We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised after reading bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Good Morning Copenhagen Star
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The hotel was a pleasant surprise after we read some bad reviews and were somewhat hesitant about staying there. Our room on the second floor was small and basic ((but good value for the price) but clean and generally quiet despite the fact that it overlooked the garden courtyard and smoking area where voices carry (early in the morning we were subjected to a lengthy conversation). The hotel is conveniently located, being with easy walking distance of the train station, Tivoli Gardens and other places of general interest. Although renovations appear to be ongoing, the general state of the hotel was fine - unlike numerous recent reviews with complaints about the carpets, breakfast etc. The breakfast room was crowded but the staff were friendly and did their best to satisfy guests, and the food perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor overlooking the garden courtyard is generally very quiet although voices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

My branch company book for me and 2 suppliers I was with for us. The hotel is very simple and they are doing at the moment some works to renovate. The room I stay was small, windows r not double glass so u hear everything. Breakfast is ok but not so many choices. The hotel is situated in what they call ex red district.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Neo8273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Great location as this is across the road from the main train station. Perfect for when getting the train from the airport straight into the heart of Copenhagen. Rooms were basic, clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff.

I was upgraded to a large room which had 2 medium size beds as well as comfortable bunk beds. Lots of space. Wish i had brought my kids with me.

There's a good friendly restaurant downstairs that serves burgers etc. Try Urban House across the road which also has great burgers and beer, as well as some great Thai and Japanese places less 100m away.

The road looks a little seedy at night the further you go down, as expected so close to the train station.
Go towards the square on the left for some great places to eat and drink with outdoor seating.

Room Tip: Try and get a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I cannot understand the people who give the Copenhagen Star a poor review (usually on spurious grounds such as 'my room was small'). For a European 3-star hotel it's pretty good.
Sure, the rooms are quite compact, but it represents good value. It's close to the railway station and is on several cross-city bus routes. It's clean, it's efficient and all the staff we encountered in four days were helpful - quite an achievement when we know it was booked out at the time. The breakfast offered is ample. The breakfast room gets very crowded, but that's mostly because people eat later (ie after 9) because most attractions only open at 10. Our only serious complaint at the Copenhagen Star was that smokers make breakfasting in the garden impossible for non-smokers, which is just wrong. Why should they enjoy a monopoly on the garden?
The hotel has rooms that face the street and rooms that face the garden courtyard. On the inside, you can hear noise early in the morning from inconsiderate neighbours (eg emptying their glass recycling) - though the double-glazed windows are quite effective, in summer you'd like to leave them open.
The hotel asks guests to complete a questionnaire, so it's quite keen to spot areas for improvements, I think. It deserves better than some of the nick-picking reviews on this site, I think submitted by people who have no understanding of what else is on offer at the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the garden - noisy neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

I was concerned about staying here from previous reviews however it was the perfect pit stop for a few nights in Copenhagen. My husband and I stayed here for two nights, the room was small but clean and had all the amenities that we needed. The beds very comfy and rooms quiet so we slept well. The staff were friendly enough and the restaurant we had dinner in one night was very good food for a good price in Copenhagen even if it lacked a little atmosphere.

If your looking for a cheap stop to explore the city this place ticked all the boxes. For the price we couldn't have asked for more- the location was brilliant we walked everywhere we wanted to go and so close to Central Station.

If your looking for a 5* hotel this isn't it but at that price you shouldn't expect it. Copenhagen is expensive if you do your research before you book you'll know this and won't over expect for a perfectly charming little hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 11.30am and told room was not ready and asked to come back between 1 & 2pm got back just after 3pm got the key and the room was still not ready as they were moving furniture. Crumbs on the floor and the room looked nothing like the photos of a triple standard room on their website very disappointing
Breakfast was not to bad but would advise eating early.
Photos are of the hallway which don't look nice for a hotel.
Location is good and handy being close to the station.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

The one good thing about this hotel is the location, it is right near the Copenhagen Central station, so easy to get to other places and good to use as a hub.

The bad points are many.
The room is sparse, with barely enough curtain to block out the 24hr street lights across the road, the street is noisy and has regular noises like fireworks/drums going until 2300.

There are people running up and down the hallway all night, last night there sounded like there was someone jumping down the stair well every hour from a great height.

The bathroom is tiny, I could possibly shower on the toilet and the shower recess is mouldy.

Housekeeping is terrible, they took our collection of recycling, which was on the bedhead, nowhere near the rubbish bin but left a lot of small pieces of plastic and paper that was near the bin untouched. I called reception and made them return it. The kids love using the automatic recycling machines when we are in Europe.
The bathroom shower recess has mould. See enclosed picture.

Reception staff seem uninterested and unable to provide travellers with information regarding the area.

There is a coffee machine downstairs in the reception area that looks coin operated but currently seems to be out of service as it's not even switched on.

The lift is old and feels unsteady when you enter, it is really only big enough for 4 people or two people with baggage so if you don't absolutely need to take the elevator, take the stairs always.

The WiFi is terrible quality and drops out regularly, it makes getting information for your day really hard and wastes a great deal of my time while I juggle two children.

The breakfast area is small, badly set up and staffed by people who shouldn't be in customer service. We were greeted this morning by, "We close in half an hour...".

Plates are taken away before you are finished with them.

The buffet style of breakfast doesn't really cover all avenues for patrons.

I asked about the availability of a banana to squash and feed my six month old baby with yogurt and was pointed to the banana chips.... I don't see how that fulfils my needs. There was watermelon and grapes available but not suitable. Other hotels I've attended have had baby food available at breakfast and all have had bananas available, fresh ones, not dried chips.

We attended on a cold and wet day and had to wait while a table was cleared as the staff were too busy standing at the entrance having a chat.

The outdoor area would be nice to sit in but the seating is unsuitable for someone having breakfast in, more lounge style chair and too many smokers anyway.

The chairs in the breakfast area need re upholstering.

There is only one non-commercial toaster available for the entire breakfast so if you want toast it takes for ever to do and then you end up blocking the flow of the breakfast area as you wait for it.

The scrambled eggs are dry, no matter what time of day you are there to eat them, that is just how they serve them.

They have these ridiculously tiny breakfast sausages, they probably think they are saving money serving these. See picture.

There is a 50 DKK charge for taking things away from the table, which they say they will provide you some fruit and a bottle of water but no fruit or water have appeared.

Plates are not clean, I had to brush a hair from the plate I picked up this morning and the bowl I picked up this morning had a piece of dried chive stuck to it.

The hotel is very close to the red light district of Copenhagen, that's ok if that is what you're looking for but maybe not a positive if you're travelling with family. If you exit the hotel and turn left, down the street is where you will find it.

I'm not even finished my stay here, there may be more things I need to add about this hell hole later.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KDavids0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#59 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,037 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#71 of 118 in Copenhagen
524 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#52 of 118 in Copenhagen
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
#57 of 118 in Copenhagen
985 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#62 of 118 in Copenhagen
752 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Morning Copenhagen Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Morning Copenhagen Star

Address: Colbjoernsensgade 13, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $116 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Morning Copenhagen Star 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copenhagen Star Hotel is situated just 100 meters from the Central Station, to which you can arrive to in only 12 minutes by train from the airport. You find yourself in the pulsating Vesterbro district, with a lot of cozy cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Good Morning Copenhagen Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norlandia Star Copenhagen
Hotel Norlandia Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing