We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
27
33
13
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
33
13
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location bottled water beautiful hotel amalienborg palace minutes walking room rate spent nights the main shopping street on foot nice room first floor air conditioning front desk staff little mermaid good size free wifi within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not What We had expected.
Disapointed. Not clean. Too expensive. The service was just on the Edge at arrivel. Not Very friendly.
Not for handikaped or any use of wheels ,because the Hotel has just stairs to enter the recepion.

Good- The location is exelent.
The young men who helped with luggage.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank 837lenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, Direktør at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Traveller,
Thank you for visiting Phoenix Copenhagen. We are sorry to read that we did not fulfil your expectations. Our historic building dated back to 1600 does not have a lift going from the street level to our lobby level, sorry. However we are glad to read that your bell boys assisted with luggage and apologies if the entrance steps caused you trouble. We are surprised to read that our staff were not service minded and the hotel not clean. This is normally key points with other positive reviews. We cannot see from this anonymously review when your stay was and the errors occurred. if you like to elaborate on your review, please forward us an e-mail on phoenixcopenhagen@arp-Hansen.dk
Despite stay at Phoenix Copenhagen was not perfect, we hope you had some nice days in Copenhagen and have the opportunity to revisit.
Kind regards
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms-
Comfortable and clean. A nice room and hotel.
There was construction work going on outside and I didn’t sleep at all the first night. However, the staff were very accommodating and changed my room to one the other side of the hotel. Best night’s sleep after that.

Staff-
As mentioned above, accommodating and friendly.

Breakfast-
Cooked and continental available. Dairy-free milk was available upon request.

Location-
Just around the corner from Nyhaven. A beautiful harbour with restaurants and bars, you can also take a boat tour around the city from here (highly recommend!)
Copenhagen is a very small city so everything is within walking distance (Tivoli Gardens, The Little Mermaid, etc).

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank PetiteClochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, Direktør at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your feedback after visiting historic Phoenix Copenhagen. We are glad to read that our wonderful staff were helpful with room move requested and you enjoyed our large breakfast buffet.
We look forward to welcome you back at Phoenix Copenhagen in the future.
Kind regards
Julie Heinen
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff - the bikes are great and very well priced.
The hotel itself could do with a revamp in my opinion specially of the bathrooms - we thought it was a bit overpriced but I guess location is great.
Breakfast was good. The breakfast room not so much.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabriela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, Direktør at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are proud to read that you nice stay at down town Phoenix Copenhagen and found our wonderful staff attentive and helpful.
We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back at Phoenix Copenhagen in the future.
Kind regards
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We were booked here by our travel agent while waiting to board our cruise ship for Iceland and beyond, we found the hotel to be quaint, well situated to the city.
There were a few down sides for us, the entrance has steps, so hard to manage luggage, the biggest yuk for us was the paper cups in the room for a cup of tea, no way in this day should one need to have paper cups in hotel suits....
There were also upsides, the desk staff so nice and helpful, we arrived early morning, they made us welcome, managed our luggage and gave us somewhere to change till the room was ready, nice.
Also the rooms though small and dated were fine, a nice bed, and the shower over the bath was fine, though the step down for older people might be dangerous.
The breakfast was delicious, lots of choice, fresh fruit and other breakfast fare.
Wood we stay again? Absolutely, I am sure there are better but we loved the place.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AlanT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, Direktør at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your feedback and recommendations after staying at Phoenix Copenhagen this summer. We are glad to read that you liked our superb down town location and found our wonderful staff attentive and helpful.
We hope you had a nice cruise and have the opportunity to re-visit Phoenix Copenhagen again in the future.
Kind regards
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at the Phoenix hotel. Its location is central: 3 min walk from Nyhavn, and about an 8 min walk from all the shopping streets and the famous department store (Magasin du Nord). Besides its central location and friendly staff, there is nothing positive about this hotel. The rooms were small and there was hardly any storage space. The cupboard fit 4 trousers max. The rooms are hot in summer. Fortunately, I had read some reviews beforehand and requested a room with an AC. I also knew that the mattresses would be soft so I asked the hotel to find a solution. They put a wooden board underneath it, which made the mattress too hard and uncomfortable. I did appreciate the effort the staff made to accommodate my request. The room did not have a kettle or cups, which is rather surprising for a 4 star hotel. The worst part of it all was the bathroom. The bathroom floor was on the same level as the shower. In other words, when you showered, water spilled all over the bathroom floor because the drain is outside the shower area! I haven’t seen anything like this since I was in a student dorm. I should have brought a mop with me! The bathroom door could not be kept open unless you put something to keep it ajar. It was a dreadful bathroom and we were told the rooms were recently renovated! I can’t imagine how awful they were before. Anyway, the hotel is just bad value for money. I would not recommend staying there.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, Direktør at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Dear Traveller,
Thank you for staying at Phoenix Copenhagen this summer. We are glad to read that you liked our superb down town location.
Rooms at historic Phoenix Copenhagen are available from Single room 12m2 and up to our De Luxe Suites on 60m2. Most of our rooms are with a bathtub. We're apologies if the single standard room you stayed in was not good enough size, a shower not of your taste and bedding not as preferred.
We are sorry to read only now that you'd have enjoyed a kettle and cups in the room during the stay. This can always be arranged when contacting our staff free of charge.
If you like to elaborate on your review please feel free to contact us on our e-mail: phoenixcopenhagen@arp-hansen.dk
Despite 5 nights at Phoenix Copenhagen did not fulfil your expectations, we hope you had a nice time in our Capital and like to re-visit Copenhagen in the future..
Kind regards
Phoenix Copenhagen
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews