We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
121
103
37
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
103
37
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelold townswimming poolcorner roomsuper marketair conditioningbreakfast buffetexcellent locationrecommend this hotelgreat poolhotel is locatedstreet noiseminute walk to the beachsmall fridgenice stayrooms are cleanyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 271 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2016

As an able bodied couple we have visited Fortezza many times and love it. This year we took and elderly relative who has difficulty walking and for whom stairs are very difficult.We contacted the hotel by email to let them know this in the hope of there being full disabled access to all areas and in the bedroom.
On arrival we were dismayed that our relative had been given a room with a bath and an over bath shower. Something she could not access as she could not climb into the bath.
Requests for disabled facilities were heard and relayed to the manager. No facilities were available in the hotel to meet our requirements, and the offered solution of a shower being take in the excellent poolside showers was a non starter for a lady of 91.
All rooms are accessible by lift and the dining room on the ground level was fully accessible. Steps to the poolside area were an added difficulty.
We love the Fortezza hotel and would ask that they do give full consideration to full disabled access in the bathrooms and pool area

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ITravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from lovely relaxing holiday at the Fortezza. The hotel is located in the old town which was great for us as our party ages ranged from 18 to 82 so there wasn't far to walk before you were in amongst all the restaurants and shops. Staff were all so helpful and keen to offer advice on places to go and how to get there. One of the staff even took the older ones to the bus station one day to avoid the sweltering heat. Rooms are modern but traditional style and the premium rooms have proper balconies. We enjoyed the pool area which is not huge but never got busy and sampled the cocktails from the bar prior to eating out each evening. Despite this being a 3 star hotel it was excellent and i wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We shall certainly return in the future.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Love this place ..great location , charming and comfortable , breakfast is simple but very nice . Very clean and lovely staff . Right in the heart of the old town surrounded by amazing restraunts and steeped in history.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clamp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Beautiful pool - just what you need after visiting the old town as the beach is not great. Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception. In June we found a parking space near the hotel - the car park was 9 euros.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colosses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2016

While traveling from Chania, and on our way to Heraklion we decided to spend 2 nights in Rethymnon. The very appropriately named Fortezza Hotel was our host for the time.
The hotel is just a 100 meters from the main entrance to the Venetian fortress (Fortezza) of Rethymnon, the main tourist attraction.
Our room was on the pool side with a great view of the city and the hills surrounding it.
It is a very quiet hotel, decorated with taste and a modern feel, with attentive personnel and a great pool, perfect for sipping cold beers in the shade. The breakfast is more than generous: from 3,4 types of breads, pastries, omelette, cold cuts, juices, coffee and seasonal fruits, and it should be able to please even the most demanding of customers.
Would definitely check in again while in the beautiful city of Rethymnon

Room Tip: try the rooms on the 3rd floor facing the pool area
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doru1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis L, Διευθυντής at Fortezza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2016

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we very much hope that we will have you again sometime in the future in our hotel.

Best regards
Manolis Liodakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews