We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Lady Hillyer and I had the pleasure of staying at The Blue Palace.

It is a long drive from the airport. Our car took us an hour and a half. It would not be fair to mark down the hotel on this.

Our room was superbly presented, we had our own pool and fresh flowers every day. Turn down service was also to a good standard.

All the staff were very pleasant and are multi lingual.

The hotel has resort cars, namely golf buggies that take you from reception to your room and vice versa.

It is expensive and you should expect it. I would say that if you are on a budget then this is not the hotel for you. In the end we just didn't bother looking at the prices.

All the food was acceptable, nothing stood out as being excellent. We were a bit disappointed with the lobster,not much flavor. We did not complain at the time which we should have done and no doubt it would have been replaced without question.

The wine list is very good they have an excellent range of vintage and non-vintage champagne,as above though,don't look at the price and just enjoy it.

The location is amazing and situated directly opposite Spinalonga Island.As other reviewers state, there is no beach as such, just stones and jetties. Fine for us but not good for children at all.

We found a lot guests had brought their own nannies/au pairs to look after the children so be prepared for lots of young children.

The Spa is excellent, quality of treatments was outstanding. The sports massage and facials were really enjoyable.

You can walk from the hotel to Plaka which is a little fishing village along the coast. Go out of the hotel and turn right and in about 15 minutes you are there. Not a lot to see but some amazing fish restaurants and all priced very reasonably.

Elounda itself is a taxi ride away and this is where the taxi drivers tried to have us over. It is no problem going from the hotel to Elounda but coming back we found a problem.

Where you wait for a Taxi in Elounda a long line forms. An individual would walk up and down the line asking people what hotel they were going to. As soon as you say Blue Palace you are taken to the front of the line and put in the first cab. Sounds good,however not only does it cause problems for the other persons wanting a taxi and who have patiently waited the price goes up by 10 euros.

This happened to us twice. On our third visit we asked for Plaka which is just past the hotel and low and behold, the price came down by 10 euro. We asked the taxi driver to stop at the Blue Palace and he became rather rude and abusive. He was upset as he could not have us over for 10 euros.

Would I stay again, the answer is no,just because there are many more places to visit.I would recommend it for families with older children,perhaps not so much for the elderly or infirm due to the location and the fact that the hotel is spread out over a large area.And certainly beware of the taxi drivers as they see guests as a meal ticket.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank lordhillyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.
I am very pleased that our staff services met your expectations as it is always nice to know that their hard work and all efforts are rewarded. I was surprised to read that you found the food in the hotel average taken that we have been awarded repeatedly for the food by Tour Operators and independent organizations.
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding the Spa, I will surely pass your compliments to the relevant staff.
As far as the taxis are concerned sounds like a very unpleasant situation you were in and I apologize for it. However, I am looking into this matter in order to identify what exactly happened.
I really hope you would reconsider and honor us with a second visit.

Kind regards

Sotiris Kremastiotis

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

This very impressive hotel sits commandingly over Elounda Bay with the most magnificent views. Large and sprawling it will take a good while to explore all the facilities and grounds. Pools both up and down (at sea level) are fantastic, as are the various restaurants and bars. The eating was brilliant every night (considering the fact that it's a beach resort hotel). They have a brilliant little dive school where my son and I earned our PADI certificates (very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic). The public areas are all very marbled swishness and all members of staff are very keen to to maintain the '5-star' feeling.

Pricey? That's subjective, of course. We had a couple of the posh rooms with a private plunge pool and got a pretty good deal as it was past the school holidays. Value? I really think it is.

The only slight niggle we had was the number of pre-school children and babies that were there at the same time. We assumed (I don't know why) it would be much more adults/couples oriented, just be aware that if you're slightly unlucky, you might get a few screamers as you lie on the sunbeds!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BusterSunray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments – it is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us. We are so pleased that you were satisfied with our staff, the food and the hotel. Reviews such as yours inspire us to continue striving for only the very best service when it comes to taking care of our guests. I am glad you and your son had such a nice experience with our diving instructors and will make sure to pass on your wonderful comments to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely yours

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Everything was stunning: the service was impeccable. We got nicely uppgraded to a room with a little pool of our own with a spectacular view over the Aegean. What a place to have your breakfasts.

The Greek restaurant was nice.. their principal restaurant with classic French influenced cuisine left us a bit wanting; they did their best but it was not worth the price. Well the wines were superb so no hard feelings.

What a place...we will most definitely be back. This is a different world where your mind relaxes..ὡς ἐν ἄλλῳ κόσμῳ.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback from your visit with us.
My most sincere thanks for your excellent comments about the Blue Palace! It is always nice to know that the hard work and all the efforts of the staff are rewarded.
I am very glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back.

Yours Sincerely

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Went here after going to Athens, Mykonos, and Santorini so Crete had some big shoes to fill. The hotel was very large and beautiful. We prefer smaller hotels so we weren't too excited about this. The room was very nice and everything was perfect with the room. The view from our terrace was great. All the food we ate there was a bit pricy but worth every penny. Drinks were also pricy.
Our issues with the location...
- The beach is all rocks so there is no sandy beach.
- There is really no nearby town to enjoy the culture of Greece. The town of Elounda is a run down tourist trap that is like a 10EU cab ride away.
- The town of Agios Nicolas is nicer but much further away. It was still pretty bad.
- It is a long drive from the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank michaelc274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotiris1, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate comments from our guests as it allows us to better ourselves and helps us to keep improving our service. We are really happy you enjoyed your room and the view of our resort. Blue Palace is an ideal place for relaxation and to receive an authentic experience of the Greek islands. At the same time we try to provide our guests with the opportunity to explore the amazing island of Crete and have an array of recommended itineraries and suggestions for all with activities such as hiking, trekking, biking or even scuba diving, as well as visits to wineries and archaeological sites, tavernas and bars. We are sorry to hear you did not have the chance to enjoy all of that and we are working on improving our communication to our guests on all the different options that are available to them and might not be apparent at a first glance. We hope you had a great time in Greece overall and at our resort and thank you again for your valuable review!

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I am torn: one the one hand this hotel and resort is undoubtedly gorgeous - fabulous views, great facilities and a lovely setting; on the other hand the expense was daunting. The hotel itself is expensive, but having got there we were appalled to find that everything was so costly - the food, the wine, a massage and so on - everything 'extra' was exorbitant and we ended up not eating at the hotel at all. What is more, the quality of the food was very average. Presumably they think that if people can afford to stay there, they will be able to afford expensive dining.
Luckily it is possible to eat quite well at the villages nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the central complex were better, especially further up the hill - certainly worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotiris1, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us.
My most sincere thanks for your excellent comments about the Blue Palace! I am sorry to hear that our pricing policy did not meet your expectations as it is in line with other hotels of the same standard in the area and under constant review with consideration given to the comments of our guests. As with any review about the hotel, we take all criticism as constructive and the opinions of our guests seriously so I really appreciate you expressing your opinion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

One of the most mesmerizing hotels I have ever seen. Amazing view of the island, crystal clear waters, your own private pool! What more can you ask for.

Great food and service, super romantic and ultra high class

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank technoelectra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotiris1, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear Guests,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such a positive and rewarding review about the Blue Palace. It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.
I am very happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This Resort is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. We were lucky enough to book the Blue Palace Villa itself, which is a spectacular spacious private villa, so we may have had an exceptional experience. The villa has two floors, three bedrooms, as many baths, an amazing living room, dining room, kitchen, gardens, large private pool, and breathtaking views. The design is stone and wood in warm colors reminiscent of Ionian architecture. I don't know how the regular rooms or suites are from the inside but most seem to have lovely pools and the other guests seemed happy!

The views on Spinalonga island are amazing, and there is quite a lot to do within an hour or two drive away if you wish. But you can just stay at the spa, enjoy a message, a swim, water skiing... or just a good long walk along the coast... and have some Greek (mud) coffee at a cafe in a village along the way, with everything aglow in the afternoon sun... Our family stayed here for Passover holidays organized by "KNY Paris", which means we met a lot of friends, and friends of friends which gave this luxurious elegant place a fun family feel. In any case, I recommend this hotel for a long weekend of pampering any time of year.

Room Tip: Well, if you can afford it, book the Blue Palace Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chavief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback after your stay at the Blue Palace. Your comments inspire us to continue offering our very best services when it comes to taking care of our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Elounda in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
5.2 km away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
5.9 km away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
1.4 km away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
4.7 km away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
724 reviews
3.4 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#4 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $340 - $1,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing