We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cephalonia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Sea Apartments
Ranked #125 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Apartments have been refurbished to a high standard......They are above the restaurant so good food is readily available..as is the sea which is just across the road with only a ribbon beach..however a larger beach is just a few minutes walk. The owners were very friendly.....I liked this centre of the village location and the Greek ambience that accompanied it

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terry187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Blue Sea Apartments - having read some of the reviews before we went we were a little apprehensive. This is our first time on a package holiday as we have been caravaners for more years than we can remember but we found the whole place to be absolutely stunning - you must be realistic on the accommodation and realise that you get what you pay for - but the room was exceptionally clean the staff couldn't have been friendlier and as for
Spiros we found him perfectly charming. We wish we had now booked for 2 weeks and are already looking forward to going back to the Blue Sea - we believe that it has now changed its name - again this time next year. All of the restaurants that we read on tripadvisor we visited and found to be very good - namely Jerrys and Dreams - Kostas at Venus Car Hire is also a great guy and we shall be hiring a car from him again. The island is stunning, the food good, the people so friendly and helpful. We would like to thank Spiros and Thomas at Blue Sea for a most enjoyable holiday - ps the Friday night bbq was fantastic! Look forward to seeing you 2011!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbmcm1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We just came back with my hushband after 2 really relaxing weeks. The place was magnificent and quite- a perfect combination for relaxing!
The Blue Sea apartments were magnificent! A bit small but well equipped and very quiet. We had the best sleep in vacations ever! Cleaning and changing linen/towels was very often (almost everyday). There was a wonderfull pool with sunbeds but the weather wasn't so sunny as expected everyday. The only bad thing was that the other few people using the pool didn't have a shower before entering so the pool turned gloomy after 2-3 days (lotsa people puting sunoil before entering - terrible habbit !!!!!!!!!!!)
We met the owner Mr Spiros (larger-than-life person!) who was very kind and provided us with enough information.
Katelios village was quite and easy to go (only 3-4 minutes on feet) with good taverns and a few bars (thanks the music wasn't loud!). We ate at Persa's and Blue Sea- both of them fantastic (fresh fish and the best meat!)
The St. Barbara beach was good but the next beach (Kaminia beach) was better, more sandy and sparkling.
We rented a car the last 5 days and made a few trips around the island. Xi beach (cly beach) next to Lixouri was fantastic and the popular Mirtos beach too. We also went to Assos and Fiskardo - quite unspoilt both - and to Argostoli. capital of the island. Skala and Sami were very good but a little bit commercialized. We had a really lovely time and we promise to come back next year!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggicalmaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We came to Kefalonia to have a quiet and romantic couple of weeks, the resort itself is absolutely gorgeous and we really enjoyed eating out every evening at one of the many seaside Tavernas, Captain Jerry's was a firm favourite, especially for the fresh fish, infact the best swordfish we have both ever had.

When we arrived at the apartments, we didn't have a welcoming, just a grunt of what room number by the owner (Jackie). Our impression of the apartment was pretty much what others have written, basic greek apartments.. we hadn't come here to cook so were not bothered by the extremely basic cooking facilities. The apartment as a whole was clean and was cleaned regularly with fresh linen twice a week and towels 3-4 times. They could do with some updating, but the price we paid

We found the pool lovely and quite often fairly empty which was very nice and relaxing until the shouting from Spiros erupted most afternoons upsetting the majority of the residents of the apartments. Both Spiros and Jackie were extremely unhelpful on many occasions and it seemed to us and others that they were more inviting to outside guests who decided to use the pool for the day, which was very puzzling!! One thing that did bother me regarding the pool was that I saw Jackie on two occasions tip chlorine powder into the chlorine feeder during the day, which would have been harmful to swimmers especially those in the shallow end where it is released. Late at night, the local frogs took a dip!!

We will definately be returning to Katelios but we will certainly not be staying at The Blue Sea Apartments!!!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank TeamMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

just arrived back after 1 week stay in blue sea appartments.....initial thoughts on arrival...tired appartments, on the small side and hardly ideal for "true" self cattering.
however, that aside these are perfectly placed, functional and with the all important pool which was the highlight of the holiday for my 5 year old daughter.
great bar snacks at reasonalble prices
great maid service
a very "greek" owner ! big loud but perfectly harmless
the most abnoxious useless comos rep, total joke , so fend for yourself!
eating out.......tried the resturants in the main front, my advice stick to Jerry's opposite the appartments, wonderful and better priced .
great bakery opposite too
Venus car hire just up the hill cheapest on island, opposite this the best supermarket too.
loved it x

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fire3029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The apartments are in a really nice quiet setting, just a short walk to the tavernas and beach.

Our room was on the 2nd floor which we asked for. The room was clean and consisted of a small kitchen area, small en suite, twin beds and a balcony with a couple of chairs and a table. The only problems we found were just the kitchen area looked a bit tired and the shower holder came off the wall, when having a shower the whole en suite got soaked. From the balcony, the sea view and surrounding area was really nice, this also overlooked the swimming pool.

We spend half a day around the pool area on our week long holiday which was kept very clean and tidy. We spent most of our time travelling around Kefalonia.

In the evening we visited the bar area for a night cap, the girl behind the bar was nice and chatty. The swimming pool at night was illuminated with underwater lights which look really nice.

We went self catering, so can’t comment on food. At night the area is very quiet which ensures you have a good night sleep after a long day touring the island.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrahamUK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

The reason why we picked this hotel within the area we liked was because it came across as small and friendly and that is pretty much what it was. We liked it because there were not many apartments or people who stayed there.
Hotel
The hotel/apartments themselves were ok, we were right with there not being many though it could have done with a bit of updating and more services available.
Staff
The staff were ok, they just left you to do your own thing, which we like but there was an incident where it was my sons birthday and we just brought him a new football and buy the time we got back the shirt was gone he said he had left it on his bed andnow it was no where to be found we asked at reception they didn't do much asked the cleaning lady about it and she said it must have been in the bed and when she cleaned off the sheets it got caught up. We asked if we could check the sheets and they said sorry they have alreay been sent off. So my son was not pleased with this. There was also another incident but it was not to do with the staff.
Rooms
We were very please when we got our room because mine and my husbands was separate from the childrens but we were all still in the same room. The bathroom was quite good but small, the room was spacious and on the top floor, so we got an alright view. A problem with the room was that after the incident with the clothes getting lost in the bedding we also put our clothes away and not out anymore. My son and husband were in a rush and just dumped their tops in the closet when they went and sorted them out later my husband put his top on and you were able to see all of these tiny holes in it, that we can only assume were ants my sons was aswell but it was more noticable on my husbands. The self catering within the rooms is not very good but it is about average, you are very limited at what you can cook, but there are many little shops that you can just go and get the ingredients from.
Food
There were many resturants and bars as soon as you walk out side of the complex. There was a really nice one if you come out the hotel, go left it was possibly called jerry's and then there was a bar place after that were we played pool and you were able to go on the internet and the people there were lovely. There was also another restuarant ifyou head towards down the beach there is a little alley way on the right and you go down there, its a beautiful typical greek restuarant, they do beautiful food and the staff there are lovely. The only problem we had with the restuarants is the cats which my daughters hates and there was this one eyed one that took a liking to her, she did not like it at all. I wish that the hotel itself did a resturant, we ate there one night and it was ok but not the best food i had ever tasted.
Location
Amazing, you could not go wrong with the location. Everything you could want in the way of food and some kind of entertainment was near by.
Pool
The pool was lovely for the first four days it was only my family by the pool and then a couple arrived and that was it apart from the owners two sons. But by the second week there were loads of children and teenagers and they were all friends with the owners children. They were loud and were jumping off the bridge. We were trying to think why they were allowed to be here and the owner was not telling them off its because this is a public pool, I think this is a big fault for the owners to do this. Apart from that the pool was nice, didn't ever have to rush to get down there though the pool could do with being painted as it was chipping. Also this pool gets very very deep my 6ft husband even after trying his hardest was unable to reach the bottom. Its best to say in the shallow end if you have children.
Beach
Not a long walk at all but didn't really go in the water it is very stoney, you don't get umbrellas or loungers either so we pretty much stayed by the pool.
Overall
I think that it was a good holiday, our family enjoyed it the location was the best thing about the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesToTravel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
41.4 km away
Avithos Resort
Avithos Resort
#1 of 8 in Svoronata
529 reviews
69.6 km away
Studios Vrionis Panoramic Sunset
38.4 km away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
77 km away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
523 reviews
39.3 km away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#1 of 12 in Poros
217 reviews
39.1 km away
Aloe Studios
Aloe Studios
#1 of 2 in Karavadhos
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Apartments

Address: Drakas | Katelios, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Apartments Cephalonia
Blue Sea Apartments Greece/Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing