We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this place”
Review of Elounda Bay Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elounda Bay Palace
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

History: I arrived in Elounda after travelling Crete for 3 days, and turned up without a reservation to be greeted by a rather cautious lady called Maria (or Marie?) who was the front of house manager. I admit i looked a bit dodgy in shorts and tank top and scruffy. She took my money upfront, and someone showed me to my room - it didnt have such a great view as was far down the end of the corridor, so I asked if there was a nicer room further towards the main building as my girlfriend was due to stay two days later with me. From this point on, the staff were excellent. Maria kindly organised a free drink in the lovely Sail-in bar, and I waited about 30 mins for a room. The new room was far nicer, with better view.

The next 4 days were great, the food was excellent. We ate in the Al Acarte which is just so lovely, and the live band play some great music, so good we actually danced after dinner. Its a truely beautiful spot, and they light up the sea so its really nice. Maria was very accomodating and she kindly organised some nights B&B and some room only. On my last day, we were due to fly back late in the evening, so the team (Maria and Victoria) very kindly allowed us to use another room at the back of the hotel, for free. This was extremely good service, and allowed us to freshen up before our flight.

Loved the hotel - its original white walls, old flag stones, and fantastic lighting at night. The beach is lovely, private, and quiet. Staff are very nice, very friendly.

THE ONLY downside - WIFI - you have to pay for it. Was gutted to be honest, its something like 4 euros per hour. I can afford it, but refused to on principle when virtually every bar in Elounda offers free Wifi. You can use one of three free computers in the hotel lobby but they are pretty old and slow and some sites are not accessible. I previously stayed in the Amathus Beach hotel in Paphos (a fab hotel) and a couple of years ago they installed WiFi that actually reaches to the beach, for free. In the modern era, with iphones, skype, and businesses run online (like mine), being able to access the internet from the sail-in bar, beach, or grass would have been much better.

Thanks for a great holiday with lovely staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just back from a week in the Elouda Bay Palace. Lovely setting and attentive staff throughout the stay. A special mention to Nicos in the sail in bar, great cocktails and music, lovely guy! Ate in the ferryman a few nights in the town, food as good as ever!!

Room Tip: a room with view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annebelfast24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was our 4th visit so that speaks volumes. The staff are fabulous. The setting is magnificent. Even the villas and gardens have kept their immaculate appearance. However when many of the residents are spending their evenings out of the hotel in the nearby village because of the price of beer and wine , one has to ask if the hotel is just getting a bit beyond itself?! 9 euros for a large beer...... And to be told upon arrival in a card that half board now meant breakfast and dinner but we could not exchange dinner for lunch flew in the face of the booking and our previous experiences which was a tad disappointing. So whilst we love it we might have less inclination to return. Pity.

Room Tip: Go for room 88 74 or 75
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank hamish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

We are always delighted to be able to welcome loyal guests back to the Elounda Bay Palace. All the comments and suggestions made by our guests are taken in to consideration when we are reviewing the hotels policies for then next year, so your comments about the prices of the beverages and the meal basis set up has been noted.
Although we do try our best to keep our guests happy with additional benefits and discounts on all departments, as a 5 star hotel we do have to keep up the standards that all our guests expect of the Elounda Bay Palace. The location and ambience of our hotel is unique and our staff every effort to ensure that all our guests feel quite at home.
In the hotel we have a whole department dedicated to reservations and they will be only too happy to answer any questions on policy and change for the next season.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Bay Palace for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

the overall experience is great, the staff is more than friendly, very professional and the place is in tip-top shape, particularly when considering that it's a beach resort. It's not an architecture masterpiece - but neither should it be for a beach&sun vacation type resort. the beaches are clean and well maintained, the water are great! even the furthest most rooms are with in a 2 minute walk from the beach (no tricks here). I consider the resort so good, as to the extent that it really doesn't matter what type of room you get. Specifically, we stayed in the family suite with shared pool (upgraded upon arrival - thank you!). we also saw the simplest room, and the luxury sea view room - both were, while not particularly impressive, more than satisfactory to have a great time had we booked them (conclusion: don't be deterred by rooms - even the less pricey ones are alright, and you won't find yourself there much anyway). the all you can eat buffet for lunch and breakfast is GREAT. the food quality is excellent! we didn't find the Taverna restaurant very good for its price, so we went in town for lunch (which also, wasn't very impressive, but was much cheaper). I can definitely see why this hotel deserves to be in the "leading hotels of the world" - even though it's particularly fancy - the service/maintenance and overall experience is just top notch. If i ever make it back to Crete I will definitely go to Elounda, of course, I already recommended the hotel to all my friends and family who i know will go to Crete. I compared the hotel to many others on the LHW website and found it to be objectively great and probably most rewarding for your money. don't be tempted to go for fancy rooms in a cheaper hotel - what matters is the overal experience and this hotel delivers! (relatives of mine stayed in another hotel in the region and were very impressed with their room, yet disappointed from the overall experience).

Dan from Israel.
(stayed with my girlfriend, end of AUG 2011)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Myself & my partner went to the Elounda Bay Palace in Crete the 1st week in August 2011.
The hotel setting is amazing total paradise. From the moment we arrived at the reception desk greeted by the head of reservations Maria who personally looked after us to the concierge who looked after our bags to the lovely Anna at the sail in bar making the best cocktails during the day or in the evening. We truly had the most wonderful holiday. The food at the whichever restaurant you chose be it for breakfast lunch or dinner was 1st class. The staff who have all worked at the hotel for many years just cant do enough for you and always with a smile nothing was ever too much trouble at Elounda. The staff are all a credit to the most charming General Manager and on meeting him personally what a true gentleman. Thank you to all the staff at Elounda Bay Palace we really will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms are tradtionally rustic & the housekeeping is second to none
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

We would like to thank you for the delightful review on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel. Rest assured that the staff has received a copy, as it is rewarding for all their efforts in making all our guests feel unique, exclusive and welcome with out renowned Cretan Hospitality, to know how they are appreciated.
It is through our loyal staff and the long traditions kept at the hotel that we can happily boast of our nearly 50% repeater guest rate.
Our relaxed friendly atmosphere set in the luxury of our 5 star surroundings in the unique location that makes the Elounda Bay Palace the Cretan paradise that you have enjoyed.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back next year for another stay here on Crete.


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Allocated room on arrival was dirty and fixtures & fittings were old, warn and marked. After complaining the customer relations rep moved us to a much more acceptable room, more inline with a 5 star hotel. In respose to previous room complaints the manager has suggested to look on the hotel web site to see room standards, however, I can assure you there are no photos showing these sub standard rooms only the "glamorous & glitzy" ones!

The staff were very friendly & helpful. The sailin bar & staff were excellent. Beach & setting is superb.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not alocated a room in what is called the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank GCumbria_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We make every effort to fully inform all of our guests before they arrive of all the room types and facilities that are within our hotel.
All the room categories at the hotel are supported on our website by a short description and photos of the inside of the room. On the aerial photo of the hotel by choosing the category of room there will be shown that area of the hotel in which the room is situated.
We have the reservations department in the hotel that would only to be too pleased to send you photos of the rooms that you have booked before your holiday and to discuss all the details of your stay with you. To be absolutely sure of what you have booked a telephone call or e-mail to our reservations department would preempt any disappointment in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Bay Palace for a future stay.

Kind regards,


Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Elounda Bay Palace. We were on a Full Board rate in a Smart Club Sea View Room.

I would like to start by saying we had a wonderful stay, so any of the negative comments I make did nothing to marr our holiday.

Firstly, the big pluses. Service in every area of the hotel was exceptional - discreet & unintrusive. The Maitre d' and Captain in the restaurant were particulary attentive and all of the restaurant staff came to know us quickly and anticapated our requirements. Coffee came without asking, including our second pot. Cups were changed between pots.

All areas of the hotel & grounds were kept spotlessly clean - even the beach was raked free of debris on a regular basis.

We were allocated room 424 as our Seaview room. The room was sea facing, but the view was unfortunately marred by three very large palm trees right in front of the room, so what we actually got was a sea glimpse. When seated on the balcony we could see the sea, but only between the trees. Three rooms along in the Deluxe rooms, the views were far reaching and outstanding, with double frontage, so if a view is important to you, pay the extra and book one of these rooms. However, what we did like about our balcony, as opposed to those of the Deluxe rooms, was that it was very private and not overlooked, so we felt it to be an extension of our room. So although the view wasn't quite as we'd hoped, we didn't want to move or upgrade.

The room itself, as many have mentioned, was Cretian in style, which we found rather quaint. However, although I appreciate that the team are apparently aiming to retain this character, it was interesting to note that higher price rooms have far more modern amenities, such as a large flat screen TV. The style of our room was in keeping with the island, but as a 'Leading Hotel', we would have expected more than a portable TV, passable and very noisy air conditioning and an old fashioned shower over the bath with shower curtain. We would have hoped for a merging of style with modern conveniences - this was true of the more expensive rooms. However, we don't switch a TV on whilst on holiday, and we got used to the noise of the air con, so these things didn't detract from our enjoyment. I should also note that linen, both bed and towels, were spotlessly clean - white & fluffy towels, changed daily without reference to the effect on the environment. The bed was huge and very comfortable.

Finally, on to prices. Without doubt, the 'extras' in the hotel were incredibly expensive. Milkshake 9 euros, coke/lemonade 5 euros, bacardi/gin & mixer 14 euros, local beer 7 euros. In comparison, the nearest taverna charged bacardi/gin & mixer 4 euros, beer 3.5 euros. We saw only one couple in the main bar during the whole of our stay, and those using the Sail Bar usually only stayed for one drink. We were also told (not my experience) that WIFI is chargeable at 30 euros per day in your room.

As others have previously stated, the hotel is approx 10 mins walk from the centre of Elounda. You can get a boat direct to Spinalonga from the harbour, without pre booking a trip, but be aware that there are no guides on the island unless you have travelled with a tour party.

All in all, we had a fabulous stay but felt that although the facilities that make the hotel a 'Leading Hotel' are almost certainly reflected in the high end rooms, the accommodation at the cheaper end, although perfectly delightful, is not the standard we would expect.

Room Tip: If a seaview is important to you, go for a Deluxe room as a minimum. Ground floor rooms have no sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kbworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us at the Elounda Bay Palace and our brand of Cretan hospitality is the highlight of many of our guests’ stays.
The hotel Elounda Bay Palace was originally built in olive groves and then the gardens of the hotel were planted with trees and plants to enhance the original flora and fauna endemic to Crete. The palm trees that you mention are 35 year old trees and have grown considerably but we would not consider cutting these marvelous trees down as they provide the shade and privacy that you valued on your balcony. The tree trunks are the only things interrupting the sea views.
During the winter we refurbish and renovate the hotel where necessary. We renew the facilities of the rooms so that they are in keeping with the general tone of the hotel.
The pricing policy of the hotel in the food and beverage outlets is reviewed yearly and our prices have not risen since 2009.
As it is our 35th anniversary year we are giving all our guests 10% discount at the end of their stay on all food and beverage consumed in the hotel and the complimentary upgrade from the halfboard to fullboard basis that you also enjoyed.
I would also like to point out that the difference between a local taverna and bar and our establishment is vast both in location, quality and service.
As a 5 star hotel we are very heavily taxed by the government, this kind of taxation does not apply to bars and tavernas in the village square.
However the ambience of our hotel does not change and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 km away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
3.5 km away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.7 km away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
1.7 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
4.7 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Bay Palace

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $205 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Bay Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elounda Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay Palace Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing