We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I found a real gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This hotel is certainly among the best hotels I've been to. Everything was simply perfect! The building is by itself impressive from the outside. And from the inside, it has a lot of charm with the mix of stone walls and wooden beams. An excellent romantic atmosphere.

We had a spacious room with a beautiful view on the opera and the water. Fabulous!

When going back to Copenhagen, I will not even search for another hotel, I will go to this one without hesitation!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnergizeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,542 - 2,548 of 4,180 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

This hotel is a genuine disaster which is a real shame: it has so much potential. What appears to have happened is that all the effort as gone into the restaurant SALT to the point where management seems to have forgotten the hotel. The result is a level of service that makes Fawlty Towers look well-run.

A partial list of the disasters on out particular trip included:

1. There was no help with the luggage when we checked in. I enjoy juggling a 6-months old baby, prams, suitcases, and miscellanous hand-luggage.

2. The baby cot we had ordered (and paid for) was not in our room when we arrived. Two hours and four calls to reception later, it was still not in our room. By then our baby was very tired and crying.

3. There was no towel for the baby -- we had to steal one from the cleaner's trolly every day as there was no way to have it delivered automatically. What were we supposed to do -- hang the baby from the balcony to dry?

4. Ordering room service was a nightmare: the poor girl taking the order apparently had no copy of the menu and coudn't get it right. I had to spell out the order. Three times. in two languages. A small point, but the staff seems to be completely adrift and without the tools and training to make the place work.

5. The furniture is all expensive danish wood. Lovely, except that it doesn't work. The doors of the cupboards do not close, the extension of the table do not open, .... And don't get me started on those beds! I ended up sleeping on the floor.

6. At this price level (we paid £205/$331 per night) I expect a bottle of water or a piece of fruit in the room, as well as a Nesresso coffee machine or similar. Instead there is nothing.

Which leads to the gripe that everything costs at this hotel, and costs a lot. Internet access is DKK 50 (US$10) for two hours and the connection is so slow it is unusable for business. Room service is eye-wateringly expensive. For the supplement we had to pay for a cot in a week, we could have bought a cot outright. The minibar is one of those contraptions with electronic sensors where if you blow on the goods they automatically charge you on your bill.

It presents itself as a four star hotel, but the serive in the lobby is a vending machine. Yes, really. Like in the train stations (or Greyhound stations). Handy for that forgotten toothpaste, perhaps, but a grim experience though perhaps better than having to deal with the hotel staff who seem (rightly) to have given up all hope for the place.

By all means go to the restaurant which is adventurous if a little too heavy on the signature ingredient for our tastes, but avoid the hotel at all costs. Top tip: stay in Malmo instead which has nice hotels and the train journey is really lovely and quite short.

Room Tip: Get the canal view if you like opera as you can hear from across the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xyzzy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I've been traveling a lot and used trip advisor many times to organize my trips...however I've never opened an account to give my opinions. Admiral Hotel was the place which made me decide to finally participate !

it was a real disappointment.

the positive side :
- very good location, walking distance to center / in front of water/opera house with some very nice walks around
- nice typical building from the outside and on the ground floor
- nice breakfast. Not the best of the best but fresh products with large quantities of everything. It was a good surprise.

the negative sides :
- very bad services. We went there in June, the hotel was full of touristic groups, the service was really bad. Everytime we wanted to speak to the front desk we had to queue and wait for 10-15 minutes...irreal in such a 4 star hotel ! the staff is quite rude, overwhelmed with work. no smile, no nice words, just some sharp cold answers to any question you might have.
- the rooms are incredibly smal, old, dusty, hot. We had to change 3 times our room as the ones they were giving us didn't correspond to what we booked on internet. We asked for a baby bed... and in order to put the baby bed in the room they had to take out an armchair !
- the room was close to the elevators and all day/night long you could hear them going up and down, with very bad isolation.
- as expected in Copenhagen in June the nights were short but the only curtain was old, dirty and didnt cover any light, so that at 4 in the morning it was already full light in the room (fantastic for a baby)
- bed are not confortable, rooms are hot, furniture is old. carpets are dusty. windows are smal... the building itself is nice, the views are nice, but keep in mind that in such an historical fishery building, you cannot expect any large rooms.
- you had to pay high price for any extra...from internet (there are 2 old computers in the lobby at the disposal of a few hundreds clients...) to a shaving kit. definitly not what you expect in a "4 star" hotel.
- room cleaning was very partial, with some towels left on the floor of the room !

all in all we were very negatively surprised by the poor efficiency/organization at the hotel, the bad service from the staff and the rooms which are worth a 1 star hotel ! ..all of this for 300 euros per night !!

Would definitly not go back.

Room Tip: dont go there...and if you have no choice, take a room on high floor, facing the water..still that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairview16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel has a lot of charm as it is an old converted warehouse. There is no AC so the option in the summer is opening the patio door and requesting an electric fan. The lower floors are more subject to street noise hence ask for floors 5 or 6. The reason for staying here is LOCATION - close to everything. he concierge was very helpful and suggested great restaurant, just as well as we found the food to be very poor and expensive at "Salt" the restaurant on site.

The included breakfast was adequate but the room was cafeteria like. I would agree with others that this is a best a 3 star property but an ideal base for a couple of days of sightseeing

Room Tip: Get upgraded to a higher level harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The location is fantastic, just by the Neyhaven area (colored houses). We did most of the things by foot, since the city is not that big. One day we also rented bikes from the hotel and discovered bigger parts of the town by bike. A fantastic way to cover the further areas.
Sometimes I had the impression the reservation department was a bit confused and not so professional, we had customers here, and we had to make a couple of calls to make sure the billing instructions were done right.
The breakfast buffet was rather impersonal and looked like a mass tourism hall.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I recently spent 4 nites while on a quick business trip. Having read previous reviews I pretty much knew what to expect and was not disappointed with the accomodations in any way.

Even though I arrived at the hotel midmorning I was able to obtain a room with only a 15 minute wait. That was a relief as I desperately wanted to take a brief nap. The hotel is located waterfront and just a short walk to Nyhavn. If you enjoy taking pictures and exploring you have found an ideal location.

The room was quite adequate, although it seemed a bit warm at times. However, by leaving the balcony door just slightly ajar at nite I slept very comfortably. I also appreciated the handheld shower head in the bathroom, that is something that I miss in most hotels.

At first look, the bed seemed a little unusual. It had a puffy, down comforter on it that you slept on. I have to say though, that it was very comfortable to sleep on and in the morning my back was not stiff and sore as it is at home. I may just look for such a comforter for my own bed.
I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful during my stay. The first morning I arose about 6 AM, and ventured to the lobby to see if there was somewhere to get a coffee. I inquired at the front desk and in just a moment a gentleman appeared with a large, piping hot coffee. This scenario was repeated on sunsequent mornings.

I greatly enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justchuckfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Had a reservation for a junior suite, checked in with 4 big Suitcases, had to ask for a trolley and had to carry luggage by myself.
Housekeeping poor, just made the bed but didn't clean or refill anything. had to ask for tissues etc.
mattresses worn out and soft, slates of bed frame not in order, so mattress went through.

Only highlight has been the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy-Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
354 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
353 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,350 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,662 reviews
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#10 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $190 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing