We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect holiday environment for people who live on their own.”
Review of The Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This was my 8th visit to the Mistral following the death of my wife and it is like having an extended family. The owners and staff are professional and caring and the wide mix of guests are stimulating. I have just enjoyed the hotel's October walking week with 20 like-minded people and I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is concerned about holidaying on their own.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with the standard rooms on the front and the Luxury rooms at the side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

This was my third visit to the Mistral and once again lived up to expectations, the management and staff were attentive as usual and the food was varied, well cooked and presented and certainly not skimped on portions, I am sure I put on weight !!
I booked three weeks this visit taking the walking week as my third week and if you enjoy a challenging walk in beautiful scenery this week is well worth the supplement, highly recommend it. I will return next year as there is always a good mix of single people and no pressure to join in if you don't want to. 10 out of ten for me.

Room Tip: I personaly opt for a deluxe room at the rear facing West, quieter with fab sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I have just come back from a weeks holiday at the Mistral. If you fly in to Chania on a tuesday they will arrange transfers.
The staff could not do enough for us during the heavy rain and strong winds for 4 days.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank williampotter32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This was the first time away on my own - not sure what to expect! From my arrival and welcome hug from Donna I felt reassured. Each trip out exceeded expectations and did compensate for the poor weather conditions. Food at the hotel was superb and I am a convert to Greek food. The absence of some Greek entertainment was disappointing. That said the all the other guest were very friendly and the attitude of the staff was fantastic. Thanks to you all. I'll be back. x

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Another wonderful holiday at this gem of a hotel. From catching up with old friends, making new ones, the food, the comfort of the rooms, and especially the brilliant staff, this really is an oasis of fun and relaxation.
More like a house party than a hotel.
There is a good range of trips, free cocktail tasting on a Weds afternoon and even an impromptu aqua aerobics session.....haven't laughed so much for ages!
If you travel alone and are fed up of being alone on holiday then look no further, The Mistral could well be the answer.

Room Tip: Sea views at the front but overlook the bar, quieter rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

2 days back from my first visit to the mistral. If anyone has any doubts about going on holiday alone, dont, just do it. Was my first time travelling alone and although i was a little apprehensive, all that went out of the window as soon as i arrived. The owners went out of their way to help you. The rooms were excellent. Maybe lacked a tv. The idea of everyone sitting together for dinner is a great one. You have no option but to mix then. Met a lot of lovely genuine people and i can honestly say, i havnt laughed so much in a long long time. If my circumstances are the same, i wont hesitate to jump on a jet and get back there asap. I will certainly be recommending the mistral to anyone who's single.
Greg s

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The best sunshine holiday I have had in a very long time.
I loved socialising at the pool bar after dinner,
And dancing the night away.
The hotel, room, staff, food, excursions are all to a very high standard.

Thank you, sorry, but I wiil be back.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room on the corner overlooking the front pool, I had no issues with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnN1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maleme hotels
0.3 km away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
1.2 km away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
253 reviews
0 km away
Kouros Chania Villas
Kouros Chania Villas
#7 of 11 in Maleme
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sunny Suites Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments
#8 of 15 in Maleme
69 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#5 of 15 in Maleme
86 reviews
0.2 km away
Eria Resort
Eria Resort
#12 of 15 in Maleme
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistral

Address: Maleme, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Maleme
Price Range: $98 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistral Hotel Maleme
The Mistral Maleme, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing