We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
susan b
Lindfield, United Kingdom

Great value and good transport links

Review of Hotel Amager
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 1, 2024
I loved this hotel which is very reasonably priced and has very good metro links, via the M2 line, to the airport and the rest of the city. It's in the Amager district of Copenhagen which is close to the city but away from the main tourist zones. The historic Christianshavn area is nearby. The hotel has a lively bar which is popular with locals but my room was very quiet with no noise at night. You can pay separately for a basic breakfast which is served in the bar area. Given the price, the rooms are not luxurious but they are clean and have what you need for a comfortable stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: The single rooms are small so if you can afford it, pay for a double.
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    C$145
  • Hotels.com
    C$146
1.8 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$242
  • travelup.com
    C$227
  • Agoda.com
    C$211
  • Vio.com
2.5 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
Room service
C$173
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    C$172
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
C$189
  • Expedia.com
    C$208
  • Agoda.com
    C$172
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$236
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$186
  • Hotels.com
    C$225
3.0 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
C$155
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$154
  • Official website
    C$119
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Nyhavn canal
C$175
C$139
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    C$138
  • Priceline
  • Official website
    C$139
2.1 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
Lobby Bar at the Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
C$130
C$63
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$70
1.9 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$230
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    C$229
2.5 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
C$118
  • Priceline
    C$119
  • Agoda.com
    C$100
  • Expedia.com
    C$132
4.2 km from Hotel Amager
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Copenhagen
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
29
93
61
28
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
93
61
28
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 242 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2024

Myself and husband and my son and his girlfriend, we booked 3 nights at this hotel for a short break. We were on the 3rd floor, but there was a lift which was good. Our rooms were single beds put together but that was fine, not the most comfortable but if you're staying for no more than a week i suppose that's ok. Only 1 large towel each but were replaced every day, also bed made up as well. There is a bar downstairs, which serves food and drinks, but we did not eat there, only had drinks. The location was really good, in terms of walking to Metro, which was only a 10 min walk which takes you to Copenhagen Centre.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jaki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 2, 2023

We arrived early and inquired about early check in and the hotel receptionist, the main gentleman at the front, waved his finger and said "no check in until 3 pm". We said that is fine and asked to leave our suitcases until then. Upon return at 3 pm, there was no one available for 15-20 minutes to check us in. As my friend and I waited, we were gawked at by male patrons in the connecting pub/bar.

After we checked in, we were advised not to take the lift as it often gets stuck and you can become trapped for up to half an hour. Our room itself...the floow was sopping wet from recently being mopped and the mattresses were stained yellow. I went to reception to ask for towels to sop up the water so we could walk in our room and was told the towels would be an extra charge. I explained why we needed the towels and the reception said "if we don't like it here we can get a refund and stay elsewhere".

After our rude interactions with the reception/gentleman at the front, poor room amenities, questionable bar/pub, we decided to check out. We were there a total of 15-20 minutes and did not touch or use anything in our room. We verified multiple times that we would get a FULL refund for the 3 days and would not be charged any penalties or fees, hotel agreed and issued a receipt in Danish.

Expedia contacted the hotel for a refund and the hotel granted a 2 night refund and said we stayed in the hotel for 3 hours. The gentleman/reception/manager at the front lied to our faces and told Expedia a different story.

Again, if you're looking for a hostel, this will meet your expectations, however, if you're looking for a hotel I would strongly advise going elsewhere. We checked into the Imperial Hotel for only $200 more the full 3 night stay and it was Exceptional in every regard.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 29, 2023

This place was simply terrible. My room had two pieces of furniture: a bed and a chair. The bathroom was small and plain. The breakfast was pretty sad, too.
The staff at the front desk were graceless. Won't stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HannuVantaalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 14, 2023

Avoid. Elevator out of service. Had to bring checked bag (23 kg) and carry on up and down two floors. Barely any staff and unhelpful. Would not stay again. Better to spend slightly more for better service and convenience.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Syeda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 10, 2023

Very nice staff. Good service from employee Dennis and Dario. Very good service, and nice conversation. We recommend everyone visiting town to visit this place. We will definitely come back! Best daiquiris in town!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank emmamS571SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews