We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing standard for 150 EUR a night”
Review of Scandic Roskilde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Roskilde
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roskilde
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed for 2 nights during a company meeting.

Check-in staff is ok, but nothing special, Rooms are something from the 70'ties with poor beds, Thin duvet and you more or less think you are in a B&B but price tells you this is nt the case- Shower is a joke. You have to run around in the shower cabin to chase the few droplets comping out of the shower head. Cleanliness is not satisfactory too.

Parking is free so that great

Breakfast is good with plenty of healthy choice.

BAR closes at 10 despite being half full (????, don't they like business)

Room Tip: Stay away if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bjoern A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWFrederiksen, General Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Dear Bjoern

thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that the shower was malfunctioning and that you were not satisfied with the cleaning. That is of cours not the standards we want to deliver.
Scandic is continously renovating hotels and we hope that Scandic Roskilde will be in line for that soon.
I am however glad that you enjoyed the free parking and our ecological breakfast.

I hope despite this that you will come back again

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2016

I feel happy to have been stayed in Scandic hotel, because the personnel were kind and always smiling, good variety on the breakfast, the room always cleaned, thanks for all personnel that form scandic hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank MaFiliberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Rooms are a little aged and have a serious issue with their plumbing. That said, the Staff at front desk are very welcoming and the restaurant is probably one of the best in Roskilde with professional and friendly waiters Martin and Bo to guide you through the chef's specialities of the day.

Room Tip: choose a room without an adjoining door to the room next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Good little hotel, very reasonably priced compared to Copenhagen. Second time here and have no issue at all coming back to stay. Staff are really helpful and very friendly indeed. Well worth a look. Rooms are basic, not meaning to be negative at all as they do the job and mine have always been relatively clean and tidy.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank andos3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWFrederiksen, General Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Thanks a lot for taking your time to send us your review.
I am glad that yopu again enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

we are hoping to see you again

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank 447stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JWFrederiksen, General Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The Scandic Roskilde is situated near a lovely lake not far away from the city center of Roskilde (about 10-15 min walking). The hotel has a great setup with a large bar area (In- and outside), a restaurant and a small shopping area.

So far the really great things about this hotel and we are indeed very sad to give a very low rating.

What we liked
- free parking, free WiFi
- quiet location
- nice outside sitting area

What we did not like
- the official pictures of the rooms are actually very misleading. The rooms are small (we would estimate 15sqm) and since we booked the family room with 4 beds it was way too small. The size of the room leads to very small and cramped beds - the double bed was 1,90 x 1,40m: the klid´s beds only 1,90m x 60cm. Therefore we hardly slept during the night
- the room was quite dirty and the shower in a condition we were thinking twice before entering. Dirty all over the place, dust inside the fan etc. Really not what we expected.
- the bar is nice but the staff seems to be totally overwhelmed with their duties. The check-in personal was constantly searching for one of the 3 service people because the disappeared all the time. We do not really understand what they did but certainly not servicing guests.
- the parking space is too small for the hotel especially since there is a construction that blocks half of the space

Until there is a new management on this hotel we really cannot recommend to stay there. The beds are too small, the rooms are too small, the service people are not servicing guest, the room and bathroom are dirty and last but not least the 165 EUR we paid is outrages for the value we got.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teaki78089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWFrederiksen, General Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you for taking your time to send us your feedback.
We will definite follow up internally regarding the visibility of the staff. Our rooms measuremnet is hard to change and is also described on our www.

We are expanding the parking space to your advantage. I am sorry for inconvenience that caused you. We also have a large pakring space behind the hotel

Best regards

Jørgen W. Frederiksen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This is definitly the best location in Rosklide. The Scandic Roskllde Hotel is located very close to the city centre and offers free private parking, free and fast wifi and a good restaurant. The hospitality is very kind and warm, hudge breakfast, rooms small-medium size but quite clean. Language is not a problem, all personal speaks excellent english but this is quite common in Denmark. I have my son living in Roskilde therefore I will definitly use Scandic Hotel again n the future.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Riccardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWFrederiksen, General Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Hi Riccardo

Great that you enjoy our hotel and its location.
It makes me gald that you find the atmosphere warm and kind and we cant wait toi see you again. Hope your son enjoyes Roskilde as well

Best regards

Jørgen W. Frederiksen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roskilde
Comwell Roskilde
#1 of 7 in Roskilde
249 reviews
Zleep Hotel Roskilde
#4 of 7 in Roskilde
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sofryd
#1 of 1 in Jyllinge
45 reviews
Wittrup Motel
#73 of 118 in Copenhagen
98 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Roskilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Roskilde

Address: Ved Ringen 2, Roskilde 4000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > West Zealand > Roskilde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roskilde
Price Range: $174 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Roskilde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful two story hotel overlooking a park, located 1.5 km from the city center & historical sites; 1 km from railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Roskilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Roskilde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing