We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My usual choice for business meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Kiruna
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“My usual choice for business meeting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I have regularly been using the Copenhagen Admiral Hotel for business meetings. After a long period of non-Danish meeting places, actually almost 7 years, I returned to the hotel for yet some further meetings. I say that the hotel maintains a good quality and service level and that the restaurant is even better than what I rembered. Although on business only, I like the very central location. A metro exist now between the airport and the city centre. A short walk then concludes the journey to the hotel. I have stayed in most types of rooms and these are ok, though not really spectacular. Unfortunately I got one this time opposite the elevators, and that annoyed me somewhat. Reason being that they had equipped the lifts with (I guess) relaxing music while going up or down. However, this was hearable into the room and when a lift stopped outside at 02:30 in the morning, it was really difficult to sleep. The second night, I considered going out to push the down button but decided not to since you never know when it comes back with guests.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the elevators. Sea view is nice though the window is small. The junior suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAND1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    1,725
    620
    209
    98
See reviews for
539
1,684
138
809
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spent a weekend at the Admiral hotel arriving on Friday and checking out on Monday in April 2012. Our expectations were very high, because many people have praised this hotel.

When we checked in, the reception was quite cold, not very welcoming. Then we went to the lobby bar to celebrate our short weekend holiday, and the service was even more ignoring.

Our rooms were clean, but quite small. Minibar was quite OK. Our booking promised WiFi access included, but we had to pay about 20 EUR for the weekend.

The breakfast was OK, but not luxurious. There wasn't any fish, shrimps, or other seafood cold cuts you usually expect in Nordic hotels.

The best part of this hotel is the great location at the Nyhavn area, close to Freetown Christian, restaurants, shopping streets etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view on the higher floors. Othet rooms face a boring street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tero Lehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I spent five nights in this converted 18th century warehouse. We were attracted by its unusual architecture and its historic associations - for what it's worth, the 1801 Battle of Copenhagen, when Admiral Nelson pummelled the city as punishment for Danish support for Napoleon, was fought just outside. (In fact the hotel blurb says that some of the damage can still be seen, but we did not spot any.) Our room was imaginatively appointed with some of the massive wooden beams that support the structure very prominent. The room overlooked the waterfront, with the modern opera house centre-stage on the far bank. It was also very quiet, with no internal noise. The staff were exceedingly polite and helpful. We ate in the in-house restaurant, called 'Salt', on our first evening; the quality of the meal, and the service, were of the highest standard.

But in our opinion, it was in the mornings that the restaurant really excelled. The breakfast buffet was the most comprehensive I have encountered. Despite being busy - it is a very large hotel when all is said and done - tables were cleared very quickly, and a fresh insulated pot of coffee placed there in readiness for the next guests. Thus it stayed hot until I was ready for it, which is towards the end of my meal. Normally with breakfast buffets you get the coffee as soon as you sit down and it is only luke-warm by the time I get to it. As for the choice of food on offer, I would defy anyone to hanker after something not on offer. No need to spell it all out, but I would highlight the pastries - Danish of course!

One word of caution. The hotel is slightly out of the city centre. It was not a problem for us because we like to walk. The nearest sight is the famous and exceedingly pretty Nyhavn with its countless bars and restaurants overlooking a watery inlet. It is about 3 minutes away. But the main shopping district is 10-20 minutes away, the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens about 30, as is the Little Mermaid (in the opposite direction). Public transport is efficient and frequent, once you have figured out how to pay for it. Best to get a card with 10 trips on it, or 5 trips for two people. But even then the nearest metro station or bus stops are 10 minutes away from the hotel.
Be warned if you are arriving by metro from the airport with lots of luggage!

Room Tip: View of the waterfront is the most interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

If you like something special--this is the hotel to go!
All the bedding was wonderful and the room was very cosy!
The hotel restaourant was really good-we had pre-arranged dinner and I havent had so wonderful meal for some time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kairekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We always read the comments at tripadvisor when choosing the hotel. The comments about Admiral differed a lot. We stayed at Admiral 2 nights at April and haven't found anything negative to say. The staff was very friendly, location great, room spacious and clean and breakfast was wonderful. The breakfast and bar were pricey, but the prices were high allover at Copenhagen.

Room Tip: You don't need to have a sea view. It was little bit ugly, to be honest. I recommend a room at u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent two nights in Admiral Hotel with our baby. The room was very nice and we were fond of the interior decoration. We had a nice large room with well enough space for the crib. This was not the smallest room they offer though.

The breakfast was fabulous, one of the best we've had anywhere. In the restaurant there were high chairs for small children available.

Only bad thing considering families with small children was that in the rooms there was no way to heat water to warm up food or to make an evening porridge for the baby. How ever, this was no problem as the service at the hotel was good and we were able to heat the meals at the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Very nice room (standard room), and we had a babybed at no extra cost. The babybed was not to great, so check the bed out if you are in need of one as well..

Great brekfast, (the fee is not included) - But it's worth it!

Very good service from the staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing