We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good but not quite 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very good but not quite 5*”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

honeymoon summer 2011.
First room not bad (no wow factor) but moved to a fantastic villa on periphery of resort (south eastern corner but at significant cost when we were told that is what we were supposed to be in originally as part of the honeymoon free upgrade but hey ho), very secluded, private pool and sun all day.
Although a road runs between the accommodation and the beach, it gave the chance to "watch life go bye" so personally quite happy.
We did eat out a number of times in local village (5min walk) as pricey in resort.
Main thing though was thoroughly enjoyed the break and bought booze in village when needed which was a 10th of price of room service/mini bar.

Restaurants were only above average to be honest and a very fishy theme which I was happy with but "significant other" less so

Would definitely go back but would would look for deals/offers to ensure in a villa as the rooms were good but not memorable.

Room Tip: south eastern villa a must if budget will allow, not overlooked by anyone, (yet you can look at ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dougie1mill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotiris1, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.
I hope that this did not deter from your overall enjoyment of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    344
    141
    58
    41
See reviews for
317
964
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The service was, the room with a private pool overlooking the most incredible ocean. And while I was there I was able to witness a "big fat Greek wedding" on the beach. Wow. Amazing. The food was excellent in all the restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JosieBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotiris1, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, as this is what we want to achieve for all our guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Palace.

Yours sincerely

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This hotel is beautiful. The service was excellent. One of the nicest experience ever. We were upgraded to junior suite and it was a corner unit. We had a wonderful view with a very nice swimming pool but it was very windy and cold when we got there so we weren't able to use the pool. The food inside the hotel was a little bit on the high end side.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review in Trip Advisor and give us your feedback on your experience. We were happy to hear that you overall had a nice time and enjoyed most of the hotel's facilities.
We truly hope to welcome you back to Blue Palace in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is an excellent hotel with excellent service in an amazing location with breathtaking views of spinalonga island.

Room Tip: Private pools are not so "private" but really you dont need a private pool! Sea is excelen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagSlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotiris1, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guests,

My most sincere thanks for the excellent comments about the Blue Palace. I am really happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I hope to have the chance of welcoming you again at our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Elounda spells class - we spend four nights at this resort, enjoying the fabulous food and the truly genuine staff.

The private beach is more like a cove and good for swimming.

The restaurants are fabulous - try the Asian kitchen as well as the traditional Greek kitchen that looks out into the sea.

The only negative point is that the location is quite a way off, so if you want to get out and explore Crete, it could cost you a fair bit (Eur 70-90 each way). But if you, like us, just want to lie in the sun and swim a bit, look no further.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lehmunade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotiris1, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your very nice comments on our property. Everybody in the Hotel works very hard to offer pleasant holidays to our guests and we are very happy when we get positive feedback. Hope to see you again at the resort.


Yours Sincerely,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Room very phenomenal. Clean, gorgeous, a real treat. Our only complaint was the very overpriced food. We walked 10 min to the fisherman village each night for dinner and went to the market for fruit for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunThruYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotiris1, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Guests,

It is always nice to read the nice comments of satisfied guests like yourselves. Our pricing policy is in line with other hotels of the same standard.
I am really happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa and hope to have the chance of welcoming you again at our resort.

Yours Sincerely,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the Blue Palace in September 2011 for our honeymoon and loved it! The staff provided first class service, so professional and friendly. The drink on arrival and fresh flannels is a nice touch. The housekeeping was superb. We were especially spoilt because it was our honeymoon, with 3 evenings of treats left in our room, one of which was a bottle of champagne which we drunk whilst floating on our lilos in our private pool! We had the superior bungalow with heated private pool and sea view. Wow what a view! Our room was situated in a nice private spot, perfect for a honeymoon couple. Some of the other bungalows were not so private and were overlooked by the funicular. Really loved the private beach too, staff are employed just to lay the supplied beach towels on your sunbed for you! Such star treatment. Stunning place to stay, would recommend. Our favourite restaurant was the Blue Door - the staff were so attentive and the beach side location was very romantic. Loved the downturn service with the bottle of waters and next day weather report! Yes it was very expensive but you get what you pay for! Not so keen on the location not a lot to do, Plakka was pleasant but not great. We visited Spinolonga Island via a boat trip from Plakka, which was cheap and ideal because the boats came back and forth very regular so you could come and go as you pleased. Plakka is a 10 min walk but to get any where else you needed transport. We spent a week and loved it but any longer would have been boring....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nb_js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
3.4 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
5.2 km away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.4 km away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
6.2 km away
Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
16.4 km away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Property: Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing