We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best summer experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
sofia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“best summer experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I spent one week in the hotel with my girlfriend and friend couple. It is a great hotel, rooms are not what you expect for luxury but the view and the atmosphere are unique. The whole complex is very good, excellent location, great restaurants, just do not go to the Chinese one (we did that and missed the great fish/sea night at the main one). Crete is a good place to rent a car and explore.The only bad thing for the hotel was the lack of Internet connection. They will tell you that you can use the hotel’s Wi-Fi at the reception but it is hopeless.

Room Tip: Choose as sea view or share pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your summer holidays here at the Elounda Beach Hotel. We have such a wide range of accommodation that to view all the possibilities you would have to visit our website and look on the interactive map to make a good informed choice about which category you would like. There are varied options for both entertainment and dinning at the hotel. All this set in to our unique and spectacular surroundings makes our holiday experience here at the Elounda Beach one to remember.
Our internet connection is under review and we sincerely hope that it will be widely available and up to international speed standards by the time we re-open in March.
We would look forward to welcoming you and your company again for another stay at our Cretan holiday paradise.


Kind regards
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    80
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
113
180
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Jumped onboard with friends to go there for a week. Had a great time. The beach, although its small is good for hotel guets with enough beach/water activities. Breakfast was great, so were the dinners at all 4 restaurants of the hotel: good food, different cuisines. Very nice spa, althouh i don;t usually use spas often, went here every day: a fantastic massage therapist Ira. Very good service, althogh a bit slow, but hey, this is vacation and Greece)))
Probably not a place for more than 10 days. Guests are a usual mix...noveau riche Russians...somewhat drunk and misbehaved, from Germany, UK and some other countries.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for the review you have written on Trip advisor about your holiday at the Elounda Beach Hotel. I am pleased that you discovered our spa. As the spa is on the top floor of the Imperial Building it affords the most stunning views over the Mediterranean Sea and the Mirabello Bay. Our signature concept for the spa features the methods of Henri Chenot which are becoming a firm favourite with all our loyal guests. Our therapists tailor make the therapies to suit the individual and so leaving our guests feeling totally pampered and with a great sense of well being.
The Elounda Beach Hotel experience is one that our guests treasure and keep them returning to the hotel year after year. The huge variety of things to do through out the day and different venues to dine at enhanced by the spectacular surroundings, makes the hardest part of the holiday deciding where to try first. Our sundowner cocktails at the famous Veghera Jetty Bar last long in to the night. As the sea gently lulls around the waters edge seating of the bar with its views across the sea to the distant dusky mountains, invite guests to gather to enjoy the balmy warm breeze of the summer evenings.
We hope to see you again this summer and that you will also become one of our loyal guests who dream of the Elounda Beach Hotel during the long winter period.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Has everything there & more, restaurants, beaches, bars, pools, spa, gym & cant forget the lovely staff & its also close enough to a village (Elounda) to walk into for a change of scene day or night, which is lovely, or get a cab to a larger town 15 mins away, (Agios Nikolaos) which can be quite lively but was not at the time of year we went.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarahd831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at The Elounda Beach Hotel. As you say, you choose one of the quieter times of the year to come and visit Crete. The advantages of this time of year are the temperate climate making it wonderfully warm to take advantage of the swimming options, but not too hot to be able to experience the host of ancient sites. The Greek mythology lives on here on Crete and everywhere you go you come across the ruins of an ancient civilization steeped in legends and myths.
The Cretan way of life with the our hotel village square set amongst olive groves are part of the charm that brings back our loyal guests to their oasis of calm in their busy world.
We look forward to welcoming everyone back in 2012.


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Along with some other reviewers we were booked to stay at the Elounda Bay Hotel, but were moved due to its closure. We had stayed at the Elounda Bay before, enjoyed it and were looking forward to another holiday there, but we were far from dissapointed.
The room and view were first class, fruit and wine to welcome you after a smooth (with champagne, well sparkling wine) check in.
We were booked in for half board and we both found the food at breakfast and lunch to be excellent. You can't go far wrong for your first evening meal of smoked salmon, followed by fillet of beef with truffle mash and asparagus!
I have noted some of the other reviews, where some people were not impressed with the food, but having been in the food industry for over 45 years I found little to complain about (except one incident that I will come to).
The breakfasts were excellent, and Maria the breakfast chef was one of the cheeriest breakfast cooks I have ever met, good cook too.
The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful, the only black spot of the holiday was when I complained to the the restaurant manager that a piece of my chicken roulard was raw, instead of taking it away to show the chef, as I would have expected, he fed it to the house cat, in front of me.
The hotel was reasonably quiet and as a result finding a sun bed in any location was easy. As soon as you had made up your mind a member of staff was there with towelling sun bed covers and ready to put up your umbrella if you needed it. Lots of space between beds, you felt that the pool was your own.
The TV channels were as you normally find when looking for programmes in English, CNN and BBC wolrd news. However the hotel has free broad band, and quite a fast download, that meant that I could go onto my Ipad, and by going on to a particular App, could watch all the UK terrestial and freeview channels.
There have been some moans about the price of drinks, which I do have some sympathy with, if you compare them to the tavernas in the town, but that is not a fair comparison. You are sitting in a very comfortable environment (inside or out), your service is first class with all the special little touches. incidently I was in Abode in Manchester last week and two glasses of wine in there was more expensive than Elounda Beach, without the finary.
Overall an exceptional stay, with only the one negative, which took my score from 5 to 4.
Note:
If you go to Elounda, visit Mams restaurant for a good lunch, value for money and the good company of Nicos the owner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Troonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us at the Elounda Beach Hotel and found our variety of food and quality of service enhanced your holiday. The ideal holiday experience is one where all that you require is on hand and provided for you. You should leave our resort looking forward to and planning your next visit, feeling relaxed and rejuvenated with the knowledge that old friends will be waiting for your return (Not to mention the cat). The different accommodation and wide variety of activities and places to see and visit on the Island makes Crete one of the most sought after destinations in the Mediterranean. We, at the Elounda Beach Hotel, promote Greece and the friendliness of our staff is proof of our welcoming atmosphere with all the charm of the warm Mediterranean hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our hotels in the near future for another holiday.

Kind regards

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We had never been to Crete before but was asked by friends as one was celebrating their 40th and has family living in Aghios and wow so glad we went as we loved Crete and this hotel - 5 nights were not enough !
We booked two suites with a shared pool - and they were perfect with a massive wardrobe area, really comfortable beds and the pool was spotless (sun beds a bit rusty but eh ho) - the gardens are really well looked after and if you can, walk down to the main pool and beach as its really pretty.
Breakfast had everything you can think of and we did try the buffet one evening which was okay but there are so many local restruarants to eat out in Aghios or Elounda we tried a few of those.
Having arraived at many hotels to be informed the spa is fully booked for the duration of our stay we were expecting the worse - but the SPA at elounda Beach is world class and has something like 30 treatment rooms so all four of us were able to book 1.5 hour treatments at the same day for the following day - was a really relaxing and enjoyable afternoon - and certainly not too pricey compared with other spas not as lovely as this one.

All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful and genuinely nice people.

We wil def be back next year but for a week this time !

Room Tip: One with a pool is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineBoudier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
We agree that a pool is an added advantage when having a Mediterranean holiday. Not just for the obvious bliss of cooling off during the summer heat but also for the ambience a lit pool creates, whist sitting by the turquoise waters, with an evening cocktail, enjoying the scents of the specially formulated gardens, which make up the resort. This ambience can also be felt through out the Elounda Beach Hotel, whether you decide to have accommodation with a pool or on the beachfront or accommodation with a deck with private sea access. Just the magnificent views that our hotel affords, whisks away the stresses of everyday life in to a fantasy world, where the only task is choosing the venue for the evenings dining or exactly what time you would prefer to have that spa treatment that you have so looked forward to. We have created a private world where we provide for all our guests’ wishes with our professional discreet and friendly staff, whilst enjoying the very best that Greece and the Island of Crete have to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Elounda Beach hotel for your next summer holiday.


Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottenlund, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Elounda Beach Hotel in Crete. We are two adults with two kids (0 and 4 years old). Room with shared pool and seaview was very satisfying. We where met with fruit bowl and wine as a nice welcome and all the paperwork was arranged for us very fast. The service of Elounda is what primarily made us relax from the first step on the Hotel area. Very quiet and calm for both families and adults without kids.
The different restaurants are all very good with high standard, especially the Italian and the Greek restaurant. The breakfast buffet has nice bread, a wide variety of fruits. You can always find something to pick on, both on the facilities (could need some new materials for the kids club, and there could be a bit more clean under the bed and so on...) and the Polynesian Restaurant was not as good as the other places, the suhsi could have been more delicate and fresh.... BUT what is important is, that the Elounda Beach Hotel makes it easy to have a very relaxed vacation in beautiful surrounding. The personel is very kind and does everything for you to have a wonderful time.
The beach is nice. We visited in the end of the season, so it was extra quiet :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheseisil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your review about your stay with us at the Elounda Beach Hotel. It is our aim to make all our guests welcome from the moment they book their holidays. Our experienced staff will go that extra mile to ensure that our guests have all that they need to be able to relax and enjoy all the facilities of the hotel. Our different dinning options allow a wide choice of foods and venues so each meal enhances the whole holiday with a rich variety of culinary experience. We have passed on your kind words to our staff and we look forward to welcoming you and the family for a future visit to the Elounda Beach Hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rasoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We were meant to stay at the sister hotel Elounda bay palace but were offered accommodation here instead due to low occupancy at that hotel.We reached very late at night due to a strike by the Greek air traffic controllers. The bellboy Giannis was super friendly and really helpful.We already had 3 platters of food and a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room.The setting was magnificent with the clearest bluest sea I have ever seen visible from everywhere.The room was pretty spacious and the bathroom had a lovely jacuzzi and a sauna with Korres toiletries.The breakfast was a nice spread and was arranged in the Artemis restaurant .We were staying on a halfboard basis and the dinner had both buffet and a la carte options which were a bit repetitive and they kept using the same fish called Grouper almost everyday.There is also a lovely jetty bar where we had digestifs by the moonlight with 1990s music and I can truly count that as one of the most romantic settings I have ever been in.
The hotel beach is probably the best in Elounda and is absolutely stunning.We did not use the pool at all and swam only in the sea.
The cons: I have never seen such expensive drinks in my life.I have been to numerous expensive hotels,, but the Mark up on alcohol here is mind boggling.Picture this: A gin a d tonic is 12 euros, a beer is 8 euros, a glass of wine is 12 euros and their cheapest half bottle of wine is 13 euros.The cocktails were also sugary concoctions and some of the worst I have ever tasted and the wine wasn't great at all.I also went for. I also went for a spa treatment and wasn't impressed at all by the therapist although the setting was magnificent.The spa treatments cost about 225 euros which is also a bit silly.
So while I would definitely return to the hotel to stay I am less sure about eating there and we found lunch at the restaurants in nearby Elounda,Agios Nikolaos and Plaka to be wonderful and excellent value for money.






The drinks were

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmitaNeginhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
We would like to thank you for the review that you have written on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Elounda Beach Hotel with the unique setting and picturesque location amongst the olive groves and Mediterranean gardens. The hospitality of our staff is part of the Cretan ambience that goes to create the relaxing holiday atmosphere that the Elounda Beach Hotel is famous for.
The buffet and dinner halfboard options have such a wide choice of dishes we are surprised that you found them repetitive. However there are always the other a la carte restaurants serving different cuisines from Traditional Greek Kafenion to the Italian Restaurant to the Polynesian with Sushi Bar, so there is a wide range of foods to choose from. Our pricing policy for all food and drinks in the hotel are in line with the standards of Five star hotels and can be favourably compared with other resorts in the Mediterranean. You do omit the fact that, as this year was the 40th anniversary in Hospitality of the Elounda Beach Hotel, you were given an extra 10% deducted from your bill off all food and drinks in the hotel and a spa voucher for €100 as part of the celebratory gifts provided for all our guests. We do hope that you will come back to the Elounda Beach Hotel to enjoy our Cretan hospitality again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 km away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#13 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.2 km away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
2.1 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
4.0 km away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
5.2 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas

Property: Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Elounda
#6 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#8 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing