We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nick P
Chatham, United Kingdom

Brilliant location and solid quality

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 26, 2024
You couldn’t fault the location - close to the metro which connects to the airport and within easy walking distance of all the main attractions (and I’m not in my prime, but found the distances comfortable enough). It’s a quiet hotel in a quiet city street. We had the economy room, which wasn’t huge, but it was clean, well decorated and perfectly functional - no complaints at all. The breakfast looked good value if you’re not vegan like we are - perhaps they should offer vegans a reduced price. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable, bed linens good quality and towels soft and full. We both slept very well.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marius R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Huxley Copenhagen, responded to this review
Responded Apr 27, 2024
Dear Nick,
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel! We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write the nice words.
I'm happy to see you loved the location - it is indeed very convenient being in the middle of everything:-)
Our Economy room is definitely to the smaller side and snug if you also have a lot of luggage, but I'm happy to see that this was no issue to you and it joys me to hear that you also liked the decorations:-)
We take pride in both our breakfast and our staff, and we also offer vegan options upon request, however we try to avoid as much food waste as possible:-) Thank you for your kind words about our staff - I'm happy to see you felt helped and attended to. We strive to give all of our guests a pleasant and personal experience.

Once again, thank you for your kind words - I hope we get the chance to be your host if you ever find yourself in Copenhagen again.

All the best,
Marius
Team Huxley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$175
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$126
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Strawberry Hotels
    C$447
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$234
  • eDreams
1.8 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$191
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$198
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$146
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Nyhavn canal
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$138
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Lobby Bar at the Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$69
  • Priceline
0.9 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$132
  • Hotels.com
5.2 km from The Huxley Copenhagen
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Copenhagen
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
82
23
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
82
23
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet street great location close to nyhavn kongens nytorv metro station minute walk danish design central location walking distance quiet hotel excellent breakfast stayed here for nights main attractions little mermaid yogurt huntley bw canal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 109 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2024 via mobile

The hotel had an excellent location for our break to Copenhagen, with a short walk to the metro, which opens up the city.

We received a warm welcome, which was a consistent theme from the staff going forward; they were always polite and friendly.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, though there was no AC. We relied on a radiator to warm up and had to open the window to cool down. However, the open window does expose you a little more to the street noise.

We had rooms with a view of the street. You expect a certain level of ‘street noise’ when staying in a city. The road outside the hotel is actually fairly quiet from vehicles, but you do suffer from groups of people who can be heard passing by or standing outside the nearby bars/restaurants, engaging in merry conversation even with the windows shut, as the soundproofing of the glazing isn’t very good.

On our second night, a Friday, we were heavily disturbed by a nearby bar. The thudding bass of music could be heard until beyond 5:00 am! It’s unbelievable to me that they can be allowed to do this in what feels like a residential area. This isn’t the hotel’s fault, but it was a significant negative to the quality of sleep experienced, which in turn is obviously a big factor in the enjoyment of a stay.

If you’re staying here, don’t have a street-facing room. Everything else about the hotel was good, but there is no compromise to being well rested, which we are not!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Schyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marius R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Huxley Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2024

Dear Andy,
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
I'm happy to hear you found our location excellent, and that you also utilized the metro, which runs 24/7.

It joys me to see that you liked our excellent staff and also our clean and comfortable rooms. I appreciate that you understand that Air Conditioning is not customary in Scandinavia, if you've ever seen our weather:-)

I understand that you aren't satisfied with the soundproofing of the windows, or the fact that there were people in the street during the night, however I'm not quite sure what to tell you; you're staying in the middle - the very middle - of the city. Of course, people are going to be in the bars and engaging in conversations in the streets. That's the capital. I am sorry that you didn't expect this, however that is a part of being in the literal middle of the metropole, and really, the only bar close to the hotel is one pub down on the street, so surely the bass can't have been "thudding". For future reference, we always offer ear plugs in the hotel, and you're alway welcome to stop by the reception to hear about the possibility of a room move if we have any other available!

I hope you will stay with us another time, maybe in a room facing the courtyard then. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We apprreciate all the time you took to write a review of our beautiful hotel!

Warmest regards,
Marius
Team Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2024 via mobile

Good Hotel and within walking distance of all city attractions. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel was very modern and comfortable. Would recommend to anyone wanting 3 days City break to see Copenhagen. The sights and attractions are good and the locals are really nice.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DJE7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marius R, Gæsteservice/reception at The Huxley Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2024

Dear DJE7777,
Thank you for your review! I'm very happy to see you enjoyed the brilliant location of the hotel, close to all the major attractions, as well as our friendly staff.
It's always good to hear that our team helped to make your stay memorable, and we're happy to see you also enjoyed the modern, comfortable rooms as well.
Thank you sincerely for your recommendation, that's very kind of you!

We hope to have you back another time in wonderful Copenhagen!

Best regards,
Marius
Team Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2024 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay at the Huxley. The room was incredible with lovely furniture, the lobby really nice and we loved having a cheeky late night drink at the bar. But the absolute highlight of the stay was the team. The person who checked us in was really lovely and made us feel so welcome, and later at night we also got great advice from from another man and a lady that absolutely made our stay. This gentlemen's recommendations were absolutely spot on !
It was a special occasion, and the surprise we got at check in was so appreciated !
A million thanks to the fabulous team at the Huxley !
Camille & Thomas

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CamillePSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marius R, Gæsteservice/reception at The Huxley Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2024

Dear Camille,
Thank you so much for your great review and kind words. I'm joyed to see that you found the rooms nice; they were just recently renovated and look very stylish and modern now:-) We're glad you enjoyed our cozy lobby and got the chance to get drinks in our Huxley Lounge Bar, which is open 24/7:-)
Thank you so much for your very kind words about our team - we take great pride in having such a strong team spirit, and we always hope to see that this also reflects on the guest experience. We want to make sure all your needs are met, if you need recommendations or general tips about Copenhagen, customer service or anything else.
I'm happy to see you enjoyed your surprise at check-in, it's good to hear that the extra step helped make your stay that much better!
A million thanks to you for being our fabulous guests, we really hope to see you back another time, and we're happy that we got to be a part of your memorable Copenhagen experience.

All the best, with smiles,
Marius
Team Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2024

Very central! Great location! Great service! Very comfortable! We asked to check in early at 11am and they did it with no hassle at all! Very friendly staff! Great ritual products also in the bathroom! Very close to nyhaven and walking distance to most landmarks!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paryanbillabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marius R, Gæsteservice/reception at The Huxley Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2024

Dear Paryanbillabone,
Thank you so much for your review and your kind words about our hotel; we greatly appreciate the time you took to write this!
I'm so happy to see you enjoyed the location, comfort and bathroom amenities!
We always want to make sure our guests feel luxurious when staying with us, and we of course always do our best to make sure guests can check-in early, depending on availability. I'm happy it worked out for you!

Once again, thank you for your kind message; we hope you want to stay with us again next time you're in Copenhagen.

All the best,
Marius
Team Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2023

Lovely Boutique hotel, modern interior with everything you need. Our room was small but we knew this when we booked. Ideal for a weekend away. Clean, with Comfortable beds, warm room, modern shower some toiletries, enough towels. Everything you need for breakfast hot or cold delicious! Staff were polite, well dressed in uniforms and the co owner (sorry didn’t get her name) was a joy to talk with. Our room view overlooks the front cobbled street. Small pub on the corner of the road, and a 5 min walk to Nyhavn canal area with the bustle of outdoor dining, beautiful coloured buildings, quaint restaurants with lots of choices. It’s a great location to wander night and day. Xmas markets, shops, food hall at Tivoli gardens. “Bastard cafe” if you fancy some board games and a beer, quite unique. Catch the hop on/off bus and boat tour or use the bikes parked outside. Andy Peters from TV this morning filmed in the area showing off its picture postcard looks! Its real gem would definitely stay again! ….take the train to Malmo in Sweden next time approx 30 mins away! Thanks for a great stay!

Room tip: I think a bike tour would definitely give you even more of the Copenhagen experience! If time allows the train to Malmo.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank heidisN4212MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marius Ryberg, Guest Services / Front Office at The Huxley Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2024

Dear Heidi,
First of all, we want to thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We're super happy to see you enjoyed our boutique style and cozy rooms. It's fantastic to see that we satisfied you both with our amenities, superb staff and cleanliness. Eva is absolutely a joy! We agree with all your recommendations about the hotel, both Bastard Café and the Tivoli Gardens, as well as the day trip to Malmö.

Once again, thank you for your kind words! It's always great to hear that we impress our guests, and we do of course hope that you want to come back if you ever make your way around Copenhagen again.

All the best,
Marius
Team Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews