We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location”
Review of Fortezza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fortezza Hotel
Ranked #33 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I fell in love with the old town, it is so picturesque, the hotel fortezza is right in the heart of it all. The rooms are a little small and the beds a little hard for the price, but everything was very clean and newly updated, which I appreciated. There was a weird sewer smell coming from the drain in the bathroom, unfortunately that smell is all over old town rethymno, we closed the bathroom door and lit incense. I would stay there again just to be in close proximity to it all. I prefered swimming in front of the golden beach hotel about 20 minutes east of Rethymno.

Room Tip: choose the pool view room for less street noise is what we were told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nataliastarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were 4 ladies staying at the Fortezza hotel from 10th through 17 September this year. This was our first time at this hotel. We enjoyed the hotel from the start. The rooms were nice with ok size, a bit too hard beds, however we got used to it. The bathrooms were updated, very nice and functional. The service was also very good. The cleaning ladies did a good job and were always smiling and happy. The location of the hotel is superb, right in the middle of the old town. It is only about 15 minutes walk to the beach where we stayed, a nice stroll in the morning and afternoon. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side was nice since there were shade on the balcony in the afternoon. It was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This was our first visit to Rethymnon and we loved the place.The Fortezza hotel is located in the old town and close to the beach,shops and restaurants.We could.not fault the hotel it's very clean and with a very nice poole.There wereonly two minor things they had forgot to put up a shower curtain in the bathroom and it would have been nice if there had been a small fridge in the room.The staff was so nice and helpfull so we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This hotel is in the heart of the Old Town and is near all the historical sites and the best restaurants.

The hotel is very clean and the service excellent. the cost of breakfast is in the room price and is very good.

the hotel hasa good pool and we hada very enjoyable stay.for two weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Between the old town and the Venetian fortress, this is a wonderful location for exploring Rethymnon. The hotel, which has its own car park, is recently refurbished and comfortable, and the staff helpful and friendly. Rooms are quiet and have air conditioning. The pool is a bonus. There are dozens of good restaurants within a five minute walk. Only let down by the breakfast, which should be better; for example you should get fresh orange juice and better quality ham for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

In the heart of the old city. a couple of blocks from the waterfront, yet with its own chained-off parking area just up the block, this hotel is full of pleasant surprises. When we first entered our room, it seemed datk and blah -- that is, until we opened the shutters to our balcony overlooking a lovely pool, which is elegantly set among plantings and the centuries-old surrounding buildings. (We'd definitely recommend asking for a room that faces the pool rather than the street.) For such a reasonable hotel (we paid 74 euros in Early June, reserving directly from the hotel, buffet breakfast and taxes included), the public spaces are surpisingly commodious. We enjoyed the lounge area with large screen TV for the World Cup games, and the table tennis available near the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolohms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

A parking spot in the old town - now this is worth getting the room for if you have a car. the hotel does not really have any local character, but if you have a car then this is the place for you. The rooms are dark as everyone keeps saying, but its becuase of the choice of dark marble floors not the usual white floor. There are ample windows and shutters - open the shutters to let in the light - but if the sun is hot you need to keep them closed. the room for 3 persons is quite spacious, the rooms for 2 are a little cramped. my only disagreement with the room is there is no fridge to put in your cold water!

The hotel staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable and were very helpful with various issues we had.

The breakfast included in the rate is unexpected and great considering the cheap price of the room. Normally you would pay the same and not get any breakfast.

One issue - good location but there is a bit of noise from people attending the nightclubs nearby - bring earplugs for Sat nights.

i would go again

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.3 km away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.3 km away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 175 in Rethymnon
628 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Batis Rethymno
Hotel Batis Rethymno
#46 of 175 in Rethymnon
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Petradi Beach Lounge Hotel
Petradi Beach Lounge Hotel
#84 of 175 in Rethymnon
88 reviews
0.9 km away
Achillion Palace
Achillion Palace
#39 of 175 in Rethymnon
281 reviews
1.4 km away
Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Leonidas Hotel & Apts
#43 of 175 in Rethymnon
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortezza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortezza Hotel

Address: 16 Melissinou Ioanni, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#40 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $98 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortezza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fortezza is situated in the center of the old town of Rethymno. Its central position on the beautiful island of Crete, allows easy access to its natural beauties. Only 100m from the port and the archeological sites and 300m from the longest sandy beach. Hotel Fortezza is fully renovated in 2011, where someone may taste the world famous Cretan hospitality. It is owned and managed by the family Markos Liodakis since 1989 caring and willing along with the hospitable and well-trained staff, to make your staying as enjoyable as unforgettable. Capacity: 50 rooms and 3 suites, traditionally furnished, air-condition, plasma TV, bathroom hair dryer, bathtub, and telephone. Facilities: swimming pool, restaurant air-conditioned, two bars, snack, TV room playing cards room and table tennis, 24 hour guarded parking with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fortezza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortezza Hotel Rethymnon, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing