We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“100% perfect holiday”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We arrived anxious that the place was so posh and luxurious, our 3 year old son would be frowned upon. We couldn't have been more wrong. These guys have cracked the offering of complete luxury in a family friendly environment. Our trip got off to a great start as we were upgraded to a villa. A big, posh villa. It was incredible- it had 2 pools! Highlights of our trip were the delicious breakfasts, the absolutely brilliant kids club, the beach/lagoon, the staff, the amazing cocktail bar, and of course our villa... I intend to go back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: If you can afford/wangle it, 503 is heavenly! A basic rule I would imagine is to go higher up the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Ladypay,

Thank you very much for your contribution!

What a nice way to put it that Domes of Elounda has “cracked the offering of complete luxury in a family friendly environment.”

We are delighted to know that you liked the upgrade to one of our villas and that you enjoyed our rich breakfast menu, the kids club, the beach setting, the cocktail bar and of course the service that you have received.

We would as well love to welcome you back as our guests as soon as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    271
    93
    34
    18
See reviews for
645
615
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

In brief we had a brilliant family holiday, beautiful hotel and stunning view however the service was not great and baby facilities limited. The crèche, kids club and babysitting I couldn't fault. However there were about 4 high chairs in the main restaurant but far more children that needed them. This made meal times hard work as our toddler wouldn't sit still in a normal chair as the temptation to get down was too much. There was 1 high chair at the pool bar and 1 at the beach. The service in all restaurants was very slow but the staff lovely! I didn't find 1 baby changing unit anywhere??! Not ideal in a baby friendly hotel! Our travel cot had a brown old blanket as part of the mattress! a friend of ours also got 6 splinters from the decking in the kids club! We also had 20 steps up to our room and with a buggy this isn't ideal. With the moan over(!) the place was really pretty and reception stuff very helpful. I had a problem with my eye one day and the receptionist arranged for a pharmacist to deliver some optrex in a taxi and it was brought to my room which was great and really helpful. The bar area was gorgeous and the beach completely safe and just lovely, very small but shallow with beds and towels. The private transfer was superb, on time and had the 2 required car seats for the children. Our view was just stunning aswell, out to Spinalonga and the sea and mountains, perfect. We had a fabulous holiday but just feel for 5 star and very baby friendly some things could be improved on.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyjane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Janeyjane2,

Thank you for your comments.

We are truly joyful to know that you found the hotel to be beautiful, the views stunning, the bar area gorgeous and that you have had brilliant family holidays on the whole.

Furthermore, we are contended that the members of our team were responsive and really helpful and that the crèche, the kids club and the babysitting were exceptional.

We do appreciate all your suggestions, which we will surely take into consideration and it is our hope that we will welcome your family back for the delivery of a 5 star service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband & I stayed in a one bed premuim suite in early May. This was a special holiday for us & we were not disappointed! From the lovely welcome by hotel staff, to the stunning location & the luxurious suites, everything was just wonderful. Highly recommend the Al La Carte restaurant on the beach for a romantic meal & room service for those afternoons or evenings when you just want to sit on your balcony, or in your Jacuzzi (such a luxury) & marvel at the spectacular panaramic views over the bay to Spinalonga Island. Plaka village close by is very picturesque & Elounda more touristy but with some excellent restaurants with that authentic Greek Taverna feel. The hotel was very quiet which suited us, we returned for this holiday more relaxed that we have ever from any holiday, due to the laid back style of this resort & the tranqility & calm throughout. Will definately return one day, thanks to the staff at the Domes who made our stay so memorable. Rosie Dowie

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Wow! We are so happy to know that you had the most relaxed holiday ever! Your kind comments will surely please all the team!

Our aspiration is to build a unique and memorable experience throughout your stay (from the Spinalonga views, the authentic dining journey, the 5 star facilities and the overall ambiance to the exceptionally hospitable service) and we are so glad that we do it successfully.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you again to Domes of Elounda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The setting for this hotel is out of this world, situated on the shores of the Merambellos Bay and facing the island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hyslop’s moving story of a leper colony established on the island. Indeed the views from the dining area, other public spaces and living accommodation are spectacular. The small (yes really small) fishing village of Plaka is only a 15 minute walk away, where ferries to Spinalonga depart every 30 minutes. The larger port of Elounda and Plaka are easily reached by a regular ( every 2 hours) bus service (1.60 €) or by taxi.
We arrived about midnight to be made most welcome by the reception staff and offered a complimentary proseco in the bar while porters took our luggage to our accommodation. Awaiting our arrival at our suite was a beautiful salad, bottle of water and wine. How thoughtful to have this for us on arrival.
Throughout our stay the staff continued to be thoughtful, helpful, friendly and communicative.
The food in the main dining area was superb. Although it was buffet-style, there was no sense of sameness from one day to the next. Wonderful variety and quality.
The public areas were luxurious. The guest accommodation was commodious, well furnished (if a little quirky) and always kept scrupulously clean, with fresh towels delivered twice daily and bedding changed daily if requested. Nice to have fresh flowers and an orchid in our room.
Our departure was late in the day (19.30) and although we could not remain in our suite, we were offered another suite until 18.00. All luggage was transferred by a porter. Although the holiday company (Olympic) advertised that a late checkout was possible, provided that accommodation was available, the management in the hotel seemed resistant to this provision. Being met with excuses – guests are allocated to your room and you must be out by 12.00 (no one had arrived by 19.30 when we left); the hotel is full (when it blatantly was not) – contrasted with the cooperative attitude of the staff during the rest of our stay. We met other guests waiting for taxi pick-up who had not been as persistent as us and had been left without a room for the day. Why lose the good will of guests at the end of their stay?
As with all hotel stays there were a few niggles, and we offer some guidance to those wishing to use the hotel.
The accommodation is situated on a steep slope above the reception and public areas, and is accessed by means of rather steep and twisty stairs and paths, which are poorly lit at points. The shower is sited in the centre of a large spa bath with a high step-over, which for older stiff and arthritic legs was difficult and scary with wet floors and bath base.
We had some issues with noise from the accommodation above – scraping furniture and clicking heels on the tiled flooring.
A courtesy bus service to Plaka and Elounda (or even a ferry boat service for something a bit special) would have been an improvement, as going anywhere from the hotel in the evenings required a taxi. There were no pavements on many parts of the road between Plaka and Elounda ( the nearest forms of civilisation to the hotel), and walking would have been hazardous in the dark. There was no entertainment in the hotel while we were there. The main bar was deserted in the evenings, only being occupied by the barman and two television screens. Another reason for the vacant bar area was the very high cost of drinks - 4.80€ for a cappuccino! The mini bar prices were equally as frightening – Whisky (8€); glass red wine (8.50€); coca cola light (4.50€); sparkling water (6€).
The early breakfast service was disappointing. Twice we had an early breakfast before catching a tour bus. Early breakfast consisted of tea or coffee and a packed lunch box (two dry sandwiches, boiled egg, fruit and various sweet breads and biscuits, all icy cold from having been stored in a fridge overnight) served in the reception foyer.
Dining in a buffet-style restaurant is never as pleasant as in one where there is waiter service. However the dining experience was spoiled by significant numbers of noisy and feral pre-school age children who frequently ran around the dining room, making the carriage of food from the servery a hazardous activity. The atmosphere was not at all relaxing, with parents seemingly unconcerned by the effect of their children’s actions on other diners. The number of adults in attire more appropriate to the beach also conspired to detract from the dining experience. Beautiful setting, splendid food, attentive staff – what a shame. Other guests with whom we spoke were also discomfited by these features.
Still, we had a super holiday. Would we return to Domes of Elounda? Only if the dining experience changed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank imduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Imduncan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your remarks about your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know that you have had a very pleasant stay and that our team was always there to cater to your needs.

It is great that you have liked the quality of the food; I was disappointed though to read that you did not have such a favorable opinion about your dining experience due to certain circumstances.

Normally, we get great dining reviews so I have raised this issue to ensure that it will not get repeated.

You will be pleased to know that we are now in the process of introducing a new dining plan for families in order to have all our guests satisfied.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for holistically unspoilt vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A lot of thought went into the design of the hotel as you never felt that you were in a large hotel. Suites were very roomy. We enjoyed our stay very much and found the area to be relatively unspoilt.

Room Tip: Local bus stops outside the hotel and is very economic way of getting to the nearby towns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Edward931,

Thank you for your feedback!

It is with great pleasure to know that you found the suites so spacious and the service of excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you again as our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I'm a mum with a 4 year old....here's what I'd say for other parents.

What we loved

- The Jacuzzi. All suites have either hot tub (the 'cheaper' ones) or a small pool. We adored our evening ritual after the pool closed (at 6ish) of a jacuzzi with a view (and a glass of surprisingly ok
local vino). Our 4 year old loved it...enough to lure him away from the pool.
- The view. All the suites face the hauntingly beautiful island of Spinalonga.
- The beach. Not the best beach in Crete by any means but great for little ones. the sea is gently sloping, and because the beach is so narrow parents can relax on the loungers happily watching their children play. There were some adventures climbing rocks, finding hermit crabs, and climbing trees to be had too.
- Just how damned relaxing it was. Most evenings we ate at the buffet, where our son would fall asleep on the sofa like chairs. The whole pace there is slow, we've returned feeling totally chilled.
- Migi, a totally gorgeous and lovely waitress who doted on our little boy, and is a total star.
- Plaka, a tiny village of tavernas, just 15 mins walk away
- Spinalonga, the former leper colony, and perfect place for climbing through old abandoned houses. Take a boat from Plaka. Oh, and we pedalloed around it too!
- The free kids club. We used it just a few times, great to have the option.
- Emma, the deputy manager, who when I had a few niggles dealt with them perfectly.
- The amazing buffet breakfast.
- The free tennis court
- The buggy service. Basically little golf buggies that will take you up the hill (it's quite steep).

Tips for parents
- make sure you're on full board for kids, and enjoy a beer and free bread/tomato & feta paste on the beach restaurant while they eat their free pasta and milkshake
- I noticed a family next to us insisted that a gate was built on their terrace to stop stair tumbles.
- make sure you ask for a room that's not accessible only by steps if you're using a buggy.

In reality, this isn't a hotel designed with small kids in mind, & the hotel really needs to do a bit more to justify it bring on baby friendly boltholes (was v surprised to hear it is). A simple pasta evening meal for example - though if you ask they'll prepare something (would be good not to have to).

But it's a gorgeous, beautiful place to be and you should go, whether you're parents or a couple.




  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyCaroOfEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear LadyCaroOfEssex,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback and your tips to the other guests, which are surely helpful.

I am delighted to know that you loved Domes of Elounda so much in terms of service delivery, room amenities, location and overall condition of property.

We look forward to your next stay with us for your future family holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I'm writing this while here at the Domes of Elounda - 24/5/12.

ON THE PLUS SIDE....
• The hotel is extremely quiet (almost silent) which is great if you want total calm and solitude.
• The hotel is remotely situated and with stunning views over Spinalonga island and the surrounding lagoon.
• The accommodation is all suites so rooms are very spacious, newly decorated and very high spec.
• Breakfast is very good with lots of choice.
• The staff are extremely efficient and friendly.
• There is free wi-fi in the rooms.

ON THE MINUS SIDE...
• The hotel management seems to assume that all its guests want 24/7 calm and solitude. We are not teenagers/drunks/loud but we would have appreciated some regular low-key evening entertainment. There was a duo playing on one night who were very good but we four comprised the entire audience.
• During our stay the hotel was apparently fully occupied but I have no idea where everyone was. After dinner from 9pm the place was deserted. We were the only ones to visit the bar and left after one drink feeling quite awkward. There was no effort made by management to serve guests who did not want to race back to their rooms while still chewing their dessert.
• We opted for half board and dinner was served buffet style in the main restaurant. The food was OK but samey and the ambience at dinner lacked any style or thought and reminded me of an office canteen (suggestions to management - lower the lighting, try some piped music, offer waiter service in one section, just put in a bit more effort!!!).
• There was no other alternative restaurant aside from a fish restaurant by the beach which was waiter service with a pretty expensive a la carte menu...if you eat here while on half board you need to pay a €15 p/p supplement. Food was good but left a bad taste as for four of us (having already paid for half board) the add-ons amounted to over €100.
• We decided to forego the buffet on one night and try eating out in Elounda. We were not allowed to have lunch instead of dinner at the hotel within our half board deal. Not impressed!
• The "beach" is a few metres from the hotel but is a grey, pebbly strand.
• Drinks are not cheap in this hotel - around €5 for a small beer or soft drink.
• Didn't like being ripped off by the water sports guy for boat hire.
• There may be two TVs in the rooms but the channel choice for English speakers is BBC News or nothing.

IN SUMMARY...
We always choose 5* hotels for our holidays and using that experience I try to be fair and honest with my reviews...

• This hotel COULD be excellent but the management need a lightning bolt in their backsides to wake up to the hotel's shortcomings and do something about it.
• The situation, rooms, staff and infrastructure of the hotel are excellent - they are just not being fully utilised.
• We and other guests would have happily paid hundreds of pounds more (over the course of a week) into the hotel's coffers if there was any reason to stay in the bar/restaurant and enjoy a drink or two. Instead, to save our embarrassment, we retreated to our rooms earlier than we have ever done while on holiday.
• There are three restaurants in the hotel (one was closed) but we seemed to be forced to eat in the buffet every night. Like many people, after a day of sunbathing/sightseeing we like to change for dinner and make this the highlight of our day. We assumed a 5* hotel might cater for us with a bit of style and panache but this was sadly lacking in this hotel.

Would we return? No, I don't think so. It's a shame that the management can't see where they are going wrong and I'm doubtful they will improve any time soon.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view room - the others are depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank m1sog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear JohnJB,

Thank you for taking the time to post your candid comments.

You are correct that Domes of Elounda is ideally located with wonderful panoramic views, offering seclusion and relaxation to our guests.

I am glad that you found the decoration and the design of the suite and the facilities in general to be beautiful. Moreover, I am delighted to know that you are very satisfied by the service standards and that our team was really efficient.

Our bar area is very popular on a Friday night, but we do offer a tranquil experience on the whole. We do organize theme nights, namely jazz nights, cocktail nights and also Greek nights depending on the idiosyncrasy of our guests and we are always open in new ideas and suggestions.

During July and August, we will also introduce the revolutionary Slow Food Celebration. For the third consecutive year world leading chefs will present dishes featuring locally-produced products in a slow fashion during a huge culinary festival here at Domes of Elounda.

I also noticed your comments about the half board supplement and the pricing. Our rates are on a bed and breakfast basis, but it is our policy to also offer a half board plan upon request. The half board plan includes buffet breakfast and dinner at the hotels' main restaurant "Tholos", which is a fact that is pinpointed in our communication.

Furthermore, we offer a range of food and beverage options within the hotel, which varies in pricing.

We are really glad that you have shared your thoughts with us, as it is only with them that we can continue to improve the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
3.0 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
370 reviews
4.7 km away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.0 km away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
107.5 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.6 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
9.4 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Property: Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing