We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent day spent in Denmark”

Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen
Ranked #16 of 248 Tours in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The only sightseeing tour for tourists that want to see all the historical attractions around Copenhagen in one day. It is the only tour that goes to Roskilde and it covers these four sites: • Kronborg Castle• Frederiksborg Castle • Roskilde Cathedral • The Viking Ship Museum in Roskilde. We travel in a small bus. That is why we can see so much in one day. There is enough time each place
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We were a party of 5 and part of a group tour of 16. The tour was well planned and covered the castles, Viking museum and church outside of the city. A very good tour and certainly recommended

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Guywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamletTours, Direktør at Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear Guywilltravel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback for this tour. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the time spent on the Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen. If you have any pointers as to how me might earn our fifth star as we always aim to, you are most welcome to contact us at info@hamlettours.com.

All the best and happy travels,
Sascha
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"roskilde cathedral"
in 59 reviews
"the viking ship museum"
in 38 reviews
"hamlet tours"
in 28 reviews
"small group"
in 24 reviews
"driver guide"
in 7 reviews
"sites visited"
in 6 reviews
"danish countryside"
in 6 reviews
"shakespeare's hamlet"
in 5 reviews
"great tour"
in 20 reviews
"comfortable bus"
in 3 reviews
"worthwhile tour"
in 4 reviews
"interesting sites"
in 7 reviews
"dropped off"
in 4 reviews
"tour includes"
in 4 reviews
"answered all our questions"
in 4 reviews
"major sites"
in 7 reviews
"denmark history"
in 5 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 304 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2018

We were a party of two in a small 16 passenger tour bus driven by Margaret, a 22 year old archeology student. She was a new guide, but did a fantastic job telling us about Danish history. After being picked up at our hotel, we proceeded to Roshilde Cathedral. We got a detailed tour before heading to the Viking museum. Here we were on our own to learn about the Viking ships and culture through various demonstrations and exhibits. A bit of a drive to Kronborg Castle was filled with information on Danish culture and taxes. At the castle, Margaret did a super job telling our group about the history of the castle. We even caught a little bit of Hamlet being acted out. Our last stop was Fredericksburg Castle. Whew! A lot of information, many views of Danish countryside, and a great way to get out of Copenhagen for the day. Highly recommend it.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank LAref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

A terrific way to spend a day away from Copenhagen city. Our guide Robert was so informative with his knowledge of the historical sites we visited. Will certainly recommend Hamlet tours to our friends visiting Denmark. Thank you again.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

We just returned from a trip to 5 countries, and while in Denmark decided to take the Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen. Our guide Henrik was very nice, and very knowledgeable. The tour included four main stops: A historic church, the Viking Museum, and two Danish castles.

A few things people should know about the tour that may impact their enjoyment:

#1: Your guide will NOT join you for all of the attractions. This is honestly what prevented me from giving a 5 star review. At both the Viking Museum, and the first Danish castle we went to, our guide basically drove us there, and told us to meet back at the bus in an hour or two. We were told Danish law prevented him from speaking with us more than a certain number of hours during the day. Regardless of whether or not this is true, if you are looking for a truly "guided" tour the entire day you will be disappointed.

#2: In spite of #1, Henrik was well versed, pleasant, and provided good insight for me and my children. He was good enough that I wished we could have had more of him!

#3: The tour (as advertised) does involve a lot of walking. Those people that do not like to walk long distances should consider a different, more "bus oriented" tour. That being said, the walking is spread out over a long period of time, so at no point were we drenched in sweat or begging for mercy.

#4: These attractions are separated by 30-45 minutes driving, so you will be in a small coach for a good 2.5-3.5 hours during the day.

Overall it was very nice, and our trip to Denmark would not have been the same without it. A big thanks to Henrik for his patience with our group.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Bill_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

This is all I have to say!

One day visit 4 places at Copenhagen is not easy, but we did it!
Peter show us around with passion!
Peter also love the food!
So, Yes, ask him a suggestion of food!
You will have your surprise!

By the way, you can also book a private tour here for your family! We have one 1.5 year old kid with us! With private car arrangement, we don’t worry to disturber other people! Peter also like kid!

I don’t know why this is not long enough for TripAdvisor, so I’m sorry I just copy and paste below!

你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?
你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?
你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?
你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?
你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?
你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?你好嗎?

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Wang J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen also viewed

 
Hillerod, Hilleroed Municipality
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing