We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thorvaldsen is the Jacques-Louis David in sculpture! Utilize the excellent audioguide!”

Thorvaldsens Museum
Book In Advance
Ranked #21 of 349 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: See sculptures created by sculptor Bertel Thorvaldsen, whose work can be found across Europe. Long corridors allow for natural light and echo the creative ambiance. The Museum opened on September 18, 1848. It is Denmark’s oldest and also most extraordinary museum building. Open Tuesday-Sunday, 10 a.m.–5 p.m.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

I am more well-versed in art history than at least 98% of travelers, yet I didn't know Bertel Thorvaldsen until I started planning my trip to Nordic countries. Thorvaldsen is basically the Jacques-Louis David in sculpture! He was definitely a master!! When visiting, focus on the first floor and use the excellent audioguide!

Thank FFei85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018


Thank you so much for the great review. We're happy to hear that you found the 1st floor of interest. We are glad to hear that you had a nice time here and welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bertel thorvaldsen"
in 21 reviews
"audio guide"
in 25 reviews
"classical sculpture"
in 10 reviews
"marble sculptures"
in 9 reviews
"greek mythology"
in 5 reviews
"major works"
in 4 reviews
"personal collection"
in 5 reviews
"nineteenth century"
in 4 reviews
"single artist"
in 3 reviews
"amazing artist"
in 3 reviews
"personal possessions"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful sculptures"
in 4 reviews
"danish artist"
in 6 reviews
"each piece"
in 3 reviews
"central courtyard"
in 3 reviews
"twelve apostles"
in 3 reviews
"jaw dropping"
in 3 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 488 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2018

Buy a Stockholm Pass and be sure to see this Museum. They have many very interesting things to look at.

Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear Cynthia

That you for your review. We hope to welcome you back next time you're in Copenhagen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Had never heard of this sculptor before but some of the marble sculpture were amazing and beautiful, the audio guide is a must

Thank Delane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Ida at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Dear Delane

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear that you visited us without prior knowledge of the museum. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the audio guide. We agree - it's a must. We hope to see you back at the museum next time your in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018

An extraordinary place, in an astonishing building, though Thorwaldsen is not my favourite sculptor, the museum dedicated to him and his collection is unmissable.

Thank KirkieClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, ida at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear Clare Thank you very much for your great review and kind words. We hope to see you back here next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2018

The collections of Thorvaldsens Museum comprise of his own Sculptures and drawings plus a large collection of paintings by European and Danish artists, and antique Egyptian, Greek and Roman objects of art. We went on a Wednesday and it is free to enter on that day each week. Take note of the fabulous blue ceilings as well as the magnificent sculpture, and the floors were beautiful as well, we were so impressed with the museum and will plan another visit.

Thank Nanette132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Ida at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Dear Nanette

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice time here and welcome you back anytime.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Thorvaldsens Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing