We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Vientiane, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel is very well located next to beautiful Nyhavn, harbor, opera, Stroeget, shopping and theater on a quiet street with no traffic.There are lots of good restaurants nearby (we'll rate a few shortly). Check-in was a done in seconds (we'd booked through Internet) and although we arrived 10 AM (check-in is at 2 PM) we got a room. Rooms are big for European standard and well equipped (we only missed the fridge). The breakfast has what you expect and the dinning area is spacious and pleasant. The reception staff are ready to help you with any request, they even chilled our Champagne and provided glasses.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    584
    212
    36
    15
See reviews for
154
575
102
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel is In a great location for walking around Copenhagen - just 5 minutes walk from the walking street Stroget and right around the corner from Nyhaven. It's on a side street in a quiet part of town but still centrally located. The rooms are typical small European sized but the design and friendly staff more than makes up for it. The hotel features Leather Swan chairs and Bestlights, even in the rooms. There are black and white photos of jazz legends in the rooms and around the hotel. The lobby has great modern design including lots of classic Danish design furnishings and a striking blue waterfall and pool. A small cozy bar is off the lobby where they have a small selection of prepared foods if you arrive late and need something to eat. Breakfast is included and it is typical Scandinavian- cheeses, meats, bread, pastry, cereal, eggs and bacon.
One downside of this is hotel is that it is not air conditioned so the rooms can be warm in the summer. The windows open and they do provide fans but becuase the rooms are so small, it can still be warm.

Room Tip: Copenhagen is a party town so it can be loud as people are out and about at night, even on this quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 27Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hptel is very well located - close to Nyhavn and fairly close to the metro as well. Free wifii and breakfast were great too. But front staff is very unfriendly - information provided is very minimal and somehwat unhelpful. One time the front staff lady simply said i cannot take care of you at this t,e - come later !!! Considering that i was there only for 2 days - this was not possible. Clearly front staff training is nonexistent for customer care. But pverall stay was ok - found most of the information i needed online - so just did not deal with the staff more than i needed to. Overall an average stay !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

What a friendly, warm comfortable hotel! The staff spoke excellent English, as do most people in Copenhagen, and were efficient, well-informed and helpful.
Our room was clean and well appointed. It was not large, but it was not cramped either. The en-suite shower room was fully tiled with a good shower, plenty of towels and good quality toiletries.
The bed was comfortable, with good pillows and a quilt each. We did not need the throw, as the room was warm enough. Free wi-fi was provided and much appreciated.
Breakfast was a buffet of hot and cold items - too much to sample on one morning. Lovely cheese, cold meats, crispy bacon and scrambled eggs; there were also boiled eggs and a wide range of bread rolls. Thermos pots of coffee and hot water were provided, as well as fruit juices, fresh fruit salad and cereals. My only disappointment was that I had to brew my tea in the cup, as the hotel did not provide teapots for tea drinkers.
The hotel has an interesting jazz theme of black and white photos in the bedroom and public areas. This includes an interesting video looped on the TV during breakfast.
The location is very central, close to Nyhavn, Kongens Nytorv and transport links to other parts of the city. I would stay here again, with pleasure.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street can be noisy, for anyone who is not used to city living!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We were in room 513, which is on the top floor facing the inner courtyard, furthest away from the elevator. (They met all requests that I made when making the reservation). The room was extremely quiet, and you could not hear anyone else in adjoining rooms. The bed was a queen, and very soft (though if your partner moves, you'll feel the movement). This turned out to be probably the quietest and softest bed we've experienced when traveling across Europe. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

It is an 8 minute walk from the Kongens Nytov metro, and about 10 minutes to Nyhavn and 10 minutes to the Stroget shopping area - a perfect location.

My only complaint about this room would be that the free wi-fi was practically out of range, so we couldn't get a good signal - but they have 2 PCs in the lobby & dining area that makes up for it.

Room Tip: room 513 is extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orbops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Wasn't expecting the Ritz for the price, but I got pretty well what I expected. Location is fantastic. Close to business and tourist venues but very quiet and residential. Price was also pretty low compared to anything else in copenhagen - everything is really expensive here. Price included wifi and breakfast which is a $20 value to me.
Room size surprise me because others have complained about the size but mine was huge. No complaints there at all.
Overall cleanliness and condition of the room was a bit average - almost gave it a 3 star. Toilet had not been cleaned before I moved in and had urine in it. Furniture generally a bit old and knocked around.
Late night check in guy was not what you'd call mr personality, but friendly enough.
Overall I think this is a great low cost option and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I wasn't overly impressed with this hotel. The location was prime, I'll give it that, but I was disappointed with the room. I got the "superior" single room, and failed to see what was so superior about it. The room was tiny and not exactly the cleanest; there were random hairs on my bed and one left over in the shower and the towels smelled funky. The free internet that was advised doesn't work (you'll get a wifi signal, but can't connect. Thankfully there was the local "Cloud" feature where you could get internet.) The "cafe" that was advertised was really a bar that served pre-packaged cold pasta salad and sandwiches, and there' s no mini fridge to store anything in. The staff were helpful, courteous, and friendly, so that helped with the disappointment of having such a tiny room. It's not a terrible hotel, and if you're looking for a fairly clean place to lay your head and that's it, then this is suitable. However, if you're used to a little more out of your accommodations, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: There isn't a fitness center or swimming pool at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smalls21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
257 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,158 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,928 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing