We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel”
Review of The Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The hotel is in a quiet location, but it has everything you would want. Two pools, a bar and a home cooked restaurant. The food is plentiful and you should not eat too much of the bread as you will have five or six courses.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

I enjoyed a wonderfully warm welcome from all the team at The Mistral. The hotel is really attractive, modern and maintained to a high standard throughout. My deluxe room was very comfortable and gave me a lovely view of both sea and mountains. The locally sourced food and wines were excellent and enjoyed by everyone as we ate together each evening.
The arranged walks took the group into a wide variety of different environments from rocky gorge to seaside and country paths...all good fun.
I had a great time and would recommend it any single traveller who is looking for a good holiday with others.

Room Tip: Back , top floor
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Back after 12 months, and you still get a very warm welcome from everyone. The hotel has retained it's character. I had an deluxe room on second floor at the front, again as expected it was spacious, tidy and clean, the daily cleaning service was up to a high standard. The food served was again up to a good standard, with their new cook, again I found it difficult not to eat too much. Due to the unusual weather we had in the first week, Vassillis went out of his way to organise trips out to enable the guests to still have an enjoyable visit. I personally enjoyed the organised walks in the themed week, although there was one which took me out of my comfort zone, but I completed it.

Room Tip: Top floor at the frony gives you views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This was my first visit to the Mistral and am so pleased I chose it and the walking week. As a first time single traveller I felt comfortable and settled straight away, the walks were well organised and very enjoyable, the hotel, rooms and people are lovely. The food is excellent and plenty of it.
I have made some fabulous friends and would recommend The Mistral for any single traveller, you certainly don't feel alone when you are there.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night book a deluxe room at the back
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

I celebrated my 50th birthday at the Mistral hotel and I had the time of my life!Everything was 5 star- the food and wine, the staff were very friendly, the rooms and premises were clean always. One of the best hotels. You feel very safe.I highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Eneresi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This was my 8th visit to the Mistral following the death of my wife and it is like having an extended family. The owners and staff are professional and caring and the wide mix of guests are stimulating. I have just enjoyed the hotel's October walking week with 20 like-minded people and I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is concerned about holidaying on their own.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with the standard rooms on the front and the Luxury rooms at the side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This was my third visit to the Mistral and once again lived up to expectations, the management and staff were attentive as usual and the food was varied, well cooked and presented and certainly not skimped on portions, I am sure I put on weight !!
I booked three weeks this visit taking the walking week as my third week and if you enjoy a challenging walk in beautiful scenery this week is well worth the supplement, highly recommend it. I will return next year as there is always a good mix of single people and no pressure to join in if you don't want to. 10 out of ten for me.

Room Tip: I personaly opt for a deluxe room at the rear facing West, quieter with fab sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maleme hotels
0.3 km away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
1.2 km away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
253 reviews
0 km away
Kouros Chania Villas
Kouros Chania Villas
#7 of 11 in Maleme
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sunny Suites Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments
#7 of 15 in Maleme
69 reviews
1.1 km away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#8 of 15 in Maleme
205 reviews
0.5 km away
Katrin Beach Apartments
Katrin Beach Apartments
#10 of 15 in Maleme
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistral

Address: Maleme, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Maleme
Price Range: $97 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistral Hotel Maleme
The Mistral Maleme, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing