We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, clean, Spartan place to park yourself while touring the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #4 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great, clean, Spartan place to park yourself while touring the city”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My 16-year-old son and I are still here and am already compelled to say great things about the Bethel. First, about the accommodations. I've had dorm rooms that are more lavishly decked out. Our room was basically a small rectangle with enough room for two twin beds, a small desk, and a bench with a drawer. The closet consisted of a hanger on the wall. The bathroom was about 16' x 16' with the shower simply a head on the wall surrounded by a curtain.

Sounds awful, right? Well sure, if you were expecting the Ritz, or a romantic spa. But if you were expecting a clean hotel in a great location, a simple, comfortable place to sleep and clean up, and not pay an arm and a leg for it, the Hotel Bethel is the place for you.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They speak better English than many people I know in the States. We were lacking for nothing the day and night we were there.

The breakfast, what us American's would call continental, was great. The buns were freshly baked and still warm. I will probably eat ten of them. Everything else I've tried is great, too.

The free wireless was faultless, I always had a great connection anywhere in the hotel, even here in the dining room where I'm on my fourth warm burn.

Great job, Bethel!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor on the side of the building. It was a little noisy but we got home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunburnt_curt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    315
    75
    12
    4
See reviews for
162
362
65
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Arrived later in the evening and found our room to be very nice and clean with a great view on the Nyhavn. The staff was helpful and courteous, helping us get the most out of our too short stopover in Copenhagen. The breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection and the rate was quite agreeable for the location. Certainly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Nyhavn. It's worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBEadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
120 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were 2 couples who stayed at Bethel 3 night in May 12. We had got recommendations from friends. The location is very good. All the staff were very helpful and kind, and the breakfast was of very good quality and tasteful. The building is old and needs an update. We missed a lounge or a salon to relax in. The breakfast room was not very nice for relaxing. The rooms were very small and there were some noise from the backyard early in the morning. Definitely no luxury but excellent service and good food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I found this hotel from Tripadvisor and for me the best one to stay at CHG. Specially the smiling faced of all workers make it worth to stay again and again... Thanks to them and tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevsem69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a clean and comfortable hotel on the New Harbour in Copenhagen. We spent two nights here and found it quite adequate for our purposes. Right on the canal, it gave beautiful views and easy access to the canal cruises. Within easy walks of the shopping malls, restaurant strips, the Palace and Little Mermaid sculpture. The breakfast was healthy and plentiful, with tea and coffee available all day. The beds were soft and comfy, ensuring a good night's sleep. We would recommend this hotel for a good value, good location in expensive Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hobo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We loved this hotel and had a spacious family room on the top floor which was perfect for myself, husband and daughter. The hotel is in a perfect location beside the pretty harbour and very central for exploring (expensive) Copenhagen. The free tea and coffee is a real bonus and the staff were pleasant and helpful. We would recommend this hotel and also use it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineEdinburgh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I and our two children spent a few days in Copenhagen in November 2009. We stayed two nights at this hotel. The hotel location is right in the middle of the most commonly photographed and scenic tourist area in Copenhagen. The area is simply delightful. It is within walking distance of the Royal Danish Theatre, a metro station, Amalienborg Palace, and many other sites. The hotel is an older hotel with unique idiosyncrasies. You must walk up stairs from street level to reach the hotel lobby, so avoid this hotel if you are handicap. If you need help hauling your bags up the stairs, just ask at the front desk and they will send someone down to carry your bags. The elevator to the rooms is very tiny, so if you have a lot of luggage or several people, you will need to take multiple trips in the elevator to get everything and everyone to your room.

We chose our room because it had four beds, and was one of the few locations in Copenhagen where we could all stay without paying for two rooms. The hotel rate was reasonable for Copenhagen, which is normally very expensive. The room itself was large by Copenhagen standards. The bathroom was unique, as it did not have a separate shower. Instead you pull a shower curtain around a corner of the floor. As a result, the water from the shower runs all over the floor. The sink is just a basin with no adjoining counter space, so if you need to do your make-up, hair, etc. it is difficult to find a place to set your things. The bathroom set-up is the worst part of this hotel experience, and if it wasn't for the good price, great location, great breakfast, and friendly staff, I would have rated this hotel lower for that reason alone.

Our corner room overlooked Nyhavn, which was a very pleasant view, especially at night. We could open our windows and connect with Nyhaven. I do not recall being affected by the street noise while we slept.

The hotel served a complimentary breakfast, which was a traditional Danish breakfast of fruit, cheeses, meats, pastries, yogurt, etc. The breakfast was great.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, and everyone spoke English (as do most people in Copenhagen). This is not a five-star hotel, but a comfortable little boutique hotel that had its quirks. As long as you are willing to overlook the quirks and fully embrace the culture, the hotel will meet your needs. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank UtahTravelerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Property: Somandshjemmet Bethel
Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing