We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Chritsmas holidays”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Olive

Swimming pool with magnificent mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool with magnificent mountain views
Gated entrance of the Villa The large compound of the Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Swimming pool with magnificent mountain views
Gated entrance of the Villa
The large compound of the Villa
The large compound of the Villa
Bar area by the pool
Barbeque Pit
Double Bedroom (with Ensuite Shower)
Double Bedroom with ensuite shower & toilet
Twin Bedroom
Living room with pull-out, comfortable, sofabed
Living room with pull-out, comfortable, sofabed
Shower Room 2 inside the Villa
Shower room 3 by the pool
Well equipped kitchen
Staircase leading up to rooms
Staircase leading up to rooms
The pool at night
The pool at night
The pool at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Volos, Magnesia Region, Thessaly

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rose K
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Chritsmas holidays”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We visited Villa Olive for four days during the Christmas holidays ( 2 adults and 2 kids).
The house was nicely festive decorated by Christina the owner, and that made us feel quite at home.
The house was very romantic and kid's friendly at the same time.
The garden and the house surrounding were amazing and we were very fortunate because the weather was worm and calm enough for us to use the barbeque pit and spend an entire day outside with some friends that visited us for the day with their kids.
We even had our meal in the stone table under the gazebo even though it was December !
The well equipped kitchen made it very easy for us to make a delicious mushroom soup to join the Christmas spirit.
The kids wanted to use the pool (that was clean and ready for use) but instead we persuaded them to “build a tree house” between the olives
When the sun went down , we had a wonderful evening by the fireplace.
We also had the chance to explore some of the Pilio villages by visiting Portaria and Makrinitsa that were both wonderful.
We are all looking forward to visiting Villa Olive again in the summer to enjoy the pool and see more of mountain Pilio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you stay at Villa Olive. We really appreciate it and are very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your Christmas get-away here. We look forward to welcome you back again in the Summer, for the kids to enjoy the swimming pool and the many fruits which grow abundantly on our vast grounds (figs, grapes, plums).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena L
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home...”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Olive for 2 weeks (4 adults, 2 teenagers) in August and had the best time of our lives! We flew into Athens from UK, before driving to Volos. The journey took us about 3.5 hours, the drive was on the motorway (with too many toll stations, though!!) and we found Villa Olive without any problem. As soon as we drove into its driveway, we were amazed by its gorgeous and meticulously tended compound/garden. Huge trees and colourful blooms surrounded the traditional villa, a little gazebo with a stone table and seats on the side (where we hung out most days), hammock and swing to drift through the lazy afternoons, comfortable sun-loungers with huge canvas umbrellas for shading and of course, the HUGE pool, where we had most fun (ball matches!!).

The villa has 2 bedrooms (1 with double bed and 1 with 2 single beds), a living room with 2 sofabeds, a very well equipped small kitchen, 1 indoor shower room with sink and toilet and 1 outdoor shower room, also with sink and toilet. We were shown around by Christina, the owner, and it is obvious that she has lovingly restored the old villa to make it comfortable for modern living. We were told that it was renovated only less than a year ago and all the amenities were working well and the décor was elegantly designed to fit the original features of the villa. Wifi in the villa was strong and fast and we could use our ipads both at the gazebo and also by the pool.

Most of our time was spent outdoors as we made full use of the pool and soaked in the inviting Greek sunshine! We used the barbeque pit once and had the loveliest meal ever. We went to a fish taverna recommended by Christina, which is only a 5 minutes’ drive away at a place called Platanidia and had the freshest fish ever. Some nights, when we were too lazy (or tired) to cook, we ordered take-away souvlaki (grilled meat on a skewer or wrapped in a pita bread with tomatoes & onions) from a local shop. It was delicious!!
We explored many beaches while we were there (Malaki, Affisos, Lefokastro, Milina – all along the Gulf. Plaka and Potistika – facing the Aegean Sea) and found some of the BEST beaches ever here in Volos!! The beaches along the gulf have crystal clear water which was remarkably calm but those facing the Aegean Sea have big waves!! The best thing about these beaches is there were always good tavernas nearby for food when we got hungry!!

However enjoyable it was for us to spend our days at the beaches, it was always such a pleasure to know that by the end of each tiring day, we have a comfortable and cozy house waiting to greet us, offering us a good, warm, shower and a restful sleep!!

Although there are hotels for us to choose from in Volos, I was glad that we made the decision to stay in Villa Olive instead. It was truly a home away from home…In fact, it was better than our own home, I must say!! It is our dream home, in a sunny Paradise. We will certainly be visiting Volos again to visit Mount Pellion and its many villages. And when we do, we will certainly stay at this hidden piece of gem. This place is truly magical!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings grounds of the Villa
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our villa. We really appreciate it and are very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay here. Since your stay, we have further refurbished our villa to add an ensuite (with shower/toilet) in the double bedroom upstairs. We are impressed to know that you managed to visit most of the best beaches here in Volos within such a short time! Your review will be most helpful for our other guests. We look forward to welcome you back soon at our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikolaboz
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unimaginably beautiful.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Villa Olive last week and we already want to go back.

We traveled with the kids (6 and 1); can't tell who who enjoyed it more, us or them. This place is equally romantic and kids friendly.

The grounds are gorgeous, with beautiful landscaping, lovely olive trees, and huge palms that make perfect shade. We spent most of our time around the pool and in the gardens, going inside the house only when we needed to grab food and drinks.

The pool is huge. It's pretty deep on both ends, so make sure you have right swimming gear for the young ones. The house itself is charming. It's recently renovated and it has every modern appliance and amenity you might ask for (including good Internet connection). If you're into cooking, the kitchen is fully equipped and stocked.

There's a clear attention to details everywhere around this place. Everything is made made out of high-quality materials. Whoever designed this place took extra time to make sure that it blends into the original olive grove setting.

The Villa is about 250m up the hill from the the main road from Volos to Afissos, which is just far enough not to be bothered by the traffic (though there's an ocasional donkey that you might hear).

We ran to a local store and and a restaurant in Ano Lechonia (4 minute drive or 15 minute walk) and we met some truly wonderful people there. Dimitris runs a small gas station in the center of the village and he was super helpful with everything (from telling us about the best beaches to visit to helping us order food). Virginia and Nick are two locals who help run the place, and are also extremely nice and helpful. Christina, the owner, was super responsive and extremely easy to communicate with.

We were fortunate to stay at Villa Olive (we might have been one of the first guests to stay here as well). If you're looking for something special for your vacation, this is it. We'll definitely be back (for many years, I hope).

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Pool & landscaping
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your in-depth and informative review. All the helpful information you have included therein will certainly help our future guests. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Olive. We are very proud of our little piece of paradise and try our best to make our guests' stay a pleasant one. We look forward to welcome you and your family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Salut!
Merci de prendre le temps d'écrire votre revue. Nous sommes tres heureux que vous avez trouvez notre villa entièrement équipée pour tous vos besoins pendant votre séjour. L'huile d'olive est de notre jardin et c' est la raison pour laquelle le goût est unique et authentique. Nous espérons que vous et votre famille aurez l'occasion de visiter notre beau pays de nouveau.
Au revoir!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariekeLH
Woerden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De tuin
Liked least: Huis is erg donker
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Villa Olive. We apologise about the absence of the washing machine during your stay. The old one had broken down and we have now replaced it with a new one. We are very happy to know that you and your family had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$235
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing