We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Admiral Hotel / Copenhagen New Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our family of Mum, Dad, Daughters 15 & 6, Son 13 travelled to Europe for our X-mas Holidays this year.

I had stayed at the Admiral and Copenhagen before and wanted to bring my family for a visit.

The location of the Admirial is perfect for a Copenhagen city visit being close to:
- Nyhavn - the habour area with all its great resturants - 5 min walk
- The Little Mermaid is a short walk away - 20 - 30 min walk
- The Royal Palace is very close - 5 min walk
- The wonderful walking street shopping area i also nearby - 10 min walk

Be prepared - the Admiral Hotel is a converted Grain Storage Warehouse over 300 years old - this means the rooms are cosy (meaning small) but the location is Prime.

Ask for a room on the harbour side as the view is much better.

There is a convenience store very close to buy drinks and snacks to save some money. Be aware the Mini Bar Fridges are linked to the computer system to tell if you have taken something. Make sure you replace everything if you take things out to keep your own drinks cold or you may get charged for the entire mini bar.

The kids loved Copenhagen - one of their favourite places in Euorpe so far. For Ki the smallest child this was due to all of the fireworks on New Years Eve, my 14 year old boy loved the Architechture and the feel of the city, for my 15 year old daughter and wife it was the shopping (surprise, surprise).

Everyone loved the Admiral and we will go back when in Copenhagen next.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the harbour side - don't be suprised to go to bed with a view of the sea and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derekb070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,540 - 2,546 of 4,317 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

Right on the harbor view a view of the magnificent Royal Opera, only steps away from Amalienborg, the royal residence, and a few blocks from the bustle and charm of Nyhavn, the Admiral Hotel is situated perfectly to take advantage of many of the best treasures in Copenhagen.

The hotel's rustic elegance greets you in the lobby with solid wooden structural beams and stunning model ship displays, a nod to the city's nautical roots. At the reception, the staff is professional, friendly and helpful. In two instances, our requests were accommodated without delay. First (and most unfortunately) we informed the staff of an odor from our bathroom. We were moved immediately to another room down the hall. The next morning when we requested two rental strollers (prams) for our young children, the gentleman at reception located a rental service within 15 minutes and the strollers were delivered by the time we were finished with breakfast.

Our family room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate. We enjoyed the diverse and plentiful breakfast buffet before heading to Amelianborg Palace, where we saw the Life Guard post change. From there, we spent a full, relaxing day on foot, heading over to the Rosenborg Slot, down to Tivoli, then back to the hotel by way of the fabulous shops on Ostergade and through Nyhavn.

Back at the hotel, the kids were tuckered out, so we ordered room service from the hotel restaurant, Salt, and the food was excellent. We had a restful sleep, as our room was quiet and the bed comfortable.

One other plus worth noting is that the hotel offers free parking out front. The only downside was the lack of a swimming pool, though on a trip as short as ours, it wasn't missed much.

We adore Copenhagen and the friendliness of the Danish people. The Admiral Hotel reflects the best parts of the city in its service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SchatziGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times in summer and in winter and always found a warm welcome without the sense of being fawned over. The hotel itself is a converted warehouse and the rooms retain many of the original features, the massive wooden beams supporting the roof in the rooms on the upper levels.

The Salt restaurant is worth a visit as the quality of the service and the cuisine is of a high standard.

The hotel is situated on the harbour and this makes for an excellent evening walk after dinner.

One of the best hotels in Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view - that is the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Cool place with good bar and restaurant. Both accessible by the public so bar a bit busy but great cocktails!

The rooms and public areas were smart and modern but bathrooms a bit dated, could do with a refresh.

Room Tip: Get a room on the water side and avoid first floor over the bar - rooms around 120 probably ones to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripperLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This former warehouse was converted sympathetically into a unique and special place to stay some years back and retains it's cosy welcoming atmosphere. The lady at reception (Christina) delivered outstanding customer service for a fairly large hotel, with her friendly genuine 'can do' attitude...she always addressed me by name during every interaction, this goes a long way in making a guest feel special and valued and this feeling I take away with me.
The rooms are all unique and cosy with exposed wooden beams and lovely open view across the harbour, which used to welcome the ferries from Malmo, Sweden...there is now a bridge.
The bathroom could have done with an update and perhaps a heated floor...the tiles although cooling in summer were freezing cold on a February morning.
Breakfast was busy but substantial and regularly restocked by the attentive friendly staff.
My favourite place to stay in Copenhagen

Room Tip: Harbour view, higher floor...if you want lots of natural light ask the balcony 'style' windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aloisw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have stayed there many times, and always loved the atmosphere. Small but nice rooms, great restaurant (and wine!). My favorite place in Copenhagen

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dohan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This very old warehouse on the harbour front has been made into a very speciale hotel some years ago. Very rustique and authentic towards its former use.
Just across the water is the magnificent Opera house - and you can cross the water with the hotels boat in the evening to enjoy a performance.
All the rooms have the big wooden constructions inside - so you can await a very special impression when opening the door.
Good restaurant (SALT) and a very nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roarmaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
402 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#7 of 118 in Copenhagen
455 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,746 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#10 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: C$205 - C$632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing