We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holiday at Knossos Estate”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Knossos Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Pool
The kiosk
The playground
Panoramic views
Barbecue
Wheelchair ramp
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
gegg79
Alesund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday at Knossos Estate”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just recently come back from a breath-taking holiday on Crete. We spent 16 days in the luxurious – as close to heaven on earth as possible – villa Knossos Estate in Rethymnon.
Situated on a hill overlooking the fascinating town it offers a stunning view of the old town with the castle both at daytime and also at nighttime when the castle is lit.
The villa itself is a miracle that must be experienced. We were 8 adults and 6 children and since there are 7 bedrooms, every family had their own – even the kids. The villa also has 4 bathrooms which made quarreling and queing in the mornings non-existing.
The pool was also perfect. We have never seen such an extraordinarily clean pool. With an abundance of pleasant sunbeds, there was also no need to hurry in the morning.
During our stay, we visited four restaurants, Mouragio, Agrimia, Lemon Tree Garden and Korfi, the latter just down the street within walking distance (even if walking along the street is not recommendable since there are no pavements and heavy traffic). All the restaurants can be recommended. In the villa was also the menus from local catering firms. We ordered from them twice – good and rather cheap food. If you get tired of restaurant food, you can always make your own in the villa, it is perfectly equipped with everything you need.
We made our grocery shopping at two supermarkets, the nearest being Lidl only about one kilometer from the villa. Take the main road in the direction of Chania and leave at the first exit. The place was a bit crowded so we found another one, Synka. The main road in the opposite direction, exite at about 4 km and the street back to Rethymnon.
There is an awful lot to see on Crete. Rethymnon with its old town is a must. If you have time, visit the old castle, one of the biggest castles I`ve seen. The beaches are numerous, so you must make a choice. We visited Elafonissi (which is famous for its red sand and thus awfully crowded) and Falassarna. If you have kids, you must take them to one of the waterparks, one in Heraklion and one near Chania, Limnopoulis.
Last but certainly not least, we must mention the fabulous maintenance carried out by Maria, Manos and Anna. They took superb care of both the interior and the exterior. The rooms were tended to by Maria and Anna and it was done in such a way that you could think they were expecting royal guests. The garden was groomed so well by Manos that it was a real joy to walk around in it enjoying the beautiful colours and scents.
We want to give our heartfelt thanks to the crew, Maria, Manos and Anna and to the owners Nikos Sertedakis and his wife and daughter for making it possible to have the holiday of our life.
Greetings from Sindre, Monica, Ella and Luna
Roar, Carina, Sofia, Bastian and Filippa
Geir Harald, Tanja and Nancy
Anita and Harald
MAUSEIDVAAG, NORWAY

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZenaD46
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lasting impression - just WOW”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The second Villa on this estate, Pasaifi, is set in a peaceful hill top overlooking the breathtaking views of the town of Rethymno and the sea.

This is where my family of 13 spent 10 nights in celebration of my 50th birthday, we came home on 5th July very sad to leave. The Villa was everything as described and more.

It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with so much room that you never felt over crowded.

Waiting for our arrival was the lovely Maria, she was so warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. During our stay She booked us a sunset beach horse trek and arranged a discount and transport to the stables.
Later on in our stay Maria organised a birthday cake, on request from my family, for a celebration BBQ, which was cooked by Manos, her husband. It was a perfect night.

The pool was large enough for everyone to be in at the same time and the children's section was perfect for our little ones. Manos cleaned it every morning. The play area was brilliant for the children and a few hard faught table tennis games were played amongst the adults.

We didn't hire a car and although we took taxis into town and to the local lidals they were never any more than €9 each way.

The old town of Rethymno is full of beautiful shops selling clothes, jewellery, shoes and many souvenirs. Scattered amongst the shops and in the alleyways you will find lots of quaint tavernas, all very pretty and reasonably priced.

In the Venetian harbour there are plenty of restaurants specialising in fresh fish dishes. It was here we had the best meal of our holiday.

The Cretans are so warm and welcoming and love their Raki, which they bring out after your meal, it's an acquired taste to say the least but when in Crete..... YAMMAS

The beach to the right of the marina is worth a visit, the sand is golden and clean and with sun beds with parasols to rent €5 each and a beach bar it makes for a lovely day out.

We would love to return to Knossos Estate Villas in the future and would thoroughly recommend this to anyone wanting an amazing family/group holiday away from the hustle and bustle of a built up hotel strip.

Thank you Maria for being on call whenever we needed you, you certainly helped make our stay a perfect one.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent an absolutely amazing week in the beautiful villa that is Knossos estate villas. It was just perfect, plenty of room for our group of 10 adults and 3 children. the cleanliness was impeccable , the luxury of the villa, the pool, the views, and the gardens were outstanding, and the attentiveness of the housekeeper, Maria, well Nothing was too much trouble for her. Her husband cooked us a superb BBQ for our birthday celebration and she arranged a cake for us.
My only negative comment was that It's just a bit too far out of town, nothing in walking distance except a cute bakery with a little cafe, so I would definitely recommend a car, although taxis are only €7 each way into Rethymno, which is idyllic . Thank you for a holiday/accommodation to remember.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuffers10
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Week at the Knossos Estate Villas”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a fantastic stay at the Knossos Estate Villas. Our party consisted of 8 adults and 6 children and the Villa Ariadni gave us everything we could have wished for.
The pool and villa were spotlessly clean and maria was always on hand to assist us with anything we needed. Manos kept the outside looking great as well. The views from both villas are amazing and we spent most evenings sitting out watching the sun set with a drink.
Having 6 children under 4 in our party the playground area was a godsend with all equipment safe and of good quality. The pool although unheated was lovely and warm even in June as the weather was great and there was plenty of sunbeds.
We got the Private Chef catering on 3 occasions and each time the food prepared was excellent quality and so much of it. I would highly recommend the BBQ evening cooked by Manos.
Wifi is available throughout internally and externally and is of a good speed. Air conditioning is in all rooms which is required in the hot Cretan weather. The living and kitchen areas are very well appointed and available on both floors to give a bit of privacy where required.
I wouldn’t hesitate in booking again as the villa(s) are beautiful, with excellent views and it was made all the better having such attentive care from Maria & Manos.
Thank you so much for an amazing week

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk_ng
london
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our family of 8 adults and 6 children had an amazing 11 days at the villa. The villa itself was perfect and the children loved the swimming pool and playground.

Maria and her colleagues really looked after us and made sure we had everything we needed and were always on hand to help us out, which was especially useful when one of the children needed to go to the local hospital.

It’s very close to lovely town of Rethymnon and we enjoyed trips down there for shopping and dinner.

We highly recommend knossos estate and Rethymnon and hope to come back in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaP46...
France
1 review
“Vacances de rêve ! Those holidays are a dream !”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This villa is amazing! We had a lovely familymeeting, 9 adults and 5 childrens from England, Germany and France.

A special thank to Maria, Manos and Anna. They made us feel home and very welcome, they are such kindhearted peoples and i will miss them a lot! Always there for what we needed with a big smile, very professional, the house, pool and surroundings very clean.

Sun and warm every day except one morning, and even though very early in the season we could swim in the pool every day!

The area is very beautyful, loved the old town of Rethymnon.

We had some wonderful walking trips, Crète is simply amazing!! Elafonisi is the most beautiful beach ... a must !! Preveli beach with all the palmtrees is amazing as well.

We stayed for 7 days which is definetly to short!!

We loved every second of our holidays!

Big hug to you Maria, i miss you Marina

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynunited...
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I were lucky to spend 2 wonderful weeks at Knossos Estate, we had the left hand villa and it was totally perfect.
We really can't thank Maria, Manos and Anna enough for making sure we had everything we needed for our stay, always on hand but never intrusive, nothing was too much trouble.
The Villa itself was spotlessly clean and huge with breathtaking views of the mountains to the left and the ocean to the front, (we sat on the balcony and experienced the most amazing sunsets!) all this set in a great location for exploring the many gorgeous beaches Crete has to offer.
The pool was huge and set in beautiful gardens, which even has a play area for small children, they really have thought of everything.
Thank you again for your warm hospitality and look forward to seeing you all again, we will defiantly be back!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing