We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa in Crete”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Villa Olivar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Discover6...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Villa in Crete”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed a week at Villa Olivar in July 2017, two families with adolescent children. It was a lovely villa, plenty of room, great outdoor space including shade and a very well maintained swimming pool (thanks to Manos, who looked after everything very well). Maria welcomed us and was very helpful indeed. Everything was dealt with very efficiently from booking onwards and we would highly recommend this villa in a great location in Crete.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sean F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Villa”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in Villa Olivar for the last two weeks in May. The first week was just the two of us.The second week our children and grand children joined us.
It is a most beautiful villa with an excellent pool. The villa is very well maintained inside and out. Maria the manager was very friendly and helpful, Manos the maintenance man and the cleaners were very welcoming and did a great job.
The villa is split into two accommodations, which worked out perfectly, the area around the villa is beautiful and quiet with views to the sea and a perfect sunset.
I could not recommend Villar Olivar highly enough. We have been on a few holidays over the years and like to try a different place each time but if we were to return to this area of Crete; Villa Olivar would be at the top of our list.

Ps. try Dr Nikolaoses olive oil, we all agreed it is the best olive oil we had ever tasted. We asked to buy some and were given several bottles with his compliments.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from an amazing 8 days at Villa Olivar. Due to a late evening flight and a 1 hour 20 minute drive from Chania airport we arrived after midnight to the warmest of welcomes from Maria who manages the villa. She showed us around and explained the necessary details. She had also arranged to get some basic shopping for us and this was perfect. The villa is split into 2 parts around a beautiful pool and garden.

The next morning we awoke, the sun was shining and wow, what a view from the eating area. That day we enjoyed the pool and gardens, as well as a short walk from the village. That evening we had ordered a meal from the private menu. It was delivered by Maria and Manos checked the pool(this was done regularly throughout our stay)...they were both lovely friendly people. The meal was amazing and good value for money...there was so much it did us the next day as well! The evening was finished perfectly by the most beautiful of sunsets.

The villa is about 20 minutes from Rethymon which was a beautiful town with everything you need as well as a nice beach.

We visited a number of places including Knossos, Preveli, Akardi and Kournas Lake where we has great fun on the pedalos.

The villa is quiet, well located and immaculate. Maria is attentive and will help you whenever needed, giving you a number should you require anything. Manos is friendly and makes sure the pool and grounds are in good order. This is a fabulous place to stay made even better by the friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We visited Vila Olivar as a group of family & friends in August.
The villa had everything we could ask for and communication with the owner running up to the stay was second to none. Dr Nikos even put us in touch with a company that sorted out our transfers. We paid €640 transfers (return) as the air port is a good hour away.
The villa us "put of the way" so to speak, & lots of people recommend a car. None of us particularly wanted to drive & as the villa appears to be off the beaten track slightly, my top tip would be, that there is a taxi service that are very helpful & will also "pick up shopping" for you if you call them. This also saves money in taking taxi's into the nearest town for provisions.
The villa is split into 2 separate houses that each sleep 6. There's a lovely dining area on the balcony for evening meals & we maximised the use of the bbq & pizza oven.
The pool area is lovely and very spacious & clean. They provide beach towels so save in your luggage weight.
Lina was extremely helpful & only too happy to help with any queries you may have.
We visited the local taverna that was very quaint. There was only 1 waitress who seemed a little pushed as we visited in a Saturday night. The food was lovely, as was the wine & very reansonably priced. Although a couple of us didn't recurve starters in time I would still recommend it.
We had air conditioning in every bedroom.
I would recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: My mattress :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_julieell...
Mossley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing time full of fun, laughter & memories.”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The villa was located in a very quiet village called Mesi. A very tradional Cretan village. A lovely warm welcome awaited us from Lina upon our arrival at the villa. Lina kindly stocked the fridge up with essentials for a small cost of 10 euros. The villa itself was amazing it had everything we needed. The pool was large enough for 12 adults. We had lots of fun using the pizza oven and bbq every night. The evening meals sat on the terrace as the sun went down with a glass of local Cretan red wine is what summers are made of. I would reccommed a car as the supermarket and town is 7km away. The taxi service is very reliable charging between 13-15 euros each way. I would definetly recommend staying at Villa Olivar. We had an amazing time full of fun,laughter and lots of memories to cherish.
Thank you for sharing your home / villa with us. Look forward to returning soon.
Julie Ellis and the extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The set up of the villa
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angeladon...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

we had an amazing time staying in Villa Olivar, the villa is spacious and the garden and pool area is child friendly. Katerina was very helpful and helped book our excursion to Santorini. cannot fault anything, all went smoothly from initial contact through to our departure. Would definitely recommend a stay at Villa Olivar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing