We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,862)
Filter reviews
1,867 results
Traveller rating
705
736
292
99
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
736
292
99
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco hotel central station the red light district organic breakfast four poster bed strip club small balcony toilet paper meatpacking district street noise tivoli gardens the meat packing district loved this hotel two blocks superior room single room friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 1,867 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2016

Good location convenient to attractions and station. It's a bit old but clean and the staff make an effort to look after their guests. Nothing super standout but I would go back as it has a good balanced scorecard. Also they have tried to theme some of the rooms which is a bit of fun

Room tip: Mention access requirements when booking as some rooms require longish walk with bags from old lifts
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChapmanCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

Such a cute setup very tropical, yet eco friendly in all terms and top quality in each detail.

Very impressed seeing how much the details has been paid attention to.

Makes a fellow guy in the same field very happy!

Well done and highly recommended!!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank mhllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Guldsmeden in December for a pre-Christmas getaway and was not disappointed! The hotel was about 20 minutes from the airport by taxi, when we arrived one of the only downfalls was that we were not aware that the location of this hotel was that it is very close to the red light district! So please be aware if you are staying with young children.

Check in was simple, however I do wish that the receptionist had told us about the hotel spa and the facilities at the hotel.

The room certainly however did not disappoint, a large four poster bed, living space, sofa and an Apple Mac in the room. The bed was very comfortable and the only very minor drawback of the room is the bathroom, which was very small.

The hotel is all very sustainable and the breakfast is very nice. It is easy to walk to Tivoli gardens and Nyhavn was about 30 minute walk away.

On the whole a very pleasant stay, would stay again!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Me and my partner stayed here for NYE last year for 2 nights and we had an amazing stay! The hotel is about a 3min walk from Central Station which was ideal, the staff were very friendly on arrival and allowed us to delay check in and take us straight to our room as we were very tired as we had a very early flight from London. The room was very nicely decorated and definitely made us feel very cosy especially that time of year in Copenhagen it can get very cold! There was underfloor heating in the bathroom and the bed was really comfortable, the room was on the slightly smaller side but for a short stay we didn't really mind. The lobby again was decorated well and carried through that cosy vibe.

That evening we were able to get reservations at the hotel restaurant for the special NYE menu which was great as most places had already sold out. We enjoyed a beautifully cooked dinner with selected wines to match. We were also able to go out and see the NYE fireworks and return afterwards to have champagne in the lobby. The receptionist recommended to go to the nearby lakes about a 5min walk from the hotel to see the best fireworks and avoid the hectic scenes in the town square. This was a great idea and we got to see an array of fireworks, both put on by the council and also from locals doing there own displays.

The next day we were pretty hungover (NYE night before) so we decided to use the spa they had. I think we paid around £30 each to use the spa and you could use it as many times and stay for as long as we wished which was great. The spa was definitely worth the money and was quite large considering the size of the hotel. There was a steam room, sauna. a deep jacuzzi bath and also a cold turkish-style tub. Mud masks, fresh fruit and cold water were also supplied in the spa and there was also a lounging area within the spa to relax. This was so relaxing and worth every penny, probably one of the best spas I have been to as it had a more intimate and unique vibe compared to large chain style spa's.

That evening we went out for dinner in the city centre and visited Tivoli Gardens. Tivoli Gardens is well worth a visit and looked amazing at night with all the Christmas lights up, we also happened to arrive just in time for a firework display put on by Tivoli Gardens which was nice. We then returned to the hotel and had a bottle of fizz out on the terrace for our last night. (It was of course very cold however we had heaters, blankets and we wrapped up warm!)

Overall we had a perfect stay at Axel Guldsmeden, the staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs, the decor and vibe of the hotel was great and Copenhagen is a beautiful and vibrant city, we will definitely be returning and staying at Axel. We are actually staying at another Guldsmeden hotel in Oslo in a couple of months and hope that we love it just as much as we loved this one!

Room tip: Perhaps get a room on the second floor, we stayed on the ground floor and it got quite loud at night but we didn't mind.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is beautifully warm and welcoming! You'll always find an organic apple waiting for you and fragranced water for the extra hydration you need while roaming this city.
The rooms are cosy, bali-like and the bathrooms are really nice. It's nothing fancy but very cute overall. The ecological products are simply amazing!
Definitely must try their breakfast with scrambled eggs from happy hens, gluten free cakes, bio cheese selection, tahini and honey and all things tasty, healthy and sweet!
For an extra charge per person per stay you get access to their spa which is not a hyperbole but a down to earth little zen-den!
The stuff is really polite and the service is excellent.
A great choice, right next to Tivoli garden and very close to the shopping district

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Vanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews