We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,739)
Filter reviews
4,739 results
Traveller rating
1,433
2,108
790
282
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,433
2,108
790
282
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden beamsopera housesalt restaurantconverted warehouselittle mermaidgreat locationroyal palaceharbour viewclose to nyhavnwater viewjunior suitelarge hotelbreakfast buffetmini baron footdouble bedrooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
2,862 - 2,867 of 4,739 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Right on the harbor view a view of the magnificent Royal Opera, only steps away from Amalienborg, the royal residence, and a few blocks from the bustle and charm of Nyhavn, the Admiral Hotel is situated perfectly to take advantage of many of the best treasures in Copenhagen.

The hotel's rustic elegance greets you in the lobby with solid wooden structural beams and stunning model ship displays, a nod to the city's nautical roots. At the reception, the staff is professional, friendly and helpful. In two instances, our requests were accommodated without delay. First (and most unfortunately) we informed the staff of an odor from our bathroom. We were moved immediately to another room down the hall. The next morning when we requested two rental strollers (prams) for our young children, the gentleman at reception located a rental service within 15 minutes and the strollers were delivered by the time we were finished with breakfast.

Our family room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate. We enjoyed the diverse and plentiful breakfast buffet before heading to Amelianborg Palace, where we saw the Life Guard post change. From there, we spent a full, relaxing day on foot, heading over to the Rosenborg Slot, down to Tivoli, then back to the hotel by way of the fabulous shops on Ostergade and through Nyhavn.

Back at the hotel, the kids were tuckered out, so we ordered room service from the hotel restaurant, Salt, and the food was excellent. We had a restful sleep, as our room was quiet and the bed comfortable.

One other plus worth noting is that the hotel offers free parking out front. The only downside was the lack of a swimming pool, though on a trip as short as ours, it wasn't missed much.

We adore Copenhagen and the friendliness of the Danish people. The Admiral Hotel reflects the best parts of the city in its service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SchatziGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times in summer and in winter and always found a warm welcome without the sense of being fawned over. The hotel itself is a converted warehouse and the rooms retain many of the original features, the massive wooden beams supporting the roof in the rooms on the upper levels.

The Salt restaurant is worth a visit as the quality of the service and the cuisine is of a high standard.

The hotel is situated on the harbour and this makes for an excellent evening walk after dinner.

One of the best hotels in Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view - that is the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Cool place with good bar and restaurant. Both accessible by the public so bar a bit busy but great cocktails!

The rooms and public areas were smart and modern but bathrooms a bit dated, could do with a refresh.

Room Tip: Get a room on the water side and avoid first floor over the bar - rooms around 120 probably ones to avoid.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripperLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This former warehouse was converted sympathetically into a unique and special place to stay some years back and retains it's cosy welcoming atmosphere. The lady at reception (Christina) delivered outstanding customer service for a fairly large hotel, with her friendly genuine 'can do' attitude...she always addressed me by name during every interaction, this goes a long way in making a guest feel special and valued and this feeling I take away with me.
The rooms are all unique and cosy with exposed wooden beams and lovely open view across the harbour, which used to welcome the ferries from Malmo, Sweden...there is now a bridge.
The bathroom could have done with an update and perhaps a heated floor...the tiles although cooling in summer were freezing cold on a February morning.
Breakfast was busy but substantial and regularly restocked by the attentive friendly staff.
My favourite place to stay in Copenhagen

Room Tip: Harbour view, higher floor...if you want lots of natural light ask the balcony 'style' windows...there are only a few of these.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aloisw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stayed there many times, and always loved the atmosphere. Small but nice rooms, great restaurant (and wine!). My favorite place in Copenhagen

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dohan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews