We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge number of stunning statues”

Thorvaldsens Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.94*
and up
Panoramic City Tour of Copenhagen
Ranked #23 of 349 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: See sculptures created by sculptor Bertel Thorvaldsen, whose work can be found across Europe. Long corridors allow for natural light and echo the creative ambiance. The Museum opened on September 18, 1848. It is Denmark’s oldest and also most extraordinary museum building. Open Tuesday-Sunday, 10 a.m.–5 p.m.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

This museum was a real surprise! Bertel Thorvaldsens produced a some beautiful statues, many based on mythology, wonderful animals and some busts of noteable figures in history.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank JeannieD421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

We thank you very much for your great review and hope to see you back here at the museum again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bertel thorvaldsen"
in 21 reviews
"audio guide"
in 25 reviews
"classical sculpture"
in 10 reviews
"marble sculptures"
in 9 reviews
"greek mythology"
in 5 reviews
"major works"
in 4 reviews
"personal collection"
in 5 reviews
"nineteenth century"
in 4 reviews
"single artist"
in 3 reviews
"amazing artist"
in 3 reviews
"personal possessions"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful sculptures"
in 4 reviews
"danish artist"
in 6 reviews
"each piece"
in 3 reviews
"central courtyard"
in 3 reviews
"twelve apostles"
in 3 reviews
"jaw dropping"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 493 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2018

I have been waiting for a long time to visit this museum in the centre of Copenhagen, Denmark. Whole collection has been built to honor great danish artist when he returned from Rome. Amazing artist and some really massive piece of art. Great place to visit. There is also little museum shop and cafe, where you can enjoy some refreshment during the visit.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mikko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your great review! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the museum. We welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2018

The room with the massive statues is amazing as well as the room with Christ and the disciples. Truly beautiful. However, the rest of the work is not well shown and was not very interesting to us. If in the area, worth a short visit. They are in the process of remodeling so the work may be more appropriately displayed and appreciated.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank ocean_breezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed The Hall of Christ. We hope to see you back here another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018

It is hard to describe a place that filled with so many wonderland pieces of sculpture and paintings. Thorvaldsen did many great sculptures of various themes from Greek mythology, Christian art, and people of his day. This is a good place to spend two hours.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice time here and welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2018

I am more well-versed in art history than at least 98% of travelers, yet I didn't know Bertel Thorvaldsen until I started planning my trip to Nordic countries. Thorvaldsen is basically the Jacques-Louis David in sculpture! He was definitely a master!! When visiting, focus on the first floor and use the excellent audioguide!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank FFei85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorvaldsensMuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum at Thorvaldsens Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018


Thank you so much for the great review. We're happy to hear that you found the 1st floor of interest. We are glad to hear that you had a nice time here and welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thorvaldsens Museum also viewed

 

Been to Thorvaldsens Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing