Village Hotel
Sissy Village Hotel
#69 of 111 in Chania Town
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theofilos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theofilos City Hotel

Address: A.Papanastasiou 100, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range: $61 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Theofilos City Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Theofilos Hotel lies within 1.5 km from the centre of Chania and the scenic old town. It offers free Wi-Fi in public areas and buffet breakfast. Rooms include air conditioning and plasma TV's. Each is equipped with a fridge. Most units have a balcony and most overlook Chania, its historic harbour and the Cretan Sea. Souda Port is 3 km away and Chania International Airport is at 15 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Theofilos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theofilos City Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing